We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot be bettered in Spain!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bahia Santander
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Cannot be bettered in Spain!”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My wife and I recently spent two separate nights at this very good hotel. We had stayed here before in 2011. It is conveniently located right across from the ferry terminal - if you are on foot - and a short drive from the vehicle access to the ferry from Britain.

The staff are friendly and attentive and the rooms are enormous - the breakfast is very generous and should please everyone.

On the first of our two recent stays here my wife had an accident with the hairdryer in the bathroom - it fell off the wall and and landed on her right little finger causing the tendons in the upper joint to be damaged. The reception staff swiftly called for an ambulance and she was taken immediately to the A&E at the local hospital where, upon presentation of her ECHI card, she was given excellent attention. Much better than any A&E in the UK!

If your destination is Santander the only place to stay is Hotel La Bahía. Congratulations to don Sergio Peón and his staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room as the other side looks on to the Cathedral which is a bit glum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordoSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion , we hope to see you soon again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    451
    66
    13
    6
See reviews for
287
572
36
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Not only is the place clean and centrally located, the staff are extremely friendly and very professional. I have had parcels delivered there while ahead of my arrival and they have been promptly handed to me at the moment of my check-in.
We sent three shirts to be ironed for the day after and after one hour all have been delivered (impeccable).

Shall certainly lodge here again on my next visit to Santander.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InCucinadaME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Hotel Bahia is in wonderful location for exploring Santander and the surrounding countryside.Lovely friendly , helpful staff who go out of their way to look after you .Cuisine first class and at very reasonable prices. Would happily stay there again and indeed hope to do so.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
Thank JohnW131225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Very good location for exploring city and getting out and about. Staff very helpful and friendly. Spotless rooms. Good views of harbour from some. Car lift is great fun a challenge! Difficult to find entrance to car park given roadworks. Head for small one way side street behind the sea view side ie rear. Don't get it wrong or will take hours to get back to start.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

It was a very good hotel and they were very cheerful and helpful. The rooms were spacious and very clean and with everything you could want in the bathroom. It was right across the road from the ferry you could not miss it with the Spanish flag on top.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Very convenient stopover after the ferry trip from Portsmouth. Underground parking (€15) per day. Lovely room-spacious with panoramic windows. Ask for a high floor. Huge choice at breakfast (€17)- well worth the price. Staff very pleasant. Location good for wandering around the old city, where there are lots of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIA, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a business trip, and the location is excellent, on the sea front and close to lots of bars and restaurants.

I had a single room, it was a little on the smll side, but OK for one night. Clean and tidy, so no major complaints.

The staff were very helpful and courteous, no problems checking in or out.

Breakfast was good, with a reasonable variety and reasonably priced.

As others have said, this is a good old fashioned hotel and was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee1pen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIA, Director de Recepción at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
654 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#15 of 32 in Santander
269 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#5 of 32 in Santander
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#6 of 32 in Santander
214 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
914 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eurostars Hotel Real
Eurostars Hotel Real
#9 of 32 in Santander
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia Santander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia Santander

Property: Hotel Bahia Santander
Address: Calle Cadiz 22, 39002 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bahia Santander 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bahia Santander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing