We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Bahia Santander
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The "Rodney Travel Club" were on another 4-Day excursion and picked the Bahia for our tour of Santander and Bilbao. The lads' expectation of hotels is always high based on the "Rodney" boys' preferences for style and previous experiences all over Europe. The Bahia was no dissappointment. It is only a short walk (less than 5 minutes) from the bus terminus accross the road from the railway station. It smacks of class when you enter the lobby. We were delighted to be checked-in with a minimum of fuss even although we had arrived well before the designated earliest check-in time. The rooms were great too with all we could have expected and they overlooked the main Cathedral at the back of the hotel. Only a short walk from the Bahia was the shopping district, the market and the "entertainment" area full of cafes, bars, restaurants and ice-cream shops. Our evening excursions were only ever a short walk away (something most important to the "Rodney" boys), even more important on the way home at the end of the evening. The prescribed "Endless March" this year took place on our first day. We walked along the harbourfront past the marina, along the west beach, around the peninsula and finally along to the Sardinero (well-heeled and one of the cleanest, most manicured beaches we've come accross) for a well-earned beer.....then the long march back to the Bahia. On the second day we took a bus to Bilbao where we enjoyed the Guggenheim, strolling along the riverside and around the old town - easy and great day out from the Bahia. We did not use the bar, the cafe or the restaurant in the Bahia as the clientele tended to be older and of a different style to the "Rodney" boys. Overall the Bahia hit the spot and met our high expectations - we did not really come accross another centrally-located hotel in Santander that matches the Bahia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FairCityFrasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bahia Santander
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 1,248 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

Situated just minutes walk from the bus terminal and the main train and Feve line stations Hotel Bahia is in an excellent location for a stay in Santander. We arrived slightly before the check in times but reception staff were welcoming and spoke good English and allowed us to check in early. We had not upgraded to a sea view as for one night stay we did not feel this necessary and we were allocated a room on the 6th floor with a City view which we thought was better. The room was enormous, plenty of space, even a separate 'dressing area'. The huge marbled bathroom lacked nothing and the shower was hot and powerful. The whole place shouts streamlined and efficient. There was always someone on hand at reception, no queues, for information. We spent the whole day walking right along the coast passing the various beaches, up around the Palacio de la Magdalena and onto the Playa del Sardinero before turning up towards the football stadium and back to the Hotel through the City. That evening we walked to the old fishing quarter for a meal and would recommend doing this. We would definitely stay at Hotel Bahia again, not just for it's location, but also for the much needed good night sleep in one of the most comfortable beds ever..

Room Tip: We were not disappointed with our City view room (417) on the 6th floor
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siand33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We had a long weekend at the Bahia. The reception staff were very helpful and sorted out a couple of minor issues very promptly. The room was - WOW! Floor to ceiling windows on two walls with great views of the bay of Santander. We were on the 10th floor with a sea view room. We didn't eat in the Restaurant just had coffee in the cafe. There are a few really nice bars round the corner and The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of shopping and restaurants etc. The bus stop is nearby and we took a bus round the bay to the beaches - the stop past the Casino. Only 2.2 euros each. We had a lovely walk back stopping at cafes on the way. Loved Santander. Would return.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor with a sea view. Great views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettyboo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We only stated at this hotel for one evening when visiting Santander and wanted a central location for our trip. We could literally walk fom the train station to the hotel , in 3 minutes. The location was perfect for visiting the rown. We were on the 8th floor with a sea view in a spacious room with extra comfy beds and a gorgeous marble bathroom. Friendly staff and a great breakfast buffet to have included in your room. The decor is status quo and slightly vintage but the cleanliness is perfect. Santander was amazing and defenetely worth the visit when going to the north of spain!!

Room Tip: High floor facing the sea
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thank you very much for your opinon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Hotel Bahia is just across the road from the ferry terminal and extremely close to all the main amenities of the city. We stayed there after crossing from Portsmouth. The rooms are large and comfortable and staff were very welcoming. Unfortunately the dinner in the restaurant was a bit of a disappointment and if we stay there again we will go into town as there seemed to be a lot of promising restaurants. Breakfast was good. We would certainly go to Hotel Bahia again.

Room Tip: We had a good view of the Ferry Terminal, and, although it was across a main road, it was not noisy
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SergeLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you very much for your opinión.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My wife and I recently spent two separate nights at this very good hotel. We had stayed here before in 2011. It is conveniently located right across from the ferry terminal - if you are on foot - and a short drive from the vehicle access to the ferry from Britain.

The staff are friendly and attentive and the rooms are enormous - the breakfast is very generous and should please everyone.

On the first of our two recent stays here my wife had an accident with the hairdryer in the bathroom - it fell off the wall and and landed on her right little finger causing the tendons in the upper joint to be damaged. The reception staff swiftly called for an ambulance and she was taken immediately to the A&E at the local hospital where, upon presentation of her ECHI card, she was given excellent attention. Much better than any A&E in the UK!

If your destination is Santander the only place to stay is Hotel La Bahía. Congratulations to don Sergio Peón and his staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room as the other side looks on to the Cathedral which is a bit glum.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GordoSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion , we hope to see you soon again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Not only is the place clean and centrally located, the staff are extremely friendly and very professional. I have had parcels delivered there while ahead of my arrival and they have been promptly handed to me at the moment of my check-in.
We sent three shirts to be ironed for the day after and after one hour all have been delivered (impeccable).

Shall certainly lodge here again on my next visit to Santander.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InCucinadaME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#5 of 32 in Santander
249 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#6 of 32 in Santander
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#9 of 32 in Santander
642 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#15 of 32 in Santander
972 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#12 of 32 in Santander
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia Santander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia Santander

Address: Calle Cadiz 22, 39002 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Price Range: £61 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bahia Santander 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bahia Santander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing