We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bahia Santander
Nearby Hotels
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santemar Hotel(Santander)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Chateau La Roca Hotel(Santander)(Great Value!)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silken Rio Hotel(Santander)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Chiqui(Santander)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silken Coliseum Hotel(Santander)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Boutique Las Brisas(Santander)(Great Value!)
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,405)
Filter reviews
1,405 results
Traveller rating
761
540
76
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
761
540
76
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferry terminalcar parkacross the roadfloor to ceiling windowsquality hotelsea viewlots of bars and restaurantsexcellent hoteltapashotel parkingwould definitely stay here againlovely cityfour star hotelhigh floorlarge roomper daygood size
Filter
Updating list...
394 - 399 of 1,405 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We were arriving at the Port of Santander at 18.15 and had booked the Hotel Bahia just for one night before our tour of Northern Spain. It's a couple of minutes drive and you're there at the hotel parking garage - we buzzed reception and they opened the gates to the parking lift. By the time we'd unloaded a lovely friendly receptionist had our room already and we handed over our passports to be checked and were in our room within 10 minutes of arriving at the Ferry Port. It was so well organised - we had a lovely room, city view facing the Cathedral, it was on the 7th floor and lacked nothing - very spacious with lots of window light.
It was just around the corner from all the pinxtos bars and cafes.
The hotel has it's own cafe which is frequented by many locals, we'd decided to have a light breakfast here as we didn't want the buffet at the restaurant. Couple of euros each for a great coffee and croissant.
Would not hesitate to stay here if we decide to return to the lovely town of Santander.
Only one minor negative - we didn't find the cafe staff as friendly as the receptionists who gave us all the information we needed and a very pleasant welcome.

Room Tip: Opt for a high floor if possible - the city view rooms are fine and at the moment there is some work going on out front for the building of a fine new arts centre.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cardiffvalleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

As FairCityFrasie says and as an honorary member of the "Rodney Travel Club" I fully agree with his comments.
Having been subjected to a variety of cardboard boxes, rough sleeping accommodation and other general health hazards purporting to be accommodation throughout Europe this was luxury with a capital L.
Its a comfortable clean and well appointed hotel.
I would certainly take my partner there and that says it all.
The location is ideal close to the centre but quiet for a good nights sleep.
The bedroom walls appear to be snore proof and passed the Innes Test easily.
There is a variety of cafes bars close by where you can obtain breakfast at a very reasonable price.
In fact eating out and drinking in Santander was very reasonable with a nice bar just around the corner from the hotel where local beer was priced at 1 euro a pint.
Would I stay here again YES
Would I recommend this Hotel Yes
Have I any criticism of the Hotel NO

Room Tip: All rooms are good with either a sea or city view just ask when booking
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank citydetective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The "Rodney Travel Club" were on another 4-Day excursion and picked the Bahia for our tour of Santander and Bilbao. The lads' expectation of hotels is always high based on the "Rodney" boys' preferences for style and previous experiences all over Europe. The Bahia was no dissappointment. It is only a short walk (less than 5 minutes) from the bus terminus accross the road from the railway station. It smacks of class when you enter the lobby. We were delighted to be checked-in with a minimum of fuss even although we had arrived well before the designated earliest check-in time. The rooms were great too with all we could have expected and they overlooked the main Cathedral at the back of the hotel. Only a short walk from the Bahia was the shopping district, the market and the "entertainment" area full of cafes, bars, restaurants and ice-cream shops. Our evening excursions were only ever a short walk away (something most important to the "Rodney" boys), even more important on the way home at the end of the evening. The prescribed "Endless March" this year took place on our first day. We walked along the harbourfront past the marina, along the west beach, around the peninsula and finally along to the Sardinero (well-heeled and one of the cleanest, most manicured beaches we've come accross) for a well-earned beer.....then the long march back to the Bahia. On the second day we took a bus to Bilbao where we enjoyed the Guggenheim, strolling along the riverside and around the old town - easy and great day out from the Bahia. We did not use the bar, the cafe or the restaurant in the Bahia as the clientele tended to be older and of a different style to the "Rodney" boys. Overall the Bahia hit the spot and met our high expectations - we did not really come accross another centrally-located hotel in Santander that matches the Bahia.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FairCityFrasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Situated just minutes walk from the bus terminal and the main train and Feve line stations Hotel Bahia is in an excellent location for a stay in Santander. We arrived slightly before the check in times but reception staff were welcoming and spoke good English and allowed us to check in early. We had not upgraded to a sea view as for one night stay we did not feel this necessary and we were allocated a room on the 6th floor with a City view which we thought was better. The room was enormous, plenty of space, even a separate 'dressing area'. The huge marbled bathroom lacked nothing and the shower was hot and powerful. The whole place shouts streamlined and efficient. There was always someone on hand at reception, no queues, for information. We spent the whole day walking right along the coast passing the various beaches, up around the Palacio de la Magdalena and onto the Playa del Sardinero before turning up towards the football stadium and back to the Hotel through the City. That evening we walked to the old fishing quarter for a meal and would recommend doing this. We would definitely stay at Hotel Bahia again, not just for it's location, but also for the much needed good night sleep in one of the most comfortable beds ever..

Room Tip: We were not disappointed with our City view room (417) on the 6th floor
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siand33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We had a long weekend at the Bahia. The reception staff were very helpful and sorted out a couple of minor issues very promptly. The room was - WOW! Floor to ceiling windows on two walls with great views of the bay of Santander. We were on the 10th floor with a sea view room. We didn't eat in the Restaurant just had coffee in the cafe. There are a few really nice bars round the corner and The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of shopping and restaurants etc. The bus stop is nearby and we took a bus round the bay to the beaches - the stop past the Casino. Only 2.2 euros each. We had a lovely walk back stopping at cafes on the way. Loved Santander. Would return.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor with a sea view. Great views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettyboo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews