We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saved the day!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bahia Santander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bahia Santander
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Saved the day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were without somehwere to stay whilst waiting for a flight home and this hotel was very helpful and accomodating, on top of that, the room was beautiful and the service was great. We had a private car park to put our car which was a weight off of our mind as it enabled us to leave our things inside and just take an overnight bag into the hotel.

Santander is a lovely place and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening there.

Would reccommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandsam825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you very much for your opinión , We are pleased to have been able to help you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    405
    61
    13
    5
See reviews for
262
496
36
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

A perfect location for exploring the city and, obviously, well situated for the ferry port. The staff were efficient, friendly and professional. Our luggage was seamlessly transported from the car in the secure garage to our room while the check-in procedure was fast, smooth and imparted all necessary information in the native language of the guest - in our case English, (although my wife's German passport occasioned momentary confusion!). My wife is severely disabled and our room, (8103), was equipped with a bathroom that had every conceivable aid for a wheelchair bound guest including a roll-in shower, - (and a bath with proper safety rails and an integral stool equipped with grab handles for those less impaired) - a toilet with adequate support, a wash basin with plenty of clearance underneath and, this is a rare bonus, a tilting mirror. The "sea view" was of the building site that will be the new ferry terminal; but that is hardly within the hotel's ability to influence and the room's sound proofing made certain that no intrusive construction noises were to be heard. The breakfast was as varied and of as high a standard as we've had in any four star establishment in the world and considerably better than many five star hotels. All in all, very good value - not cheap, but comparatively inexpensive. This will be our first choice for any future stays in Santander.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cat8250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is a great place to stay in Santander especially if you are taking the ferry. It's close to the terminal, has good secure underground parking so you feel safe leaving your cases in the car and the car lift is the real gem. The hotel itself was great, clean and with everything you needed to make your stay pleasant. Overall great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Really plush, spotless hotel. I loved the fully marbled bathroom, lots of nice goodies in the bathroom. Perfect spot if you are considering the ferry port, its across the road, although you have a 5 minute drive to get access into it. Hotel parking is a bonus. We did not eat in for dinner, although after trying to find a restaurant in Santander is a night mare - we wished we had. There are tons of bars near by but hunting for a restaurant is a nightmare. The breakfast the following morning was excellent - a great selection of fresh fruits, usual continental bits plus bacon, eggs etc. Due to the good standard served at breakfast I would suggest booking for dinner. Would definitely return. Staff really friendly and helpful. Ask at reception should you need anything, English spoken and they will help and give you a map. 10 minutes drive along the road to some great beaches. Will definitely return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Access car park at the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trickytracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

The Hotel Bahia is well situated for the City and the Ferry however there are better choices. Obviously the hotel was very smart a few years ago but is now quite dated. The Parking is very easy to use even though the entry is by lift, the staff are very friendly and efficient.
We would not stay there again as the bed was very uncomfortable and the pillows even worse. Breakfast at 17 euros seems very expensive especially when there are so many excellent small cafeterias close by.
There is a lot of work going on at the dock side and so the views are spoiled by cranes at the present time, the sound proofing is very good so the noise is not a problem.
The cafeteria is average, the staff are not friendly, but the restaurant has excellent staff and very good food.

Room Tip: High floor but try the beds first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

If going to get the boat from Santander to England , this is the place to stay. The rooms are of a high standard, staff very courteous and professional. We booked the room a few months earlier and the rate was very reasonable for a 4 star hotel, but not as great if you arrive unannounced. You can ate the boat arriving, and it only takes 10 minutes to drive to the port. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanmacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochwinnoch
Level Contributor
169 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Each time we use the Santander to England ferry we stay in this hotel. It is very much like a favourite maiden aunt. Looks like it was very posh some time ago but has the twinkle that lets you know she won't die wondering. The hotel is as convenient as you can possibly get. The rooms are bery well appointed and the staff super. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BioToxic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#9 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#7 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#6 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eurostars Hotel Real
Eurostars Hotel Real
#10 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia Santander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia Santander

Property: Hotel Bahia Santander
Address: Calle Cadiz 22, 39002 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bahia Santander 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bahia Santander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing