We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for the Ferry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bahia Santander
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have stayed here several times en route onto or off the Ferry from Portsmouth, as this 4 star hotel is just accross the road from the ferry terminal.. The large "junior suite" rooms are medium priced with lots of space for a cot or extra child´s bed or very comfy for adults recuperating from travel. Ask for a sea view. There is parking, but suggest that you ask the staff (who are all very helpful) for valet parking, as the garage is accessed by a box lift device. The restaurant and cafe are good, but not fine dining and the hotel is anyway close enough to other restaurants in the town centre. Try to arrive earlyish for breakfast, as queues develop for table seating.

Room Tip: Upper floors. Sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mickadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you very much for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last month and both times been in a dark small room by the lifts with 1970's dark brown decor. Very poor room service. Time to find somewhere else to stay when visiting this beautiful place

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Tamsin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for your opinión. in a few weeks we will make a change in the decoration of the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We only stayed for 1 night at the beginning of October en route home via Santander Airport after visiting Bilbao but our first impressions of this hotel were all excellent. The building was modern and the reception personnel all helpful and efficient. Our room on the 7th floor was beautifully appointed, very clean and spacious with a view over the bay.

Due to an early start we did not take breakfast at the hotel so cannot comment.

We will certainly return to spend a longer period in the lovely city of Santander (this was our first visit) and will have no hesitation in staying at the Bahia.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you very much for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Large, impressive hotel - very busy with some large groups. Large and comfortable room which we upgraded to have sea view. Spacious bathroom with impressive array of toiletries. Hotel has underground car parking (15 euros) reached using a novel car lift (or hotel staff will park your car if you do not want to use the lift). The bar and cafeteria did not seem big enough for the large parties wanting to use it - very busy and noisy. Santander, of course, has a myriad of bars and restaurants to tempt all tastes. We tried a small traditional bar round the corner for a pre-dinner drink and received free tapas whilst watching Spanish customers drop in on their way home.The hotel restaurant, on the other hand, proved very relaxing and an unfussy escape for weary travellers who do not want/need to explore. The menu was varied and our choices were well cooked with quality ingredients perfectly presented. Breakfast equally, plentiful and varied.
Overall, fairly expensive for a one night stop-over (as opposed to a luxury weekend break) but worth it when you want the location and little extras.

Room Tip: Pay extra and upgrade to a room with a sea view to enhance your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank yu very much for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Must say that the hotel was beautiful, but we must, as through travelers use room service if you want something to eat before 8.30 pm. When you have to get up early it's not exactly healthy to eat dinner right before sleeping. Spanish Restaurants servers only after 8.30pm which is at least 2 hours later than in the northern part of Europe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJMJCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed at the Bahia for two nights in September and loved the place. Great location for restaurants and for joining the hop-on hop-off tourist bus to see lovely Santander. Good buzzy hotel well worth its 4 stars with fabulous big rooms - ours was a high floor with great views over the port. Would love to have eaten in the hotel but the restaurant was empty when we went to eat so asked for a good local restaurant instead. The cafeteria was really busy but we were just looking for something a bit more formal.Had breakfast in the cafeteria but thats all, Would certainly recommend this hotel for the location, the staff, the huge rooms and the great views and would stay there again if I ever get to lovely Santander.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186605Jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Based on a recent review from a fellow Trip advisor contributor, we booked the 'disabled' room 8103 for 2 nights (before heading off on the UK ferry) and were not disappointed & the facilities were excellent. Room & bed very comfy. View over ferry terminal (at weekends) nice but be warned of construction work starting at 8am Monday on the new terminal. Basement parking is via car lift (level 1 & 2). Be warned of a 3000 kgs weight limit and 6 meter length. My very large 4WD only just made it into the lift!. Excellent breakfast room but used a few restaurants down the street for lunch & dinner. Laundry service was excellent & very friendly made service staff. Reception staff were not as friendly as I would have expected.

Room Tip: Our room was booked as part of our ferry package but you might get a better price booking direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnccsifin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELBAHIASantander, Director General at Hotel Bahia Santander, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thank you so much for your opinion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
450 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#9 of 32 in Santander
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#6 of 32 in Santander
291 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#5 of 32 in Santander
969 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#14 of 32 in Santander
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia Santander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia Santander

Address: Calle Cadiz 22, 39002 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Price Range: £58 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bahia Santander 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bahia Santander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing