We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay at the Chiqui in Santander”
Review of Hotel Chiqui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chiqui
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at the Chiqui in Santander”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Just back from a five night stay at the Hotel Chiqui in El Sardinero, Santander. Following one night in Portsmouth, a smooth 24 hour ferry crossing on the Pont Aven and an easy and reasonably priced taxi transfer, we were delighted when we arrived at the hotel. Check in was welcoming and professional. Our room on the second floor was very nice with a balcony overlooking the beach (I think all rooms overlook the beach but not all have balconies).

The only negative was the lack of air conditioning in the rooms, but we knew about that. A nice touch was the fridge on each floor containing free litre bottles of water which you could take to your room (but not out of the hotel which is fair enough). There was also a fridge in the room.

We were bed and breakfast. The breakfast was superb. There were fried eggs, frankfurters, bacon and a full selection of fruit, cold meats and cheeses, plus biscuits and cakes. There was fresh fruit juice, bottled water, coffee and tea. We only ate at the hotel once in the evening as we tried a different restaurant each night (there are plenty within 5 - 15 minutes walk). We often had a coffee (try the Irish one) in the outdoor terrace of an evening. There are also a number of beach bars.

On check out day, reception looked after our bags until we were ready to set off back to the ferry port. They arranged a taxi for us which arrived in less than five minutes and was even cheaper than the one on arrival (about 7 and a half euros).

Whilst there we did plenty of walking. This included visits to Parque de la Magdelana, and Faro de Cabo Mayor which is a cliff walk around the back of the hotel, around a golf course and up to the lighthouse. We walked into Santander stopping off at the Museo Maritimo del Cantabrico, which is well worth a visit.

All in all we really enjoyed our trip to Santander and the Chiqui.

Room Tip: Try to make sure you get a balcony. Also the ones to the right side of the hotel as you face it may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StonesFanLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    376
    122
    29
    12
See reviews for
157
434
32
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This hotel was great for a 2 day beach getaway. It was right on the beach with views of the ocean from every room. Our balcony was comfortable, but overlooked the parking lot and was on the first floor so we were unable to leave the door open overnight and there were no windows to open (would have been nice given there is no AC in the hotel). With that said, parking was free of charge at this hotel, a huge bonus. The only true negative about this hotel was that there were very few restaurants near the hotel as it is at the northern end of El Sardinero beach. However, we learned during our second day there that taxis to town (where there is excellent food) are cheap (3-5 euros each way) and the hotel has a nice cafe for tapas or a quick morning snack.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AM219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We booked this hotel primarily for its competitive price and location, i.e not far from airport and near beach with two kids in tow. What a surprise. Room was excellent, two bedrooms with own hallway on top floor, great views from every direction. Hotel fantastically located for kids right on beach which was full of activity even though weather not great, soccer matches with pitches marked out on sand, volley ball tournament etc. plenty to look at. Amazing cliff walk beside hotel, not to mention long promenade. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice. We ate out elsewhere. Bustling evening drinks but small kids not really suited to bar. Amazing sea views everywhere, cannot avoid being wowed by location, will go again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CmrIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
160 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Our stay at Chiqui was surprisingly great!!! The location is perfect for what we wanted. We didn't want to be right in town but near El Sardinero Beach and you can say your playground is this famous strech of the Cantabric Sea. Our room was espacious and clean with a modern/eclectic decoration and sea view. The breakfast was included, plenty of fruit, juices, bread. pastries and they even included expresso while other hotels will charge you for that. It was an excellent stay in an great hotel. Santander is a beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The ferry docks from the UK at 1800. By 1900 we were booked in a sea view room by "Roberto"
Staff friendly and the room modern and clean.
The bars and cafe offered good views and the staff very attentive. We ventured out for Tapas and had a great tour of the town.
This is my second trip and it continues to deliver high standards at a reasonable rate

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJW153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Nice hotel, free parking, water views, close to the ferry & town - what more could you want :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Excellent location, just across the road from the beach, with sea views from all the rooms. We stayed there twice and, on both occasions, had a large comfortable room with a balcony, and a stylish bathroom. The hotel is on the edge of town, so parking was no problem. When the hotel’s free car park was full, there was plenty of space in the road, though this was in May – I can imagine that it might be busier in high summer. On the other hand, if you want to eat, it’s a bit of a hike if you don’t fancy the (rather expensive) restaurant or the unimpressive choice in the café. Having said that, I must add that breakfast is exceptionally good, in terms of both quality and quantity.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#7 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
3.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#5 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chiqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiqui

Property: Hotel Chiqui
Address: Calle Manuel Garcia Lago 9, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santander
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santander
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santander
#6 Business Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiqui 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chiqui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiqui Hotel Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing