We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jenny”
Review of Hotel Chiqui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chiqui
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My five day stay at this hotel was very enjoyable; the room was comfortable with a terrace and excellent sea and beach view. There was no mini bar in this room which would have been a pleasant addition. The breakfast, included in the price of the room, was second to none with a choice of cooked meats, sausages, fresh and tinned fruit and a truly enticing selection of fresh cakes and pastries.

The one negative was the very intermittent availability of the free wifi on my iPad. I seemed to pick it up more frequently on my blackberry phone. I speak Spanish and did initially have help from the reception staff but they had to give up after several attempts. Also the codes were complex and for me there was no wifi at all on the cafe terrace.

I will return to this hotel but not if I need reliable wifi.

Santander and Sardinero are beautifully kept places, with several long walks on the doorstep. The gardens, parks and cliff walk to the light house, not to mention la peninsula, are well worth a visit. The people are all dressed so stylishly and are a joy to watch strolling along the esplanade. There are also lots of joggers and runners. I recommend a flight to Santander, a bus from the airport - 2,20€ to the centre and the beach path walk from the town centre which leads all the way to Chiqui. A fabulous few days!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 975 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

We began our Spanish driving holiday here with 3 nights enjoying Santander, having previously just driven off the boat or just stayed one night. The hotel is very conveniently located overlooking a lovely beach but close to the local bus service. We parked the car outside when we arrived and didn't use it again until we moved on to Bilbao, using the cheap & frequent local bus to go into the city centre or to the Magdalena peninsula. The room had a nice balcony with a super sea view - it was great to watch the kite surfers on a breezy afternoon. We have never been disappointed with hotels we've booked through Brittany Ferries and this was well up to our expected standard. However we found the meals in the cafeteria were unimaginative and formulaic; there are much better places to eat in the town or along the seafront.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzers45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This is the third time we have had a one night stay in this hotel and in every case we have found the accommodation excellent. We use this hotel because it has free parking (unsecured unless you want to pay for it), the rooms are modern and all those we have used have balconies and sea views. As a stop off during a journey it fits the bill, but if you want to visit the town it is a considerable distance away. On this occasion we decided to try the full restaurant rather than the basic cafeteria. We treated ourselves to the gastronomic menu which was handed to us in reception. Surprisingly, this was not shown to us in the actual restaurant - perhaps because the a la carte menu would have come to much more than this special menu. It was an exciting experience of eating selections we would never have risked as individual orders and included a bottle of wine for goos measure. The only negative for us, an opinion I have seen shared by others, is that that some of the staff can be somewhat surly or offhand.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uppermilden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Close to many amenities, including the wonderful El Sardinero beach, Racing Santander's football grounds, and some pricey but delicious restaurants. Stayed here with a friend in August 2012 and was not disappointed. Excellent breakfasts with good choices, helpful multilingual staff, and nice clean rooms with a good view of the ocean. Chiqui also has a charming family orientated atmosphere and is close to a hearty coastal walk along by the golf club which is also highly worthwhile.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreedyMessiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Chiqui as part of a holiday booked through Brittany Ferries. The crossing was smooth with comfortable cabins and pleasant staff. On arrival in Santander the hotel is a short drive away costing no more than 10 euros. The hotel is set just off the most beautiful blue sea and golden sand beach. Reception staff were friendly and we were soon checked in. Our room over looked the picturesque view and both bedroom and bathroom were very spacious. We knew before our arrival that there was no air conditioning so took our own fan which proved to be invaluable. Breakfast was mouthwatering, plenty of choice for all with hot and cold options available. During our stay we used the regular and modern bus service to explore Santander - any journey is one euro. The palace is a must as is the open top bus tour of the city. The resort is mainly Spanish speaking and visited by locals - this added to our enjoyment of our holiday as we prefer to stay away from English commercialised resorts. You must experience the ice cream whilst there- a tiny parlour located behind the local store (called regisis or something similar,) is to die for! A wonderful holiday for r and r and a bit of culture.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hollybob79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Excellent Hotel. Stayed recently for 7 nights and found everything to be excellent. Reception staff helpful. Cafe/Bar seemed very busy and staff seemed to be quite stressed and not over friendly to English, preferred to serve Spanish regulars first. However only a minor point otherwise first class.

Room Tip: Higher floor. 428/427 excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coopers492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Good location at the end of the road next to the Ocean, not far from the city. Take the boulevard to visit the old city, it’s worth it.
Free wifi, when you ask for the code. All the information you need to know about Santander is available on the reception. Friendly on the reception, in the dining room rather stressed, mostly because of under occupation I guess. Free parking next to the hotel but maybe not enough in the high season or during a sunny weekend. No airco on the room and the bed is not from the best quality. Nice bathroom and a superb view on the ocean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#9 of 32 in Santander
504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Silken Rio Hotel
Silken Rio Hotel
#16 of 32 in Santander
619 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hoyuela
Hotel Hoyuela
#11 of 32 in Santander
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chiqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiqui

Address: Calle Manuel Garcia Lago 9, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santander
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santander
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santander
#6 Business Hotel in Santander
Price Range: £49 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiqui 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chiqui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiqui Hotel Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing