We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who needs Rio?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Chiqui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chiqui
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Who needs Rio?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We had room 407, which with two balconies has to be the best room in the hotel - thankyou booking.com! The room was superb, and was only matched by the taster memu in the restaurant for 23 euros. Top quality food, good service, great room. The hotel is at the end of an awesome beach and esplanade and is worth it for location alone. This is not 3 star. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patwestlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    368
    120
    29
    12
See reviews for
155
423
31
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel is right almost on the beach. We stayed for two days and had a relaxing time. "Chiqui" it definitely is . The room was clean and modern. The bathroom was well equipped. We had a balcony room which was great,we left the door ajar at night and fell asleep to the sound of the waves lapping. So chilled. Staff were kind and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loan_d1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Our second time staying at the Chiqui didn't disappoint. This time we upgraded to a more superior room with two balconies overlooking the sea and promenade.
The room was very comfortable and spacious, with a fridge. Location is great - we chose the hotel for its proximity to the ferry port as we arrived in the evening before driving south. It's easy to find, though in mid-June there were no parking spaces to be had outside the hotel. We used the hotel's underground car park, which was worth it for a few euros more.

Room Tip: Worth getting a sea view and the superior room was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Decided to stay overnight in Santander after arriving in the evening on the ferry from Portsmouth and before driving south. The hotel is in a great location at the end of the promenade to the west of the ferry port and it was very easy to find. Room was good and spacious with a sea view terrace. Unfortunately, however, the evening we were there it was cool and raining. Reception staff were helpful and spoke good English. Parking was a bit of a problem but we managed to find a space.

Room Tip: I think that all rooms have a sea view (though not all have a terrace) and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heywood, Manchester
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

This was our fourth trip to this hotel on board the Pont Aven. Of the hotels they allow you to choose from, this is the best for views and having a balcony.
We left our cabin on the ship and was in our room having cleared passport control and got a taxi within 30 minutes!
The rooms are very clean and modernist, some but not all have a fridge in the wardrobe. There's a tele on the wall but with only Spanish channels. The veiws from the balcony are great and we love sitting with a glass of vino watching the sun set behind the mountains across the bay. The breakfast is fairly good. You cannot get an English breakfast, it is Spain after all. They make an effort to cater for the Brits by having hot dog sausages, the thought's there though.
The service in the hotel bar and cafe is a little slow and the food isn't exactly hot. It is hard to get served at times as there never seem to be enough staff but they try they're best, trying to get the bill can be very difficult.
The plumbing is quite noisey in the rooms and you can hear your neighbours and those above moving about. We have the balcony door open as you can't really hear the road noise outside but you can hear the waves crashing against the shore as you drift off to sleep. There's no air-con but if you open your room door there are windows across the corridor that create a through-draft if it gets too hot. If you want a brew in your room, take a travel kettle, cups, tea and coffee. The supermarket round the corner sells milk (and good wine cheap for the balcony!)
A note about Santander, when Brittany Ferries say "a phrase book would be useful", what they mean is, NO-ONE speaks any English! The Spanish holiday there as it's cooler than central and southern Spain and also to avoid the likes of Benidorm. It's fairly up market and a great place to immerse yourself in Spanish life (the Irish bar, The Cromeran, about 200yds from the hotel on the beach does Salsa classes for the locals most week day evenings which is good to watch). If you go to Santander you must be prepared to speak Spanish a lot, the hotel staff can speak a tiny bit of English and some restaurants have an English translation of their menus done by a computer but that's it. A good phrase book will teach you the basics to get by and give you something to read on the ship.
We love Santander as the people are friendly, it's a bit upmarket and the views from the hotel are fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire, england
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

The hotel has a perfect location at the end of the promenade, with a view overlooking the bay. Buses to the centre of Santander were every few minutes (walk to the second roundabout for a frequent service), or a taxi was just 4-5 euros. There is plenty of free parking in the street outside and a small hotel car park.

The room itself was in good condition overall - slightly dated - but with a small balcony with spectacular views. The service at the front desk and the cafeteria were very good. Thoroughly enjoyed my visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlerussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow
Level Contributor
172 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We took a taxi from the bus station for about 9 euros but the number 2 bus stops about 200 m from the hotel. The taxi back to the airport was about 23 euros but can be done by 2 buses. The buses to the airport run every half hour.
The hotel is at the end of the esplanade but it is a wonderful walk back along the beach. The rooms are very fresh but they maximise space so the balcony was well used. The staff at reception are very helpful and most are fluent in english. There was some exuberence by some guests at 11pm one night but the staff quickly quieted things down and I imagine it is a rare occurrance.
There are many local places to eat . You get tapas all day but meals are limited to eary afternoon and after 8pm or 830

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McdonaldsLinlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#5 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
3.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#6 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chiqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiqui

Property: Hotel Chiqui
Address: Calle Manuel Garcia Lago 9, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santander
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santander
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santander
#6 Business Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiqui 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chiqui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiqui Hotel Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing