We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It felt great to be there”
Review of Hotel Chiqui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Chiqui
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had a fantastic view from our balcony, to the beach. I have memories that will stay with me forever of sitting down there, watching the sunset turning into twilight blue, and listening to the waves of the sea, and yet, not feeling cold. The room was good, bathroom too. And I have no complaints of the restaurant.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank yes-Rvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

The place is right next to the wonderful beach which is their best asset. The hotel is a bit run down and the rooms are rather small and have no air condition. Rooms come with carpets which is always a bad idea in a seaside resort so the whole place had a rather strong smell in the rooms and common areas. Breakfast was served in a back room with a nice but rather basic selection. Beds were not very comfortable with a waterproof mattress cover that made us sweat and was rather uncomfortable so we had to remove it for the 2. night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RB05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Room 104. Wifi does not work, kept kicking me off the network. This is not a good hotel if you need to do business while here. There is no air conditioning and it is quite hot in the summer so the room stay hot well into the night. There is no balcony, and a poor view from this room.

Room Tip: Don't choose 104!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkiingJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We had room 407, which with two balconies has to be the best room in the hotel - thankyou booking.com! The room was superb, and was only matched by the taster memu in the restaurant for 23 euros. Top quality food, good service, great room. The hotel is at the end of an awesome beach and esplanade and is worth it for location alone. This is not 3 star. We will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patwestlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel is right almost on the beach. We stayed for two days and had a relaxing time. "Chiqui" it definitely is . The room was clean and modern. The bathroom was well equipped. We had a balcony room which was great,we left the door ajar at night and fell asleep to the sound of the waves lapping. So chilled. Staff were kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loan_d1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Our second time staying at the Chiqui didn't disappoint. This time we upgraded to a more superior room with two balconies overlooking the sea and promenade.
The room was very comfortable and spacious, with a fridge. Location is great - we chose the hotel for its proximity to the ferry port as we arrived in the evening before driving south. It's easy to find, though in mid-June there were no parking spaces to be had outside the hotel. We used the hotel's underground car park, which was worth it for a few euros more.

Room Tip: Worth getting a sea view and the superior room was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Decided to stay overnight in Santander after arriving in the evening on the ferry from Portsmouth and before driving south. The hotel is in a great location at the end of the promenade to the west of the ferry port and it was very easy to find. Room was good and spacious with a sea view terrace. Unfortunately, however, the evening we were there it was cool and raining. Reception staff were helpful and spoke good English. Parking was a bit of a problem but we managed to find a space.

Room Tip: I think that all rooms have a sea view (though not all have a terrace) and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#14 of 32 in Santander
1,001 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#12 of 32 in Santander
302 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#5 of 32 in Santander
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Silken Rio Hotel
Silken Rio Hotel
#17 of 32 in Santander
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chiqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiqui

Address: Calle Manuel Garcia Lago 9, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santander
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santander
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santander
#6 Business Hotel in Santander
Price Range: £33 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiqui 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Chiqui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiqui Hotel Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing