We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Spot” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chiqui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Chiqui
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Santander
New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in a twin room for one night. The view was amazing, the room very comfortable. It was quite small but very acceptable for the price. The location is great and we enjoyed walking along the promenade,

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Glenys A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    360
    117
    29
    12
See reviews for
151
420
29
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

A lot of plus points - lovely building, on sea front, decent value, excellent staff, provided good cot for out baby to sleep in. but we didn't sleep well due to the chiming of an external clock on the building which went off and was heard loudly in our room every 10seconds & constant 'buzzing' noise of the fuse box when keycard inserted to turn on lights. Those last two points were really annoying little details which should have been noticed/addressed for what positions itself as a top end hotel. It's worth staying here but make sure you check those two things before you book or on check in!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JamesandArantxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Oh Gosh! A trip in the '80s!!! The hotel is a bit far from the centre, but it would make sense if it were unforgettable... Instead it is an old-looking establishment, in a fantastic bay: El Sardinero second. If you really want to stay here... at least get the room with terrace and sea view, otherwise anything above €40 would be a robbery. It is very much a glorified pension... Ah... Almost forgot: don't fall for the breakfast, it is awful, you would be wasting your money. I wouldn't come back here, for the same money you can really get soooooo much better in Santander!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Titagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Lovely situation, right at the end of El Sardinero. Every room has sea views. Friendly, helpful staff at all levels. No problem parking, plenty of space along the sea front if the hotel car park is full. Five minutes walk from an Irish pub and a great restaurant. Buses to the city centre or just walk and enjoy the beaches. Really enjoyed this trip and look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidBowyerZaragoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel has the most stunning views and is right on the seafront. Make sure you have a balcony to take full advantage. I think the hotel could be noisy in high season. The tasting menu was superb but we did not try the bistro. There are a few local bars but for restaurants you need to go into the city. Buses are cheap and frequent. The drawbacks, the reception staff can be a bit grumpy , the rooms do not have air on so it would be very hot in the summer and the tiny baths are very difficult to get into so we just used the shower and there is no fridge in the room. However , the hotel is superbly situated for walking and the beach and offers parking, kalthough this is in short supply

Room Tip: Best to get a high floor , balcony and on the right hand side of the hotel as you view it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel was very busy when we arrived but it was dissappointing that the lady at reception was very grumpy. We had previously enquired about parking to be told via email there was a hotel car park. They did not tell us it was very small and that if we wanted to use it we should have booked, meaning there was nowhere to park within the hotel grounds. Every road around the hotel was full as well so it took a long time to park, not great after a 5 hour drive from Portugal. Our room was good, it was a corner room on the first floor at the front so had a great view of the beach and sea. In the morning when we checked out the grumpy receptionist was a lot nicer, and her colleague was lovely. Overall an ok hotel - clean and comfy bed - but the wireless didn't work. Will be trying another hotel in Santander if we come back.

Room Tip: Reserve a car park space if you need one! They will not help you in any way if you don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_C46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I can only endorse all of the previous good reports on the Hotel Chlqui in Santander. We stayed for one night (double room, 30th Oct 2013) after coming off the Santander ferry from Portsmouth, en route to The Algarve, before starting a 500km trip today..

Good points about the Hotel Chiqui:- convenient for the ferry port, beautiful location right opposite the beach, very clean and well presented hotel, modern and well appointed room with large screen TV, nice bathroom with shower and bath, balcony with seaview and furniture (altho a bit too dark to fully enjoy it when we arrived), good food and bar facilities, very helpful and pleasant staff, ample parking ( I see other people have commented otherwise about parking and it may just be down to the time of year).

Bad points:- None.

And all this for £49. (Exc food and drink) with an online booking. Bargain

Room Tip: I think all rooms are sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AlanBA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#7 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
3.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eurostars Hotel Real
Eurostars Hotel Real
#9 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chiqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiqui

Property: Hotel Chiqui
Address: Calle Manuel Garcia Lago 9, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santander
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santander
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santander
#6 Business Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiqui 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Chiqui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiqui Hotel Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing