We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value - see Racing Santander play too!”
Review of Hotel Chiqui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chiqui
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Reviewed 4 March 2007

We had a drink at the Feve station cafe when we arrived on the bus from the airport on a damp Sunday night mid Feb. (Termini always have great cafes). Everyone was glued to Racing Santander playing a Belgian football team in the UEFA Cup, but it didn't stop the barman giving us free tapas (I love Spain). Minutes later we were passing the roaring stadium in a taxi on our way to the Hotel Chiqui which I'd written down from the Rough Guide the day before as a possibility. There's a bus for 1 euro but we were tired.
It looked very posh and we got worried that it might be a bit pricey for lowish budget us. But when we got to the reception desk we discovered it was only 60E a night for a double room (winter rates?) You wouldn't get a doss house for that in England. The nice lad said did we want a double bed or twin - I said double thinking I could kick my husband if he snored which you can't do from a twin! Pues, ...we were given one of the 6 front balcony rooms with an emperor! sized bed. 7 feet across I reckon! It had a view over the bay with crashing waves right outside, moonlight over the sea and a Huge bathroom. Try to get a front balcony room - wow! But don't go to their restaurant - very pricey - or the cafe which is a bit cheaper but hasn't much atmosphere. Walk along the front a bit and you'll find several nice places to eat very well for not too many euros. Argentinian grill was good. And we got breakfast along the front every morning for 3.50 euros - it's 7.50 in the hotel cafe. Go! Santander is super.

Stayed: February 2007
7  Thank YorkHispanophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Chiqui
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 923 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2007

Called on spec after travelling up from southern Spain by motorbike.Stayed over on Sunday night prior to catching the Monday ferry. Receptionist was brilliant and could not have been more helpful. Gave us a room with a view,balcony and air con. All for 96 euro with breakfast. Room was clean and good size bathroom
Had dinner there and the food was good. Very busy with lots of locals "promanading". Breakfast room a bit dismal with some miserable business types but plenty of choice including eggs and bacon
All in all enjoyable

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank johnWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2006

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel on the 10th and 11th of November.
Its about 15minutes drive from the Airport and on the good side of Santander.
The hotel looks out over the bay and the beach and is close to the golfcourse. To go to the city centre (about 5mins away) you have to take a taxi(3euro) or the bus (for 1euro) which stops around the corner. You could walk but its not close by.
There are not alot of shops around just a small supermarket and newsagent but there is the beach and the views and its quite restfull.
The hotel itself is decent enough, very geared up for conventions and group stays. The staff is reasonable friendly though they dont explain when & where breakfast is and their English is moderate.
The rooms are small but clean. there are no tea or coffee making facilities and no fridge in the room. Some rooms have a balcony.
The bathroom is clean and has got the usual complimentary soaps etc. Breakfast was not included and altough tucked away behind the bar and feeling like a huge convention room it does have a nice buffet style breakfast with alot of choice.
All in all its a good hotel to stay in for a short stay but dont expect luxury or anything special.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank xplorer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2006

Well situated hotel on the paseo. Rooms small but adequate no air conditioning. Restaurant reasonable but staff rude and slow.
Inadequate parking difficult access to small secure hotel parking.

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank Johnmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Agricult1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Peça com vista para o mar.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Debora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank mac529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#15 of 32 in Santander
972 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#12 of 32 in Santander
294 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#5 of 32 in Santander
249 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#8 of 32 in Santander
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chiqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chiqui

Address: Calle Manuel Garcia Lago 9, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santander
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santander
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santander
#6 Business Hotel in Santander
Price Range: £35 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chiqui 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Chiqui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiqui Hotel Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing