We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Set in it’s Own Grounds in a Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eurostars Hotel Real
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Nice hotel set in it’s own grounds in a good location. A short taxi ride to the city centre. Car parking is at front and side of the hotel. Our room was spacious with good quality furnishings. Our balcony had a nice view of the sea. When arriving the young lady on reception was friendly and helpful and gave us details of the hotel and town map of Santander. Hotel opened in 1917 and has an olde worlde charm with an antique working lift as well as modern lifts. Nice comfortable bar too which we enjoyed relaxing in at the end of the evening. Did not have breakfast there so unable to comment on this even though €19 each for this would appear to be expensive. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 858 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

Santander's Hotel Real is a landmark of town, located on a hill top. It's in the best part of the city and the neighborhood is really amazing. The beach is 5-min walk down the hill. The spa is nothing fancy but the massage and the. Therapie I got were both very good. The staff is very polite and welcoming. The rooms are spacious, very clean and have an old-fashioned luxury to them thanks to the antique furniture. Although my experience was very nice over all, I have to admit that the hotel is nowhere near 5-stars. There is no swimming pool (the ocean is freakishly cold so hardly anyone swims despite the great sandy beaches), breakfast is quite poor (althought the other. Meals were quite tasty) and nothing has been renovated in a while. Don't keep your expectations high and you can enjoy the incredible sea view and the super comfy beds!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank itraveluenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I wanted to like this grand old dame of the Santander landscape... but

You cannot call yourself a 5 star GL (grand lux) if you do not have enough personnel to greet you and carry your bags the steep stairs you are faced with upon arrival And departure.

You cannot call yourself a 5 stars GL if you only offer breakfast from 7.30 am at your restaurant when the main morning flights leave at 7.30 and 8.55 am

You cannot call yourself a 5 stars GL if the closest you are to luxury furniture is too new to be called antique and too old and dusty to be considered good.

You are due a major refurbishment and it shows everywhere. This hotel was THE hotel a century ago and now only survives because of its old reputation and a romantic view of its former glory. And you know it.

Positive aspects are location, great views from the room, lack of good competitor hotels and... cannot think of anything else.

I really wanted to like you

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My wife and I took a Brittany Ferries package, that include two nights with breakfast at the Hotel Real.
First the good - The hotel itself is wonderful, a bit faded but that added to the charm. The deluxe room had an impressive sea view, it was comfortable and finished to a high standard. A bathroom off the entrance corridor was fitted out in marble like stone, with thoughtful toiletries to use. The central lift is superb, open iron work shaft and two doors to open to get in. Reminded me so much of the lifts in old hotels I saw in films The staff are all very polite and helpful, with a smile always on their faces. The weather was appalling all but half of one day, but we made use of the hotels spa sea water pool (which was free for two hours as part of the package). The evening meal was really delicious, the food tasty and well presented. The staff are helpful and attentive but not intrusive. Morning breakfast was held in a large conservatory with wonderful views of the grounds. Would have been so nice if it had been sunny. The choice for breakfast was good, especially liked the small potato Spanish omelets.
The not so good - (and I am being picky, would have been worse if we had been staying a few more days). The restaurant menu was a bit limited, no vegetarian or chicken on the main course. The menu did not change for the time we where there, and the bar menu was also limited, but I have to stress the food was really really delicious. The weather may have been awful, but the hotel offered a relaxing and enjoyable break for my wife and I.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room with sea view on the fourth floor, stunning views, even in the rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markc530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We did like the hotel overall - nice staff, decent (though seen better days, definitely not 5 star quality - chipped paint and stains- maybe 3 star?) room, and good location - BUT one of the main reasons we'd booked here was to use the (seemingly) complementary pool/sauna. Nowhere on their website or where we booked (Booking.com) does it mention that it carries an extra cost. It was an extra 25 (or maybe 29 Euros? I was too shocked to take it in!) Euros PER person per use - slightly excessive! No treatments, just to sit there in a sauna.

When you pay a considerable price just for a room, you'd expect the facilities advertised to be free to use, or at least well documented that they carry the cost they do. We would not have booked there had we known this.

We didn't even think about eating there either. Who would pay 20 euros for a piece of toast?! Come on!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We booked a 3 day break to Santander and stayed at the Hotel Real. The hotel was very comfortable, the room generously sized, the sea view spectacular and the staff extremely friendly & helpful. We ate once in the restaurant and the food was good, although very limited for vegetarians (as were most of the restaurants in Santander itself, other than Tapas bars). The gin & tonics in the hotel bar are highly recommended. The spa is average, with a small pool. Ample parking and pleasant grounds. Breakfast was excellent. The only downside; it rained for 3 days!

Room Tip: We asked for and received a room with a sea view on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilmcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We only stayed for one night before flying back to Germany to finish our vacation. We loved this place, though, and wished for more time. Both our room and my mother's had beautiful sea-views. The rooms were spotless and large. You could even pick your own type of pillow from concierge, which was a plus considering most pillows in European hotels are very thin. The common areas are gorgeous. We ate dinner in the restaurant and loved everything from the steak to the dessert. We tried to get spa treatments that day, but they were booked. We were able to enjoy the salt-water pool and saunas however. They are half-price during the week, so we paid 28 Euro a piece to enjoy it for an hour and a half. The old-fashioned elevator and decor added to the charm of the hotel. I would definitely return to the Hotel Real.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ficklered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
692 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vincci Puertochico
Vincci Puertochico
#13 of 32 in Santander
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#5 of 32 in Santander
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#14 of 32 in Santander
1,001 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#6 of 32 in Santander
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Real

Address: Avenida Perez Galdos 28, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santander
#7 Business Hotel in Santander
#8 Family Hotel in Santander
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santander
Price Range: £74 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Hotel Real 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Real 5 * GL is a luxurious property located opposite the Playa de los Pelirgos in the Bay of Santander, surrounded by gardens in a privileged area between the historical district and El Sardinero. The hotel has more than half a dozen large private French-style hall rooms with large windows and large gardens with 80 different species of roses. It also has a 1,400 m2 thalassotherapy center. The hotel offers a total of 114 rooms, including suites, all bright, exterior and fully equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Hotel Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing