We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eurostars Hotel Real
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Puerto de Mazarron, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at hotel real on our way back to cartagena , the hotel is in a lovely spot and the view from our room was stunning ,the room was spotless and the bed was very comfortable , after 24 hrs on the ferry and a lousy crossing we needed it. Free parking was a bonus compared to some of the other hotels charges, the only reason i have give it four stars is that i like a cooked breakfast and at 21.50euros per person it was very very poor, cold bacon, old fried overcooked eggs,or scrambled powdered egg not what i expected from a 5 star hotel All was buffet style so that was it .The continental breakfast was a much better choice . I would not hesitate to stay again next time we go back to the U.K but would skip breakfast.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    275
    124
    49
    41
See reviews for
148
446
22
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Before entering the hotel, I was already feeling like a princess walking into the palace with a huge garden. Room was spacious with two queens and a balcony that faces the sea. It can't be more comfy that having the window wide opened, relaxing on the bed and enjoying the breeze and a great view.

We had lunch at the hotel restaurant. We were the only customers in the hall and the menu looked a bit pricy. Anyway, we were tired to go out for food after a long walk in the city. We picked an appetizer each. Before serving us what we ordered from the menu, they gave another small appetizer sampler as welcome dish. Then come next was our appetizers that we ordered, they came in big portion, much bigger than I could imagine from a 5-star restaurant, and with excellent taste. Although we were full, we still went on for mains and desserts, everything was great... no complain at all!!!

next morning we walked around the garden within the hotel, a lovely one with many spices of plant... the place that we had breakfast was next to the garden and the design was like a green-house. Excellent food with great variety (with no extra cost we could find several alcoholic drinks like cava and wine)

Satisfied with breakfast, we then took a look at the lounge and other areas. Palace was the only word that describe the hotel.

Room Tip: Sea-view room on high floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubigat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deux-Sevres, France
Level Contributor
218 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We booked a 3 day room and Breakfast deal with Voyage Privé. The hotel lived up to it's 5 star rating with fabulous views over the sea and harbour. The "old world" charm of this hotel defines Santander. The dining room is wonderful and the head waiter could not have been more professional, attentive or friendly ! There is a separate garden room for the buffet breakfast. The hotel has been modernised with just a bit more work to do in the garden which is in progress . All the staff spoke excellent English and we could not fault this hotel at all

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are well worth asking for , especially 3+.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were impressed with this palatial Hotel. A beautiful location with spectacular views. The staff, and service reflected the grandeur of the Hotel. Our room had a lovely balcony overlooking Santander. Overall, the Hotel is presently getting a facelift, but is truly a classic in all categories.
We enjoyed the Hotel and grounds tremendously!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view (for sure).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I know some guests complained about the old carpets and furniture but, in my view, that is part of its charm! I found nothing dusy or dirty.....but the entire hotel felt like Gatsby could walk around the corner at any minute! Chandeliers, wrought iron, glass elevators, and the most beautifully laid out breakfast buffet in a true garden room, windows on all three sides, looking out at palms waving gently. The breakfast had mini bottles of olive oil and teensy personal salt and pepper shakers, great coffee, excellent choices and service! The room was average sized, linens lovely, the bed not as firm as many European beds, a big bathroom, and a stunning view over the bay. I left the window/doors open all night and could hear the waves far below. Finding this hotel is another matter....thank goodness for GPS!! And it is not really close to anything....still, at the end of a long day's drive, it was the perfect place to settle back and imagine Gatsby sauntering by.

Room Tip: Of course, ask for or upgrade to an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njschultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The Real was nice however it felt tired and cleanliness was an issue. The hotel is full of carpets, rugs and old style furnishings which were dusty. We had a junior suite interconnecting to a double room with beautiful views out to the bay. The beds were okay, not very comfortable and were definitely on the small side. The living room which came with the suite was beautifully furnished but the furniture and curtains were so dusty that we couldn't use the room. The furnishings desperately needed deep cleaning.

I did use the spa a few times and it was okay if it were free. Access to the jacuzzi and steam/sauna was around 28 euro and definitely not worth it. The steam and sauna rooms fulfilled their purpose however nothing beyond. I did manage to obtain a discount which made the price bearable, however if I was to be charged the full rate I would be disillusioned. The spa was filled with locals each day who obviously are not charged by the same price structure. It lacked cleanliness and any sense of exclusivity. On my last visit I failed to find any toilet paper in any of the toilets which was a bit disconcerting. I did mention this to the receptionist who thanked me for letting her know yet remained seated as though it lacked importance.

The gym was also uninviting, consisting of a dark carpeted room with a few machines, no music, and a dull and dated ambiance.

The restaurant on the other hand was excellent. We did have a degustation which was brilliant and obviously prepared by a outstanding Chef who excelled at what he does. The maitre-d was first-rate, professional and courteous, and the dining room was lovely. The barman was also polite and proficient.

The building and location are great, views are excellent, and the front office staff were nice and eager to please. The hotel is let down by a lack of cleanliness, a sub-standard spa, and a lack of vitality. The restaurant however was of a very high standard, in my opinion Michelin starred quality and this offset the negative to an extent. Overall we had a good experience but I was expecting better.

Room Tip: A room with a view is a good idea as the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Great hotel, you feel right at home, built in 1917 certainly hotels reflected different sets of parameters. They make you feel more like at home, a nice home well designed with one thing in mind your comfort.

Room Tip: Get the old castle and sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#8 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vincci Puertochico
Vincci Puertochico
#11 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#5 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Real

Property: Eurostars Hotel Real
Address: Avenida Perez Galdos 28, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santander
#7 Business Hotel in Santander
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santander
#8 Family Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Hotel Real 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Real 5 * GL is a luxurious property located opposite the Playa de los Pelirgos in the Bay of Santander, surrounded by gardens in a privileged area between the historical district and El Sardinero. The hotel has more than half a dozen large private French-style hall rooms with large windows and large gardens with 80 different species of roses. It also has a 1,400 m2 thalassotherapy center. The hotel offers a total of 114 rooms, including suites, all bright, exterior and fully equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Eurostars, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Hotel Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing