We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eurostars Hotel Real
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Reviewed 11 August 2006

Beautiful hotel with an incredible view from a hilltop location that is in a convenient location in Santander. There aren't many better hotels. Friendly staff, but limited English.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tramoseats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (851)
There are newer reviews for Eurostars Hotel Real
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2006

This hotel offers old world elegance that has been updated to modern standards. We were traveling with our 10 year old daughter through northern Spain. The hotel sits up on a hill in an upscale residential area, and is about a 10 minute walk to a beautiful, clean beach. This was important to our daughter as there is no pool for children. There is a pool in the Thalosotherapia Building, but guests must be 14 years and older. We stayed in a 2 room suite with ocean views. It seemed the hotel has been recently renovated as the bath had new fixtures, and marble throughout. The hotel is very, very clean and well maintained. It reminded me of the Copacabanna Palace in Rio. Service was very friendly, effecient, and gracious. We ate at the hotel's upscale restaurant every night. The food was incredible!! We will return to this property.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vinelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
213
Reviewed 25 February 2006

A little slice of heaven. This hotel was almost perfect. Staff was outstanding; friendly and helpful! Room was perfect (only negative were the 2 single beds and not 1 large bed, but getting used to that in Europe) with an incredible view of the ocean. Spa was outstanding. I ony wish it was included in the price. Beautiful hotel. A little out of town but a great walk on the beach. Would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2005

A wonderful old fashioned hotel in a very fashionable part of town. The Real is set back up a short hill from the main promenade and the front overlooks the bay. Ask for a room with balcony. Peace and quiet all day and not a whisper at night when you stand on the balcony and view the bay. We stayed here our first night of a 14 day holiday during which we intended to tour the Paradors. Unfortunately we had such a terrible experience at one Parador we decided to spend the remainder of our holiday back at the Real as it was far better value for money (as it was low season). Our room was delightful and the standard of housekeeping what you would expect of a 5 star hotel. The few meals we had in the hotel were excellent and, unlike another tripadvisor reviewer, there were 2 vegetarian offerings on the menu. All service was quiet and nearly invisible as it should be. Nothing to fault it really as we had such a great 8 days here. Some super tapas bars and restaurants in town so search around. We found the Bar Cantabria just excellent for jamon, Bodega del Riojana my partner really enjoyed and my favourite was Bodega Bringas. All these are in the streets behind the promenade. Be warned though, the menus in northern Spain have little in the way of fruit and vegetables on offer. In fact I had to learn rapidly the words for lettuce, tomato and onion as a salad as the insalata mixta comes covered with fresh tuna fish and as much as I like tuna...... Asparagus is used quite a lot in dishes also plus peppers but other vegetables are hard to find. The fish dishes are all superb and also the meat but the helpings large in most places. Go have an evening round the tapas bars then a wander along the promenade, a wonderful way to enjoy the end of a day. In the evenings we took a taxi from the Real to town (4 euros) as we hoped to sample some local wines but the hotel isn't too far from town so we walked back a few times. October was a super time of year to visit as the beaches were quiet, the weather around 25 every day and few tourists around. The area will be very busy in summer we have no doubt. Just a delightful hotel with such a relaxing atmosphere and friendly efficient staff. Will visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank mairidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Valenica, California
110
Reviewed 3 January 2005

My husband and I were on a whirlwind trip of Northern Spain in October 2004 and, sadly, had only 1 night at the Hotel Real. Even though the weather was cool and overcast, we enjoyed the hotel very much - lovely room overlooking the Bay. Our dinner at the hotel was very good. Although service was a bit slow, this is the way it should be to relax and really savor the food, wine and ambiance of the hotel.

Definitely would stay again.

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2004

This is a gracious hotel from another age, with original room furniture dating from the early part of the last century when the hotel was built. The 'Queen room with sea view' had its own hallway, a large bathroom (with round bath), and a large bedroom with own balcony and breathtaking views of the sea and surrounding Sardinero area. There was a great spa on the premises which had a gym and a (sea water) pool, as well as lots of treatments, but you had to pay a day rate for the use of these (though guests of the hotel get free use of the facilities if they book a treatment). The breakfast buffet was plentiful and served in an airy and pretty restaurant (with outside terrace in the warmer months). My only criticism is that there were no vegetarian options at all on the menu for lunch, dinner, or room service - it was meat and fish only - and the soundproofing of the rooms wasn't great. But this was a great find, with helpful and friendly staff, and the best views in town.

13  Thank Mudpuppy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AQUILINO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
679 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#5 of 32 in Santander
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vincci Puertochico
Vincci Puertochico
#13 of 32 in Santander
520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#15 of 32 in Santander
972 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#6 of 32 in Santander
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Hotel Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Hotel Real

Address: Avenida Perez Galdos 28, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santander
#7 Business Hotel in Santander
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santander
#8 Family Hotel in Santander
Price Range: £80 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eurostars Hotel Real 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eurostars Hotel Real 5 * GL is a luxurious property located opposite the Playa de los Pelirgos in the Bay of Santander, surrounded by gardens in a privileged area between the historical district and El Sardinero. The hotel has more than half a dozen large private French-style hall rooms with large windows and large gardens with 80 different species of roses. It also has a 1,400 m2 thalassotherapy center. The hotel offers a total of 114 rooms, including suites, all bright, exterior and fully equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eurostars Hotel Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Hotel Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing