We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern hotel with large rooms ..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Modern hotel with large rooms ..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

The Hotel Sardinero, across the beach on the Plaza Italia was a very pleasant stay and a welcome break on a driving trip we took in northern Spain in July. This new hotel had been open a few months and offers large rooms with equally large baths, a nice change from some of the traditional hotels we stayed in on this trip. The staff was very helpful and made up for my poor Spanish.arking is via a private garage underneath the property. A great location with bus stops adjacent or within walking distance of the beach vistas. This hotel has contemporary styling and appointments.

Room Tip: Beach views available at a moderate up charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    212
    31
    8
    6
See reviews for
120
317
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

This is a reasonable hotel. It is in a lovely location overlooking the sea front. The sound of crashing waves woke me most mornings.

Santander is a lovely city. The hotel has a faded charm. It needs to have some investment to bring it up to modern standards.

Our room was lovely - over looking the sea. It had a large bathroom with a powerful shower - but it was a shame that the shower head attachment did not fit to the wall.

The breakfast was buffet style and really poor quality. The waiting staff were rude and unhelpful.

The rooms were cleaned everyday to a high standard and the chambermaids were very nice. The reception staff were often surly.

The hotel advertising said it had internet access but one had to sit in reception to get access to the wifi as it did not work in the rooms.

There were no coffee making facilities in the room but we took a travel kettle and bought supplies from the very handy small supermarket just behind the hotel.

It was reasonable value for money and we had a great holiday. But the holiday was made by the lovely town of Santander and the beautiful surrounding countryside rather than the hotel. The hotel Sardinero makes a perfectly usable base from which to enjoy this part of northern Spain.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Terrible breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2008

Stayed for 4 nights.

Hotel needs a complete update. Beds were the hardest i have ever slept in to the point that i kept waking during the night (every night) and woke with a sore back in the morning. Covers had also seen better days (e.g. tired with the occasional whole). No air-conditioning - would definitely be s struggle come August as the hotel is situated on a main road so it is VERY noisy with the windows open. Quietens down come midnight.

Bathroom perfectly adequate and clean. Rooms cleaned daily and the cleaning staff are very friendly.

No Kettle or fridge in room.

The other main gripe is the breakfast - is a complete waste of time - i was surprised how many people continued to attend breakfast considering how vile it actually was.

2 staff served cold tea/coffee and tried to maintain the tables and 'fresh' food for approx 50 guests. The cold food was stale, including green mouldy pieces of bread and rock hard bread roll's. The hot food consisted of fat with trimmings of bacon (if you looked really hard) and a watery substance that slightly resembled scrambled egg.

The hotel restaurant was not much better, but had the cheek the charge high prices for the bad food.

I would not stay in this hotel again, although if you are on a tight budget you can find some reasonable deals for this hotel. Just be prepared to sleep on a hard bed and buy your own breakfast.

Staff were very friendly (with exception to the breakfast staff, who were just clearly under pressure)

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable bed and disgusting breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Honest_Experiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2006

Stayed three nights as part of package deal via Brittany Ferries departure from Plymouth. Hotel in nice area, good position close to sea. Room on first floor at front of hotel. Large bedroom with good en-suite facilities - twin beds that had seen better days and poor quality pillows. Room would be OK as long as you had quiet neighbours who retired to bed before midnight - bedroom doors are heavy and noisy when being closed. No aircon in room, would be stifling in July-August temperatures. Main road runs past hotel but quiet by midnight. Female reception staff friendly and helpful. Miserable breakfast staff leave guests waiting at entrance to dining room unsure whether to sit at a table or be directed - no greeting when eventually recognised. Hot food items poor, fatty bacon, "wet" scrambled egg and "hot dog" type sausages - revolting! - cereals, not much choice, fruit, bread etc OK. Would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scadson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma, Italia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2006

Probably Santander is not the most memorable town in Spain. But Hotel Sardinero is probably one of the best places to stay. Not luxuriuos, but nice. Recently restored. In the great Sardinero beach area. Definitely would go back if again in Santander

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefano54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2004

I spent one night in October 2004 at the Sardinero and really enjoyed the location. The rooms are very plain and nothing special, but the rooms facing the beach are great. For $57 euros I had a third floor room with a view of the beach. The hotel is also right across from the Grand Casino (where I won $359 euros at blackjack) which is a great place. The desk staff were helpful and pleasant, and except for the bed being kind of hard (like most beds in Europe) I would highly recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
11 Thank Robeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2004

A lovely hotel. Very friendly staff. Front facing rooms have a great beach view. A great location for Sardinero Beach area.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Hotel Real
Eurostars Hotel Real
#9 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#8 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#6 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vincci Puertochico
Vincci Puertochico
#12 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Sardinero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Sardinero

Property: Gran Hotel Sardinero
Address: Plaza Italia 1, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santander
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santander
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santander
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santander
#5 Family Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Sardinero 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Sardinero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sardinero Hotel Santander
Hotel Santander Sardinero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing