We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great rooms and location”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and the room was fabulous. We booked a sea view which was definitely worth the extra. Great view, very spacious, everything you need and lots of little 'extras' in the bathroom including razors, combs etc. We ate at the restaurant on our last evening and wish we had eaten there earlier; the veggie paella was scrumptious! Parking in the streets around the hotel is free so we didn't bother with the garage. I would highly recommend this hotel for a visit to Santander! The only reason we didn't give five stars is because there was a birthday party in the function room on the last night and it kept us awake until 4am. I'm assuming this doesn't happen very often.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stardrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    215
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
122
328
8
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Very good Hotel, excellent value. Comfortable clean and spacious with lots of free goodies. Book the garage (25 euro) well worth it for easy access, by lift. Very helpful staff. English Spoken. Menu in hotel a could have been more extensive but the service was good.

Room Tip: We had sea views to front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

From the outside this hotel is very traditional looking (Victorian) which we normally prefer, but the inside has been 100% refurbished in a very contemporary and elegant style. The bedrooms and en-suite are lovely. The hotel is is a good location, for the Casino, Castle and beach. It also has a good bar/restaurant that serves an excellent value Menu del Dia, in the afternoon and evening, thoroughly enjoyable. Would definitely recommend this hotel, and hope to return when visiting Santander again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The hotel is located in the beautiful Sardinero area, next to the Casino. It is a prime hotel at a ver reasonable prices. A little far from the old town, however the city is very safe and easy to walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrhmesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

There is nothing I did not like about this hotel. The staff were polite and quick. The rooms are perfectly proportioned and decorated to a high standard with lovely soft furnishings. The garage is private and secure, it s accessed by way of a lift that you 'drive' into. The hotel is situated in the very elegant part of town and our room overlooked the bay which was lovely. The only downside was no tea making facilities and only 1 English speaking tv channel (CNN), other than that I can't wait to go back. It is advisable to book your space in the garage which does incur a further cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and you have to book your space in the garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed for the night, price of double room 80€, (40€ per person), low season, 15 € for keeping the car for the night in their own parking, under the hotel.
A room overlooking the Sardinero beach costs 20 € more per night.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfonsoposada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisburry
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We visited this hotel at the end of August 2012. 1 minute from the beach and fully restore (the old hotel was demolished and a new hotel built instead) is one of the best hotels I have been at in Spain and reminded us on the Kempinsky in Berlin, which to this date has been the best hotel I have stayed at. Hotel Sardinero has a very friendly and professional staff. The bedrooms are large and exquisitely decorated with the highest standards. We shall certainly go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyandfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Hotel Real
Eurostars Hotel Real
#9 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#8 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#7 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vincci Puertochico
Vincci Puertochico
#11 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Sardinero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Sardinero

Property: Gran Hotel Sardinero
Address: Plaza Italia 1, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santander
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santander
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santander
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santander
#5 Family Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Sardinero 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Sardinero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sardinero Hotel Santander
Hotel Santander Sardinero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing