We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overall lovely experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An overall lovely experience”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for five nights in December 2013 with my partner, and was given a room on the third floor.

What I like about this place:

1. It is right opposite the beach! What's there not to love about that?
It is slightly away from the city. But, it is a nice walk to the city. A cab ride into the city cost less than 5 euros as well.

2. The room I had was clean, modern, and had a luxurious feel to it.

Plenty of space, windows, curtains and light.

3. This place is really quiet. You will get the sleep you need.

4. Very friendly and helpful staff!

What I don't quite fancy about the place:

1. The wireless internet is unfortunately quite weak. It doesn't work in the bedroom, works slightly at the study table. It works best on the ground floor.


Also, some other notes:

1. Buffet breakfast is slightly pricey at 15 euros. The choices are fairly okay though - hot and cold food available.

2. Room service is fast, and fairly decent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacarandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    215
    32
    8
    8
See reviews for
122
327
8
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This hotel is out of the main drag in Santander, which is not really a problem as the cost of a taxi into town was reasonable. It is across the road from the beach. There are lots of local bars with two minutes walk which are hugely popular with the locals. The casino is across the road.The hotel lives up to it's reputation of five stars. The rooms were comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Parking on site (at a cost) ...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pfgps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Located across the road from the beach, slighty out of the main town. €6 cab ride to the town centre. Very comfortable, modern, clean room. Very helpful staff, Excellent breakfast. Over all a very comfortable stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Contemporary and stylish hotel in Santander. Very close to the beach, several restaurants, and casino. Very clean with very nice hotel amenities. I only stayed for one night and was wishing I had more time in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOYSKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Excellent modern rooms behind a traditional facade.First class service .Watch out for the price of breakfast which at € 15 was somewhat overpriced for the tired warm offerings.The cafeteria was light and modern and the terrace was ideal for enjoying a cold drink and snacks whilst taking in the view.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel is slightly outside of the centre but there is still some life including the casino next door. From the exterior it seems an elegant old building so it is a surprise to find a very contemporary interior with a large atrium and lots of light wood and monochrome decor. Our room was large and well appointed with good quality bed linen and towels. We had a warm welcome from reception and porterage staff and check out was equally pleasant. Secure parking is extra but worth it if you want to leave things in the car. It is a very easy drive to and from the ferry.
We were disappointed that the restaurant was unavailable on a Saturday night. We ate in a small dining room off the "cafeteria" ie the bar. The menu del dia was very good and excellent value at just under 20 euros for 3 courses, a bottle wine, mineral water and coffee. However it was a bit lacking in atmosphere.
We would return and would ask for a sea view as the location looking over the Bay of Santander and the ocean beyond is spectacular.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne001_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
224 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

No bath surprised in a hotel of this standard, shower very good. Told me hotel was full so they couldn’t do anything first night couldn’t be bothered changing only there for 3 nights

Handy parking

Meal in restaurant good café menu too

Breakfast suffered from being left for too long

Sea views good didn’t pay for one as I thought the supplement was excessive

Good double glazing

Internet far too flaky for a modern property, free continually need to sign on doesn’t remember id and for certain periods just didn’t work. Need a better solution.

Perfect location for the beach and suburbia.

Comfortable beds

Friendly staff

Might return

Lighting was weird and storage could be better

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasilsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Hotel Real
Eurostars Hotel Real
#9 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#8 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#7 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vincci Puertochico
Vincci Puertochico
#11 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Sardinero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Sardinero

Property: Gran Hotel Sardinero
Address: Plaza Italia 1, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Santander
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santander
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santander
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santander
#5 Family Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Sardinero 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Sardinero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sardinero Hotel Santander
Hotel Santander Sardinero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing