We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Nearby Hotels
Santemar Hotel(Santander)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Nh Ciudad De Santander(Santander)(Great Value!)
US$134
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Silken Coliseum Hotel(Santander)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$146
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gran Hotel Victoria(Santander)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Abba Santander Hotel(Santander)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hospedaje Magallanes(Santander)(Great Value!)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Chateau La Roca Hotel(Santander)(Great Value!)
US$105
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silken Rio Hotel(Santander)
US$164
US$152
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Le Petit Boutique Hotel(Santander)(Great Value!)
US$92
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Chiqui(Santander)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (726)
Filter reviews
726 results
Traveller rating
408
256
37
9
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
256
37
9
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hotelsea viewacross the roadexcellent beachnearby streetsgreat seasideamazing locationcentral atriumfree street parkingtaxi rankstylish roomsvisited this hoteli highly recommend this hotelcar elevatorhigh summergreat holidaycomfortable bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 726 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights just before Easter and had a lovely room with a sea view. The hotel is of a good quality and the room we had was beautifully decorated and very clean. I noted that a couple of reviews were not so good and I would agree that some staff were not overly friendly. However we ate in the restaurant one night and it was quite nice and good value for money. We had breakfast in the café [coffee and a croissant]which was enough for us and full of locals. For what we paid you would never get a hotel like it in the UK

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrahamWalker16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Close to casino, beach and Magdelena Island. Friendly and very helpful staff. We enjoyed five nights in April. Regular bus service into city. The breakfast buffet was very good. The cafeteria had a good menu for light snacks or larger meals.

Room Tip: A supplement is payable for a sea view. Floor 2 or 3 give the best views.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of April for just one night. The hotel itself is fairly comfortable, and bright and with pleasant decor and a bar which caters to locals which meant it was always busy, interesting, and not especially expensive, for its prime position in Sardinero. If you want a city hotel this is not it as it is a 7 Euro taxi drive outside the main buzz, but it is in a very pleasant and busy area.

The hotel was very empty, but we had to pay €20 for a seaview, which seemed strange when the hotel was poorly occupied. That said, the view was lovely. The wifi here was just a joke; there are no other words to describe it. When asked why, we were told that it is "very old"!! It seemed strange not to supply dressing gowns in a hotel of this calibre. The large rug on the floor which was mainly covered by the bed was very grubby and was well overdue a good clean (or completely removed).

Some of the staff (some of the male staff) were extremely pleasant, but others were not. It seemed fairly obvious that there was no staff training as it appeared to be "optional". We were overcharged in the bar for breakfast, but on challenging the head waiter about this, the bill was re-made and reduced to what it should have been in the first place!

No tourist information was provided, and a map of Santander was provided only when I asked for it.

When I tried to book dinner on the Friday night at 6pm, I was told by a suited member of staff (presumably the head of front of house), that he would let me know at 8.30pm. It was just about to start raining and my husband is disabled, so naturally I did not take kindly to this. Fortunately, a more forward thinking member of the Reception team stepped in, took over, and we managed to reserve a table through him speaking directly to the Restaurant Manager. It would seem that the reservation could not be made initially, as the Restaurant Manager was waiting to see how many covers would be interested in eating, before committing to opening the restaurant or not. Spanish hotels really do need to review some of their practices regarding their restaurant services, especially during the current economic crisis. The hotel owners do not seem to realise just how many of us read comments on their establishments from both tripadvisor.com, and from booking.com prior to booking. We had an "adequate" dinner, no more, but this was spoiled by a young spanish female at the next table screaming louder by the minute into her mobile, without anyone from the hotel saying anything to her about the noise she was making. Eventually I yelled at her myself, and she finished the call. The whole thing was not one we would wish to repeat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lolimin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Very modern hotel - beautifully decorated room and very comfortable. Great location, right on the beach (but very very quiet in March). However overall the hotel was a bit impersonal and a bit sterile - there was just something missing. Staff were not overly friendly. We had a very pleasant stay, but having read other reviews was just expecting a bit more.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crosskeys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

If you are going to Santander this is the hotel to stay in. Recently renovated, the rooms are absolutely sensational with a great ocean view. The amenities were unbelievable and not normally seen at other 5 star hotels. They even have a bath sponge, toothbrush and a small carry-on hair brush for you!!! And most of all, you can't beat the price at €100/per night!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eldia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews