We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel City Express Santander Parayas
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good experience”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Arrived on July 3 after a crossing from portsmouth . Checked in to the hotel with no problems and then walked to the 'Cortes Ingles commercial centre for some food. The room was very comfortable with twin beds and an excellent shower etc . TV and a small table and chairs made it easy to have a snack in the room.The receptionist was pleasant and we would not hesitate to stay here again. The hotel was tricky to find though-best tip is to follow the port exit signs untill you see the large commercial centre with Cortes Ingles-you are then about 300m from the hotel. There is a large roundabout with a CEPSA garage -take the small road down by the side of this garage-the hotel is then clearly visible.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    58
    91
    21
    13
See reviews for
40
92
12
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Close to the port and free parking so it was great for a stopover.
The Wifi dropped more times than the average theme park ride.
Our first room had no bathroom door.......well it did, but it was propped up against the bedroom wall !!!!
The walls were paper thin, making for a noisy night and the beds had wheels on and the floors were polished laminate so everytime you moved, the bed moved too.
Traffic and airplane noise were suprisingly minimal considering how close the hotel was to the road & airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

The good points are that the hotel is close to the port for the ferry, that they accept dogs, and that there is a useful park nearby for walking your dog. The bad points are just about everything else. There is a corridor of smoking rooms next to the reception area and as there is no door separating this area it stinks.

I mistakingly thought that this hotel would be similar to the NH Hotel at Lyon Airport. It was not. There was only one person working at the reception and she was perhaps the most uninterested hotel receptionist that I have ever come across. She also had to mind the (very poor) bar and clearly was not too enamoured with that task either. There was no food available when we arrived at around 9.30pm.

We had breakfast in the morning. This too was very poor.

Room Tip: Don't bother unless it is raining. Sleep in the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santander hotels

Brentwood, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

A convenient location for exploring Cantabria, very close to major highways, not far from the airport, and within walking distance of a large shopping mall. NH Santander Parayas is a comfortable hotel, quiet, well-maintained, with a friendly staff, secure parking and free Wi-Fi in the lounge area. The hotel has no restaurant, but we looked forward to their ample buffet breakfast with its great selection to choose from.

Since we were driving and planned to explore the Cave at Altamira and Los Picos, as well as Santander city, we opted for this strategically located hotel, even though it was a bit out of town and inside the Nueva Montana industrial estate area (not very pretty). I prefer not to drive in a large city, with confusing one-way streets, so we were pleased that the bus stops were close by, as well as an excellent seafood restaurant (Restaurante Gelin) and a number of good tapas bars and pubs.

The best way to know a city is to walk it. The #12 bus stops at Puerto Chico, and the picturesque walk from there to Sardinero Beach is well worth the exercise. We also found that a combination of two buses would get us from the hotel to Sardinero Beach in less than an hour (if you are lucky with your connections). Just make sure you check when the last buses are running or you may have to take a taxi back to the hotel if you are hanging out too late.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the back of the hotel facing the "green" park, and not the &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abrantes, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

stayed here for a couple of nights in September on route to England, ideal location for stopover when using ferry, easy to find and just out of the town centre.
Hotel has no resturant but there is a telepizza service in operation, rooms were fine, good value for money. secure parking,
close to shopping mall and shops resturant 200 metres away.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank derharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We booked on line as we are inclined to do these days, always a bit apprehensive as to what we will find at the end of our journey. Absolutely no need to worry, the hotel is 1st Class. We likened it to an up market Premier Inn.
The staff are friendly and speak enough English to allow someone like me with very little Spanish to communicate easily.
The rooms are spacious and clean, the shower/ shower room is probably the best I have ever encountered (we have stayed in numerous hotels all over the world).
There is not a restaurant in the hotel but if you are brave enough to try one of the numerous Tapas bars, they are good quality and reasonably priced (if not there is Burger King in the nearby Hyper Store).
The buffet breakfast in the hotel is superb, varied and plentiful. Even bean to cup coffee machines for a coffee freak like myself.
We will surely use this hotel again when we travel by ferry to Spain again.

Room Tip: We did nothing specific to obtain the rooms we were given, I believe they are all similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJKeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
2.4 mi away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#14 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.6 mi away
Celuisma Alisas
Celuisma Alisas
#28 of 32 in Santander
3.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bedoya
Hotel Bedoya
#24 of 32 in Santander
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
3.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#5 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio del Mar
Hotel Palacio del Mar
#23 of 32 in Santander
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Express Santander Parayas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Express Santander Parayas

Property: Hotel City Express Santander Parayas
Address: Calle Abilio Garcia 1, 39011 Santander, Spain (Formerly NH Santander Parayas)
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Express Santander Parayas 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel City Express Santander Parayas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing