We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santander short break”
Review of Silken Rio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Silken Rio Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Santander short break”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We booked a three night break to Santander, northern Spain. There are now flights direct from Edinburgh and this coast of Spain is well worth a visit. The Hotel we booked, the Silken Rio, was everything we wanted. It's right by the beautiful El Sardinero beach and the lovely gardens nearby. There's the famous casino just round the corner and various cafes, bars and restaurants in this lively part of the city. It is only five minutes by car away from the city centre and fifteen minutes from the airport and main shopping mall. We booked on a b & b basis. The buffet breakfast was excellent, with a huge variety of foods, including hot food if desired. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff friendly. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkenRi0, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Rio Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure for us to get your impressions about our hotel and our facilities.

Indeed the hotel is strategically located in a privileged area of the city, surrounded by the best views and close to all the services you need.

We appreciate your kind comments about our rooms, common areas and, of course, of our staff so we look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Santander.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    219
    146
    52
    26
See reviews for
85
268
21
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I book it as a last minute offer they had in January. The price was fantastic for what they offer. The room was spacious, clean & quiet with beautiful views.
The staff was caring and also really helpfull with any request we had.
The food at the restaurant they have was also good. Will definetly come back in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Very nice hotel, although reception staff seemed glum at all times and sometimes seemed to shrink away to try and avoid contact. Room very nice, (sea view) with everything we needed, although a double, rather than twin beds would have been better.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The view from my window was great, the hotel is just across the street from the beach. The sunrises were beautiful. The street it is on is very convenient for catching public transportation to the bus station, the hotel is a short taxi ride to Santander Airport.(20 Euros). Although this street was busy with traffic during the day, and noisy with the window open, the traffic really died down in the evening, so it was quiet for sleeping. Breakfast was good, a reasonable selection of food to choose from. The shower, although it had but the typical small sheet of glass common in Europe, was fine, I didn't flood the bathroom after a shower. The room is reasonably roomy, there was a small desk for working, internet is free, but it was slow and sometimes weak. Service was good, the staff was generally friendly and helpful - they helped me figure out how to take a bus to Bilbao. Unlike American hotels, there no coffee maker or hot pot in the room - good thing I packed my immersion water heater so that I could make coffee in the morning, since breakfast didn't start until 7:30.

Room Tip: Bring multiple outlet power adaptor if you will need electricity for running and charging multiple i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We spent one night in Santander on our tour of the Basque country and wanted a hotel with a convenient location that was right by the sea. While the rooms are small, they are very comfortable. What we loved most was our view which looked right out into the sea and flower studded paths. It is also within a five minute walk to the Casino if this is something that is of interest. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel but there is a wonderful place diagonally across the street (go on a diagonal towards your right) which is quite nice with lovely views.

Room Tip: For just a few euros more, get the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manhattanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The hotel was good but nothing special. We stayed for three nights and didn't really come into contact with the staff aside from checking in and out. There was a problem with our bed, we ordered a double room but we actually got two single beds for some reason. When we asked the staff about it, they said we ordered a twin/double room. We did but they said we should have emailed to say that we specifically wanted a double room. It seemed that there was another couple in the hotel with a similar problem. And there were no more double rooms available. Not a major problem but we would have preferred a double bed.

We did not eat in the hotel or have breakfast there. We went to the local restaurants which were very good, some great seafood. Its a short bus ride into the city centre and it really is lovely. There are some awesome sights in Santander and it is well worth a visit but I wouldn't necessarily reccommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to email to confirm what kind of bed you want,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seosamh90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Rooms without a soul, restaurant without imagination, staff without smiles, all offered in a superb beachfront location, next to Santander's best sights: the sea, the palace, the walk by the sea...

Parking is in a remote residential building, but it works it you just need to store the car away.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a family, it seems that they have corner suites that have an adjacent regula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dulcinea_canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
0.1 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
914 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#5 of 32 in Santander
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#10 of 32 in Santander
617 reviews
4.8 mi away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#15 of 32 in Santander
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Rio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Rio Hotel

Property: Silken Rio Hotel
Address: Avenida Reina Victoria 153 | Avenida Reina Victoria 153, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santander
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Rio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disfrute de las mas espectaculares vistas al mar Cantabrico a escasos 20 metros de las playas del Sardinero. El Hotel Silken Rio , ubicado en un edificio emblematico de arquitectura clasica, situado en el Paseo que une el centro historico y de negocios de la ciudad con la Plaza Italia , punto neuralgico del veraneo Santanderino . Hotel de 4 estrellas con 89 habitaciones redecoradas y Suites que reflejan el estilo senorial de la ciudad. Tanto el viajero de negocios como el que viene a disfrutar de la ciudad encontrara en la ubicacion del Hotel una situacion inmejorable , junto al Gran Casino , el Palacio de la Magdalena y muy cercano al Palacio de Congresos . El Restaurante, reconocido como uno de los mejores de la ciudad ofrece una cocina tradicional en un marco incomparable y exclusivo . WI-FI gratuito en todo el hotel, Cafeteria , Garaje a 200 metros , Salones para reuniones y celebraciones con luz natural y capacidad hasta 150 personas . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Silken Rio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Rio Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing