We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but not as good as the pictures”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Silken Rio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silken Rio Hotel
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Santander
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good hotel but not as good as the pictures”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed here as it seemed like it was in a good location with a sea view.
We booked a superior sea view room, great view but the room looked very different from what I was expecting. The rooms they show you on the web is not what you get in reality. This is always a bug bear of mine and I wish hotels wouldn't do this. At best it's misleading and you end up feeling a little ripped off.
The location was a little further from where I was expecting, about a 30 minute walk to the main restaurant area, but a pleasant walk, usually with a view of the sea.
The breakfast were good for me, although most Brits and Americans I know would probably be disappointed with the limited cooked choices on offer. There was a good selection of cheeses, meats, breads etc and a particularly good soft white cheese they served with salsa. Also a really good local cheesecake.
The service was friendly and helpfull and all in all it was a good choice in a hugely underrated part of Spain.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spongebob1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkenRi0, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Rio Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Our hotel is not in the center of Santander but it is in the area of El Sardinero, one of the best in town. It's right across from the beach and the main tourist attractions. The ride is very nice but also has buses that run every 5 minutes to the commercial area.

Our rooms have spectacular views across the beach of Sardinero so we encourage you again on future occasions choose our Deluxe room or a slightly higher as the Club Deluxe.

We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. We try to have enough variety to please all our customers.

We look forward to welcoming you next trip.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    198
    136
    47
    24
See reviews for
82
245
20
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We found the staff very helpfully and friendly our room was very clean and had all we needed the only. Criticism is the deco. Is a little tired and the chair in the cafe were all in need of repair.the position of the hotel is lovely right on the front with stunning beaches and gardens we would definitely use this hotel again,a very big thank you to all the staff for making our stay such a nice one

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkenRi0, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Rio Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that your stay in the hotel was enjoyable and we appreciate the positive comments about our staff.

Certainly our view is spectacular so we encourage you on your next visit to reselect one of our deluxe rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit,

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We booked a three night break to Santander, northern Spain. There are now flights direct from Edinburgh and this coast of Spain is well worth a visit. The Hotel we booked, the Silken Rio, was everything we wanted. It's right by the beautiful El Sardinero beach and the lovely gardens nearby. There's the famous casino just round the corner and various cafes, bars and restaurants in this lively part of the city. It is only five minutes by car away from the city centre and fifteen minutes from the airport and main shopping mall. We booked on a b & b basis. The buffet breakfast was excellent, with a huge variety of foods, including hot food if desired. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff friendly. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkenRi0, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Rio Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure for us to get your impressions about our hotel and our facilities.

Indeed the hotel is strategically located in a privileged area of the city, surrounded by the best views and close to all the services you need.

We appreciate your kind comments about our rooms, common areas and, of course, of our staff so we look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Santander.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

I book it as a last minute offer they had in January. The price was fantastic for what they offer. The room was spacious, clean & quiet with beautiful views.
The staff was caring and also really helpfull with any request we had.
The food at the restaurant they have was also good. Will definetly come back in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Very nice hotel, although reception staff seemed glum at all times and sometimes seemed to shrink away to try and avoid contact. Room very nice, (sea view) with everything we needed, although a double, rather than twin beds would have been better.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
88 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

The view from my window was great, the hotel is just across the street from the beach. The sunrises were beautiful. The street it is on is very convenient for catching public transportation to the bus station, the hotel is a short taxi ride to Santander Airport.(20 Euros). Although this street was busy with traffic during the day, and noisy with the window open, the traffic really died down in the evening, so it was quiet for sleeping. Breakfast was good, a reasonable selection of food to choose from. The shower, although it had but the typical small sheet of glass common in Europe, was fine, I didn't flood the bathroom after a shower. The room is reasonably roomy, there was a small desk for working, internet is free, but it was slow and sometimes weak. Service was good, the staff was generally friendly and helpful - they helped me figure out how to take a bus to Bilbao. Unlike American hotels, there no coffee maker or hot pot in the room - good thing I packed my immersion water heater so that I could make coffee in the morning, since breakfast didn't start until 7:30.

Room Tip: Bring multiple outlet power adaptor if you will need electricity for running and charging multiple i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heels23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
276 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

We spent one night in Santander on our tour of the Basque country and wanted a hotel with a convenient location that was right by the sea. While the rooms are small, they are very comfortable. What we loved most was our view which looked right out into the sea and flower studded paths. It is also within a five minute walk to the Casino if this is something that is of interest. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel but there is a wonderful place diagonally across the street (go on a diagonal towards your right) which is quite nice with lovely views.

Room Tip: For just a few euros more, get the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manhattanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
1.5 mi away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#10 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#5 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vincci Puertochico
Vincci Puertochico
#11 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Rio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Rio Hotel

Property: Silken Rio Hotel
Address: Avenida Reina Victoria 153 | Avenida Reina Victoria 153, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santander
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Rio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disfrute de las mas espectaculares vistas al mar Cantabrico a escasos 20 metros de las playas del Sardinero. El Hotel Silken Rio , ubicado en un edificio emblematico de arquitectura clasica, situado en el Paseo que une el centro historico y de negocios de la ciudad con la Plaza Italia , punto neuralgico del veraneo Santanderino . Hotel de 4 estrellas con 89 habitaciones redecoradas y Suites que reflejan el estilo senorial de la ciudad. Tanto el viajero de negocios como el que viene a disfrutar de la ciudad encontrara en la ubicacion del Hotel una situacion inmejorable , junto al Gran Casino , el Palacio de la Magdalena y muy cercano al Palacio de Congresos . El Restaurante, reconocido como uno de los mejores de la ciudad ofrece una cocina tradicional en un marco incomparable y exclusivo . WI-FI gratuito en todo el hotel, Cafeteria , Garaje a 200 metros , Salones para reuniones y celebraciones con luz natural y capacidad hasta 150 personas . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silken Rio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Rio Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing