We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silken Rio Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Santemar Hotel(Santander)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Chateau La Roca Hotel(Santander)(Great Value!)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Chiqui(Santander)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Boutique Las Brisas(Santander)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Silken Coliseum Hotel(Santander)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (653)
Filter reviews
653 results
Traveller rating
138
256
162
58
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
256
162
58
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshotel roomsea viewopposite the beachair conthe buslovely locationwould highly recommend this hoteltown centrewould stay againhotel is situatedfree parkingcasinobeachesspainbathtubpalacemagdalena
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 653 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Room with sea view - yes - but soooo small can't fit in 2 people and 2 cases. Verandah - hmmmm - so small one person can fit on it if they stand sideways and breath in.
Asked for larger room.
Nope!
Staff give service with a snarl.
The guest room on the website that we though we were getting is actually a 'mini suite' and if you want it it is rather a lot of extra euros per night. Was so cross decided not to eat at hotel or give them any other custom.
Would suggest you avoid this place. There seem to be lots of other hotels near here, not all of them can be like this!
PS - parking - they suggest paid in next block, but there is free parking out the front of the hotel. Seems to be OK. Will probably find wheel clamped tomorrow!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms all seem to be smaller than the others, and only have twin beds.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shadowshopperAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkenRi0, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Rio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Customer,

Our rooms are divided between standard rooms and junior suite rooms. Obviously, these rooms are larger and more luxurious so the price is a little higher.

We regret you did not enjoy our restaurant because the food and service are excellent.

About parking, we can not guarantee the security of your car but, I must say, we've never had any problems of this type. In any case we have a garage available to customers who need it.

We hope to welcome you again,

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Me and my husband have stayed at Silken Rio hotel for 4 days. The location is unbeatable with stunning views of Sardinero beach, so make sure you ask for a room overlooking the ocean. The people at the reception were very polite and helpul and we were satisfied by the service provided. The room had a nice size and the bed was comfortable. One minor issue was that the hotel doesn't have double beds in the rooms overlooking the ocean, but we didn't mind as the twin beds were adjacent to each other. The room was spotless clean and the cleaning staff meticulous. The bathroom had a nice size and was fully equipped with bath tab, hair dryer (dental and shaving kits were also offered).

The breakfast was rich and included choices that could satisfy anyone, ranging from classic milk and cereals to more traditional spanish taste like iberian ham. Scrabled eggs, bacon, cooked vegetables, yogurt, fruits, juices and desserts were also available.
The food in the hotel restaurant is first class. We had a delicious three course dinner with memorable desserts (treats for both the mouth and the eyes).

The city centre is within walking distance (half an hour) but buses are also available (we didn't use them).
A drawback was the slow internet in the room (you couldn't watch a youtube video without interruption).

Overall a very nice experience. Recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greekguy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkenRi0, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Rio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Huésped,

Gracias por sus excelentes comentarios acerca de nuestras instalaciones y servicios. Como bien dice, merece la pena reservar una habitación con vistas al mar, ya que el paisaje es de lo más espectacular a la par que relajante.

Nuestro desayuno es muy variado e intentamos que la oferta sea ámplia para poder satisfacer los gustos de todos nuestros clientes.

En el restaurante también cuidamos todos los detalles y nuestra carta mantiene una relación calidad-precio muy buena.

Es cierto que no nos encontramos en el centro de la ciudad pero, como bien habrán podido comprobar, el servicio de autobuses funciona muy bien y con mucha frecuencia.

En cuanto al tema del wifi comentarle que nuestro servicio de conexión gratuito funciona correctamente para aplicaciones sencillas, navegar por internet, etc. Si usted desea ver videos o hacer video conferencias puede solicitar nuestro wifi Premium que dispone de un ancho de banda mayor y es especial para esos casos.

Esperamos, como no, volver a verles muy pronto en nuestro establecimiento.
Un cordial saludo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights. What a beautiful hotel in a beautiful part of the city. We had a room overlooking the ocean (Rm 207). Fabulous view with the soothing sound of the surf. Our room was very good size, extremely comfortable, great linens, comfortable bed. Big bathroom, too! Very nice reception staff. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel so you will have a view. The "07" rooms seem a little bigger.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel1627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkenRi0, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Silken Rio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Customer,

We appreciate your best opinions about our hotel.

Thank you very much for recommend us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This hotel is situated opposite the beach and we had beautiful views across the bay.It is very clean with good size rooms. There is a bus stop very close with lots of buses which take you to the centre for the shops or restaurants.The hotel staff are extremely helpful and explained what we could see and do on our short visit. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and we had no problem using the free wifi. We did however think that the prices of the drinks in the rooms minbar were far too expensive

Room Tip: We had a room on the fourth floor overlooking the beach but high enough to not be disturbed by the traffic from the road.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExeterAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkenRi0, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Rio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Customer,

We appreciate your best opinions about our hotel. No doubt we'll be seeing you soon.

Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The lovely view is the main attraction of this hotel. The facilities are nice enough, and much better value for money than San Sebastian. The only drawback was the fact that they gave a couple two single beds, claiming that none of the ocean view rooms (for which one pays a premium) have double beds, which is not the best for couples.

Room Tip: The hotel staff tells us there are no ocean view rooms with double beds - don't bother paying extra for one if you are a couple.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barcilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SilkenRi0, Guest Relations Manager at Silken Rio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Our deluxe rooms have spectacular views of the beach of Sardinero but, as you said, they have all two singles beds together. No doubt that we will consider your suggestions for future hotel renovations.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews