We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not shown on sat nav.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palacio del Mar
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not shown on sat nav.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We had trouble finding it as we only had a sat nav and it didn't show on it. Eventually a kind policeman gave a map and directions. From the outside the hotel looked a bit grim, but inside it was delightful. The receptionist was friendly and the room was much more than expected. In fact it was a suite. It was a pity we couldn't stay longer, but had to catch a ferry the next day. The only downside was when we went down to the bar it was very cold and almost empty so we decided to go out and find somewhere for a drink and to eat. Breakfast was totally self service with plenty of choice. The ferry was about 10 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watercolourpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    65
    63
    33
    26
See reviews for
64
80
2
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

I don't know if this was standard, but we got a hugh room that included a massive double bed and a sofa and chairs. It also had a very nice balcony, strangely there was no furniture on it, would have been nice to sit there and read. The room was the best with this hotel. Otherwise, like previously mentioned, had an odd decor of hunting and animals and toreros. Breakfast was ok, particularly since this is spain after all. The location was ok, not far from the best beach in the city and some restaurants in the evening. We stayed 3 nights and then we had eaten in many places and kind of run out of options, so I would not have wanted to stay longer. It is far to the inner city with more options, you could walk there in maybe 20 min through a horrible tunnel (!), if not, it is even further and requires a taxi or car.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deselbyswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

My husband, two year old daughter and I stayed here the night before our return ferry to the UK after two months travelling around Europe. We hadn't pre booked, turning up on spec mid Sunday afternoon. The main attraction for my husband was the free parking, as we had a land rover and expedition trailer to park up! The car park is quite small with only a few bays but we were able to park the opposite side with no problems. We were offered a junior suite for €90 ish which we took. It was perfect - a large bedroom for us with its own TV, leaving the large sofa bed free for our daughter. The room was spotlessly clean and very welcoming. Overall great value and a great location. Would use again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights on the ground floor .. Room was big .. More like a suite .. Had a terrace and all the hotel amenities you could need .. Restaurant is good but not great .. Nothing is wildly over priced .. Not far to walk to the beach
Still wish it would be made illegal for hotels not to have a power outlet next to the bed though.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Oldvalvemic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

Hotel desperate for updating... Staff ellusive and indifferent. The restaurant staff spoke no english at all and my sons were served steak so rare it practically had a pulse! Glad we only stayed one night.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Duckie512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Booked this hotel through Brittany Ferries who we have travelled with many times - we really rate them so were so disappointed with this bizarre OTT hotel. Stayed one night prior to getting ferry back to UK. Palacio ''del Mar'' is actually quite a few blocks back from 'del Mar' with no views of the sea (and no views at all of anything from the basement bars and dining rooms which have no windows and are internal rooms) Whilst Reception and our huge well equipped 80s style bedroom was great (and clean) with lots of space and a big bath and powerful shower, it did remind me of a set out of Footballers wives with plastic fantastic flowers in the bathroom and mirrored fitted wardrobes. The tacky Footballers Wives theme extended to the horrible ballroom/dining room where we ate breakfast - it was just depressing. For an expensive four star hotel, the breakfast was disgusting - very limited choice and a plate of 'sweating' shiny cheeses that had clearly been brought out several days in a row. All the glasses for fruit juice and water were grubby and dusty and the fridges where the fruit and yoghurts were stored were very dirty and could not have been properly cleaned for weeks. The waiter proceeded to strip tables of the their 'table cloths' whilst many guests were still eating (they were by the way throwaway paper covers) revealing the bashed cheap furniture underneath. We would never go back. However we did have a few good belly laughs at the hotel magazines/annuals all over the hotel like 'Hello' life style magazines advertising all the social events that had been held for footballers and matadors at the hotel -it is almost worth staying (room only!) for this....The next morning we were on the ferry back to the UK and the Brittany Ferry Pont Aven restaurant breakfast was excellent - far better quality, immaculate food hygiene and proper buffet restaurant service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyeGhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santander hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

The location is ok, but the hotel needs an urgent renovation.
You can still smell the asbestos kind of furnishings and carpets manufactured with cheap unhealthy materials. The so called 'design' of the hotel is a wild mixture of an african farm, nostalgic memorabila of bullfighters and a bland concrete interior design.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schwede55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
0.8 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#8 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.8 mi away
Silken Rio Hotel
Silken Rio Hotel
#16 of 32 in Santander
3.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#6 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vincci Puertochico
Vincci Puertochico
#11 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio del Mar

Property: Hotel Palacio del Mar
Address: Avenida Cantabria 5 | El Sardinero, 39012 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palacio del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This extensive hotel lies just 150 m from Santanders famous Sardinero Beach. Its luxurious, spacious rooms can accommodate up to 5 people.Communal areas at the Sercotel Suite Hotel Palacio del Mar are stylish and inviting - providing the perfect place to sit and chat with friends or business associates. Enjoy evenings in the piano bar which has an African theme, creating a unique atmosphere for your visit to Cantabria. Meanwhile, the on-site restaurant allows you to dine in a maritime-themed setting.As a hotel guest, you enjoy free access to the adjacent sports centre. Work out in the centres gym, spend a session in the sauna and take a dip in the covered swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palacio del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Del Mar Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing