We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice hotel great location”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Silken Coliseum the hotel is in a great location right in the center of shops , restaurants & bars.The airport bus drops you a stones throw from the hotel also which runs every half hour for only E2.20 pp.In general the hotel is very nice & spotlessly clean.We checked in at 1pm & were told our room would be ready in 10 minutes however it was 40 minutes later when we got our room key.The first morning at breakfast our name was not on the breakfast list & were met with quite a rude waiter this was a mistake but no apology was given.On check out I was also told the amount owed even though I had paid on booking.Breakfast buffet I'm not so sure on more sweet than savory & no option for vegetarians which meant I could have bread or fruit.All in all though a good hotel & other than one rude waiter super staff who were very friendly & helpful at all times . I would recommend staying here while staying in beautiful Santander

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    297
    123
    21
    20
See reviews for
86
322
12
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here for five days at the beginning of October. The hotel is smart, comfortable and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. A good choice of breakfast (buffet) and evening meals.
The hotel is probably a ten minute walk to both sea front and train and buses. Centrally located, near to bars, restaurants and shops although the main shopping centre is located on the outskirts a bus ride away.
More than just a port Santander offers La Palace de La Magdalena, Sardinero, Plaza Porticada, The East market.

Room Tip: All the rooms were quiet, comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innerminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here for 6 days after enjoying previous stats over the past 5 years. Hotel continues to impress and the location is ideal for exploring santander. Only 15 mins from the airport by bus at 2.20 euros. Buses run from the airport to the bus station in the centre of santander every 30mins. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient. I must mention Miguel who worked behind the bar where we had a nightly apertif before going out to eat. He was very efficient, friendly and had a good rapport with many customers. A credit to the hotel. The prequel to the world sailing championships were on during our stay.. The championships are in 2014, which added more vibrancy to the bay of santander. A wonderful stay and a great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnno1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I recently stayed at the Silken Coliseum for a night with my wife. The hotel was decorated to a very good standard - as good as, if not better than quality chains like Marriott - and better than the Hilton I recently stayed in! The room was large, well fitted, the fitting seemed pretty new and it was very clean.

The staff where very helpful, spoke good English and the hotel was in a great central location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed in Silken Coliseum Hotel in May with my husband. Overall we had a lovely trip to santander. We found the people extremely helpful - when we first arrived at bus station an older gentleman and his wife stopped to help us as we obviously looked lost. Despite his lack of English and our lack of spanish he took the time to direct us to correct road for hotel.

Pro's of hotel:
*reception staff extremely helpful and friendly
*clean and sleek interior
*great location - short walk from bus station/train station and water front
* room comes with the usual shampoo conditioner however also included a shaving and dental kit which is a little more unusual.
*great value for money - hotel worked out pretty cheap especially when compared to hotels in other cities


Cons
Only one slight con:
* The room was pretty warm however the air condition for season hadn't been switched on yet .We called the reception and they said they'd see what they could do. Sure enough they called back and offered to move us to another room - we choose to stay where we were and open the window - however we did appreciate them offering.

Overall if I would stay at this hotel if I was to return to Santander. I would also recommend Santander as a city break , lots of tapas bars and plenty of shops including two malls close by. I would suggest if your Spanish isn't too great to take a phrase book as we struggled, however it didn't ruin our lovely trip.

:)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Flutterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We spent 4 nights here recently. Friendly, English speaking and efficient staff, good size rooms, good decor, very clean and wonderfully located to visit shops, bars and generally explore Santander. Great value light breakfast in the bar each day gets you off to a good start. We stayed room rate only as there were so many bars and restaurants within a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Stayed here for a weekend may 2013, arrived at 10.30 am, staff were very friendly and immediately allowed us to check in, room was spacious and clean. Breakfast very good with a huge variety, altogether excellent hotel and staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley16021957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#7 of 32 in Santander
207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vincci Puertochico
Vincci Puertochico
#12 of 32 in Santander
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
880 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#14 of 32 in Santander
265 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Coliseum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Coliseum Hotel

Property: Silken Coliseum Hotel
Address: Plaza Remedios 1, 39001 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Coliseum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Hotel Silken Coliseum, destaca por su singular fachada y sus modernas instalaciones. A ello se suma una ubicacion privilegiada en el centro neuralgico de Santander, a escasos metros del Paseo que une el centro historico y de negocios de la ciudad con la Plaza Italia , punto neuralgico del veraneo Santanderino. Asi, tanto el viajero de negocios como el que viene a disfrutar de la ciudad encontrara en el Hotel Silken Coliseum una opcion inmejorable. Las 92 habitaciones del hotel, destacan por su diseno de interiores, con mobiliario de lineas contemporaneas, en el que se ha prestado especial atencion a la iluminacion, texturas y equipamiento para ofrecer un mayor confort y un ambiente sereno y elegante. El establecimiento cuenta con un restaurante "La Platea" en el que se pone de manifiesto la excelencia de la cocina cantabra, cafeteria " Bambalinas" y garaje propio. El hotel dispone de cinco salones con capacidad hasta 200 personas, en los que gracias a su decoracion y a su completo equipamiento de medios audiovisuales, wifi gratuito, pueden organizarse eventos de todo tipo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Silken Coliseum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silken Coliseum
Silken Coliseum Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing