We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant and central hotel”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel is about two blocks from the port and the cathedral and near some interesting pedestrian streets with cafes and interesting buildings. The hotel itself was fine, even if the bed was a bit hard. The elevator advertised its dining room, and we wanted to try it, but even though the ad was there at 6 pm, it only applied at lunch. So we went to their Bistro, which was a fine, middle-or-the-road restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    290
    117
    21
    19
See reviews for
85
315
11
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Got an amazing last minute deal which enabled us to stay in this very centrally located hotel at the price of a modest B&B at home. Modern, clean rooms, large en-suites, efficient English-speaking staff. A great base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location in the centre of Santander. Only ten minute walk from the bus station and railway station. Also only a ten minute walk from the ferry port. Shopping streets are on its doorstep and the main restaurant / bar area is only five /ten minutes walk away.
The hotel is modern, with a large reception. Staff were helpful and check in was easy, even when I asked to upgrade. Bedroom was a decent size, clean with a comy bed. Our room was to the front of the hotel, but with window open was noisy late at night, but that was because the street cleaners and refuse collectors were at work. Small price to pay for clean streets.
Nice big bar area, but seats weren't comfy, more like tables and chairs. Restaurant area was also big, and clean. The breakfast was fantastic.
Bus from the airport only took 10 minutes and cost €2.20. I think it runs twice an hour.
Santander itself was a really nice city. Wasn't sure what to expect, but definately wasn't disappointed. Good shops, so many bars /restaurants which were pretty good value. The tapas was fantastic. Nice prom / marina area. Beaches were brilliant and really clean. Furtherest away beach would take mabe an hour or so to walk to. Some small hills to walk to get there. If you are able to walk it, do it and enjoy the coastline, otherwise plenty of buses. We used the city tour bus for a 24 hour period. Helped us find our way about. Also we went wondering away from the coast, but were still heading back into the city centre,and found some interesting areas on route.
Hotel was great. Santander was great. Rioja with tapas is a must.

Room Tip: We had booked a comfort room through the booking company, but upgraded to front facing room on arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I was here for a mates wedding!! Very nice place with very nice staff. Just so helpful and polite. No language problems at all which makes things a little easier! Rooms were modern, clean and well kitted out. Free wifi was OK which is a blessing compared to many hotels in Spain!!

Really good stay and I would stay again! Thats about all I need to say I guess!!

Room Tip: Any room number ending in 02 is like a mini suite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigjarv1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Silken Coliseum the hotel is in a great location right in the center of shops , restaurants & bars.The airport bus drops you a stones throw from the hotel also which runs every half hour for only E2.20 pp.In general the hotel is very nice & spotlessly clean.We checked in at 1pm & were told our room would be ready in 10 minutes however it was 40 minutes later when we got our room key.The first morning at breakfast our name was not on the breakfast list & were met with quite a rude waiter this was a mistake but no apology was given.On check out I was also told the amount owed even though I had paid on booking.Breakfast buffet I'm not so sure on more sweet than savory & no option for vegetarians which meant I could have bread or fruit.All in all though a good hotel & other than one rude waiter super staff who were very friendly & helpful at all times . I would recommend staying here while staying in beautiful Santander

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Stayed here for five days at the beginning of October. The hotel is smart, comfortable and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. A good choice of breakfast (buffet) and evening meals.
The hotel is probably a ten minute walk to both sea front and train and buses. Centrally located, near to bars, restaurants and shops although the main shopping centre is located on the outskirts a bus ride away.
More than just a port Santander offers La Palace de La Magdalena, Sardinero, Plaza Porticada, The East market.

Room Tip: All the rooms were quiet, comfortable and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innerminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here for 6 days after enjoying previous stats over the past 5 years. Hotel continues to impress and the location is ideal for exploring santander. Only 15 mins from the airport by bus at 2.20 euros. Buses run from the airport to the bus station in the centre of santander every 30mins. The hotel staff were friendly and efficient. I must mention Miguel who worked behind the bar where we had a nightly apertif before going out to eat. He was very efficient, friendly and had a good rapport with many customers. A credit to the hotel. The prequel to the world sailing championships were on during our stay.. The championships are in 2014, which added more vibrancy to the bay of santander. A wonderful stay and a great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnno1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,077 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#5 of 32 in Santander
167 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Victoria
Gran Hotel Victoria
#6 of 32 in Santander
430 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vincci Puertochico
Vincci Puertochico
#11 of 32 in Santander
485 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Coliseum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Coliseum Hotel

Property: Silken Coliseum Hotel
Address: Plaza Remedios 1, 39001 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Coliseum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Hotel Silken Coliseum, destaca por su singular fachada y sus modernas instalaciones. A ello se suma una ubicacion privilegiada en el centro neuralgico de Santander, a escasos metros del Paseo que une el centro historico y de negocios de la ciudad con la Plaza Italia , punto neuralgico del veraneo Santanderino. Asi, tanto el viajero de negocios como el que viene a disfrutar de la ciudad encontrara en el Hotel Silken Coliseum una opcion inmejorable. Las 92 habitaciones del hotel, destacan por su diseno de interiores, con mobiliario de lineas contemporaneas, en el que se ha prestado especial atencion a la iluminacion, texturas y equipamiento para ofrecer un mayor confort y un ambiente sereno y elegante. El establecimiento cuenta con un restaurante "La Platea" en el que se pone de manifiesto la excelencia de la cocina cantabra, cafeteria " Bambalinas" y garaje propio. El hotel dispone de cinco salones con capacidad hasta 200 personas, en los que gracias a su decoracion y a su completo equipamiento de medios audiovisuales, wifi gratuito, pueden organizarse eventos de todo tipo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silken Coliseum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silken Coliseum
Silken Coliseum Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing