We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Italian Food in the North of Spain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trattoria Florida

Trattoria Florida
Ranked #20 of 628 Restaurants in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian Food in the North of Spain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

What a discovery! A little, cozy place in downtown Santander with excellent Italian food and very good wine. A smiling and quick waiter. The decoration and music was also appropriate. And the price was very reasonable. What else can we ask for?

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jose p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    94
    26
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A hidden little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Went to the restaurant after reading previous good reviews, and were not disappointed. Arriving at 7.30pm we found it didn't open until 8, but after a couple of drinks in a local bar we returned to a warm welcome although there were few customers at this time. Ordered a mixed two style pizza that proved amazing. More than enough to eat and truly tasty. The friendly helpful waiter suggested the house wine, and although none on the list were too expensive, it was a superb wine at half the price of the one we were considering. Atmosphere is friendly and unpretentious not intimate, but the restaurant provided a wonderfully tasty well prepared meal at a reasonable price. Excellent for what it is and not to be missed if you want good Italian at a modest price with good service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank davandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great italian food in Spain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

The food was very good and great value for money. The steak can be recommended. The service is also first class.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Scotia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice for a change”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Small little restaurant very well priced & lovely staff. Go for pizza & salad for a change lovely light base & plenty of fresh toppings

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahjavea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
171 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good Italian food, nice service, but not a #1”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We went for lunch to this small and unpretentious Italian restaurant in Santander following the opinions in Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed but it does not fit the expectations of a #1, and the portions are very modest for Spanish (or Italian) standards.
The service given by Edu (the younger of the 2 Venezuelan brothers that run the place, with an Italian uncle in the kitchen, in the last year) is attentive, helpful, humble and prompt. We opted for "Menú del día" (Today's set menu) which gives you the option to choose one dish among four starters and another one among four main dishes, for only €11 each person. The bread is home made and it comes warm to the table.
We had "Gazpacho de Sandía" (Watermelon cold soup) that was delicious and "Berenjena al Horno" (Roasted Auvergine) that was OK. Then we had "Canelones de Espinacas" (Canelloni stuffed with spinachs) that were just average and "Rissotto de pollo y setas" (Rissotto with chicken and mushrooms) that was tasty but the rice a bit hard. We had a portion of home made apple tart that was nice but not a winner, three beers, a small bottle of water and a expresso. The final total came to €28, which I think is very good value.
I will recommend this place for a nice meal, but don't expect anything extraordinary.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank phayaoThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Florida also viewed

Santander, Cantabria
Santander, Cantabria
 
Santander, Cantabria
Santander, Cantabria
 

Been to Trattoria Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing