We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Hotel Victoria
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Is on the edge of town but very impressive. Our room had a balcony overlooking the sea. Parking was available for 14.5 euros per night.
We had no complaints and staff very friendly and helpful.
About a 25 minute walk into town or 5 minutes by bus.
Located near beaches and beautiful location.

Room Tip: Room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cageykezzastrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

Santander is quite a posh seaside resort, all very well kept, and very relaxing because of it.
This hotel fits into that ambiance perfectly - it's in a great location, just a few minutes to a very nice beach, and right next to the beach-side promenade, as well as being close to pleasant bars and restaurants.
The hotel staff are friendly and helpful, and the rooms are nice, and kept very clean. Balconies and mini-golf are great extras.
We did sometimes feel like we were in a retirement home, as most of the other guests were elderly, and everything feels so serene and sedate, but that was also very relaxing!
Recommended for a super-relaxed weekend by the sea.
The town centre is approx 30 minutes walk away, or there are frequent, cheap local buses.

Room Tip: Sea-view is always best, right? Even if there are some buildings blocking the full view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katalina_75_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
men2, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words in Tripadvisor. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to Santander!

Gran Hotel Victoria team look forward to welcoming back to you in a very near future!

Warm regards,

Carmen Guadalupe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

It was a very pleasant experience staying at this hotel. A very nice walk to the main areas, along the beautiful clifftop promenade. It rained a bit when we were there, but that did not dampen our enthusiasm for the place.
Prices were reasonable, but the the under cover, secure garage, was a bit expensive at 15 euros night.
Very helpful staff, and a very comprehensive breakfast.











4

Room Tip: We had an L shaped room on the back, with a large balcony, that allowed restricted beach views eithe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyvernattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
men2, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Wyvernattack,

Many thanks for sharing your comments about your visit to the Gran Hotel Victorial! I am glad to know that you enjoyed a fantastic stay with us!

I look forward to seeing you very soon!

Our best wishes,

Carmen Guadalupe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here early June for 4 nights.
The Hotel is well situated just off the main coastal road. 20 mins by car from airport. It is a very pleasant up market area and seems to attract many locals. The beach is a stones throw and it is about 20 mins walk to the city centre or port area or 5 mins on the frequent buses.
The Hotel staff at reception were very helpful . This is not a huge chain type hotel, but the foyer and lobby are nice. No pool but beach is very handy. Our room was a decent size, modern and well equipped. Only spanish tv channels though, but wifi available throughout the hotel.Spotless and clean everywhere. Breakfast just ok. Overall a good stay.
.

Room Tip: ask for a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerlinso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
men2, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and nice post!!

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had an incredible experience between us and you loved our hotel.

We hope to see you back soon in Santander. Please, remember that we are at your complete disposal.

Sincerely,

Carmen Guadalupe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We stayed for one night following the 24hr ferry crossing from the UK, before we set off on a motorbike tour of the Pyrenees.
Rooms were large, clean & airy, with sea views & a balcony.
Underground parking for the bikes which was really useful, secure too.
Breakfast was your typical continental buffet, felt like we were in a wedding room as all the chairs were covered in white cotton covers with bows!
Staff really friendly, lent us an umbrella as we were travelling light on the bikes!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with a balcony (you may get some neighbourhood noise lower down)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frecklesK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
men2, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments with us!!It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed our Hotel.

We hope to see you soon in Santander and welcome you again in our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Carmen Guadalupe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

The hotel is just one block away from the beach and perfect to go for a walk around the playa or the peninsula. The rooms are contemporary and comfortable. Restaurants are near by and hotel breakfast is okay by Spanish standards. Friendly and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joerg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here on the 2nd and 3rd of October 2012 in Room 403.
The Hotel was easy to find and is situated just off the main coastal road that follows the beech and sea front all the way to the City Centre and Port area. Remember though that this is quite a walk.It is however very pleasant and many locals walk and promenade their way to the town for their evening dinner and people watching.
The Hotel staff at Reception were great and booking in no problem. We opted for the Garage parking which here we think is the best option and chargable, but it is secure and underground catering for heat and you do not have to find parking nearby.
Our room was large and comfortable and we had a large balcony with views to the sea.
The food in the Restaurant and again at breakfast was ok, but to be fair, you can have a short walk out for a greater selection and this may well be a better option.
Wifi is available in your room and connections are good.
All the room facilities were very good and when in the evening you wished to sit out, there were good options around the hotel complex.It is an easy drive from here both to the City and Port.

Room Tip: Corner Room, ie 403 has a larger style balcony with great views. Loer down and views will diminish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRetiredTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
716 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#5 of 32 in Santander
969 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silken Rio Hotel
Silken Rio Hotel
#17 of 32 in Santander
603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Victoria

Address: Calle Maria Luisa Pelayo 38 | El Sardinero, 39005 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santander
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santander
Price Range: £45 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing