We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money with no compromises”
Review of Hostal Cabo Mayor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Cabo Mayor
Ranked #3 of 24 Santander B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Using Santander as a base for exploring the region this hostal was ideal literally being on the doorstep of the bus station so the airport bus would take you right to the hostal door. Unfortunately our flight was serverly delayed so we missed the last bus but Sergio came back from his home to meet us after midnight with the keys which was deeply appreciated. The room itself was modern, had everything we needed and probably the most comfortable bed I've stayed in for a long time including much more expensive hotels. The place is only small though so make sure you book a room before it's too late!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Cabo Mayor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2011

My husband and I have recently been in this little but cosy hotel. The position is simply wonderful, coming from the airport by bus, you just need to cross the street and the hotel is in front of you. The staff is very helpful and can give you a lot of useful info about Santander main places to see. The room is very clean, newly restyled, very silent thanks to double-glass windows. On arrival you are given the keys to come and go as you please. In a short walk, you are near to the city center, shops, restaurant and a pleasant sea promenade.
I would strongly recommend this hotel to all people wishing to visit Santander as the relation quality/price is really excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patty958l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Great location right by the bus station. This hostal is in an apartment block, so doesn't have a reception as such, but not a problem for me. When I visited, only one member of staff speaks English, but they are all friendly and we did our best in Spanglish! Modern decor, lovely bright rooms, spotlessly clean, free wireless, and the most comfortable hotel bed I've slept in for a long time!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piper1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

Got back to the UK from this mediocre Hotel to find that I'd appeared to be charged twice. When I enquired with the Hotel they said it was for the towels I had supposedly taken. The payment had been taken without my consent and was for more than the cost of the two rooms that I had stayed in!

We had enough bags to carry to the car park without packing them with extra towels we had no need for...

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank philandnok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcabomayor, Propietario at Hostal Cabo Mayor, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2010

Actually the client, telling the truth, we charge the amount of towels. What is not said is that the reason that we did.
In all our bathrooms, customers have two towels for the shower, two for hands, one foot and one for the bidet. The next morning there was none.
We admit customers to bring a towel by mistake or as a souvenir of their stay, but not all the towels, I think it is too much, which is why it will charge your card for the amount of towels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alessandra381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank eloisamoreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,240 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#5 of 32 in Santander
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bedoya
Hotel Bedoya
#25 of 32 in Santander
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Art Santander
Hotel Art Santander
#7 of 32 in Santander
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#9 of 32 in Santander
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Cabo Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Cabo Mayor

Address: Calle Cadiz 1, 39002 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Santander
Price Range: £38 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Cabo Mayor 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabo Mayor is designed for those seeking a pleasant place with a friendly personality.We put at your disposal rooms playing the essence of a boutique hotel in a modern guest house comfortably furnished, with care and imagination. We work to make your stay as pleasant as possible, using our own travel experience to make you feel at home. All our rooms have all the amenities needed to satisfy the most discerning guests, with comfortable beds, pristine fabrics, double glazing against noise, LCD TV, minibar, electric kettle tea/coffee maker, smoke detectors, safe, high speed internet WIFI, central heating, hair dryer, magnifying mirror and toiletries in the bathrooms...All our rooms are NON SMOKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Cabo Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing