We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value; no frills”
Review of San Glorio Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Glorio Hostal
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Stayed one night prior to catching ferry. Very clean, efficient, pretty good value (40 euros all inc) and good breakfast. 24 hour parking down the road (9 euro for motorbike). I'd use it again if I needed to stay in Santander.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
Thank Oldgsbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2009

Good value hotel. Friendly and helpful staff, spacious rooms, very clean, close to city centre and bus/train stations. The street is not the prettiest, but it's very safe.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supermellowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

we stayed at this hostal last year 2007 and had a very pleasant stay.The rooms were clean and well ordered ,the beds were clean and reasonably comfortable.The hostal is in the working class district of santander so there are not many tourists but we found that great.
Opposite the hostal is a very friendy bar ifm you have the get up and go to plunge in with tye locals, some speak english but not a lot so it is grat for testing your spanish.A long as you go in with a smile you will be fine and it stays open til after 12pm.
There is a super market just up the street and the train station is only 7 mins walk where you can rent a car or travel to Bilbao or other destinations.
All in all a nice hostal and good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank compon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

I really wanted to like this hostal, but unfortunately when I booked no one bothered to tell me about the construction noise. The streets in front of and behind the hostal are currently closed for massive building works, apparently for an underground car park. Even in my interior room, away from the street, the window vibrated in unison with the machinery in a most annoying way.

My only other complaint would be the thin walls allowing me to hear my neighbour's conversations on his mobile. Other than that, staff were friendly, the room was nicely decorated and cheerful, and the free wireless internet is a huge plus. Also, although the area's a long way from the beach, it is relatively close to the bus and rail stations, and there are two supermarkets on the same street as the hotel, which is convenient for in-room snacking. The construction works will (I hope) be finished within a couple of months and then this should be a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dominus_matthaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2007

Stayed for a long weekend at the San Gloria. The hotel is centrally located, about a 10 minute walk from the Train and Bus station. The airport bus is 1.60 Euro and runs every 30 minutes. There are 2 nearby supermarkets, the Eroski (down the street) and the Lupa (a block away).

I paid 100 Euros for 3 nights (1 person). The rate included breakfast at their nearby restaurant (pastry, Orange Juice, Coffee). I had a small room, #39, which was clean and quiet. The bathroom was small and the shower stall was only 3' x 3'. The hotel staff was very friendly, although they did not speak English.

I used Santander as a central point for my travels. One day, took a morning bus to Bilbao to see the Guggenheim musuem (evening return). There is frequent bus service and the cost was only 11.60 Euro return.

Another day, rented a car and traveled through the Picos de Europa (nearby mountain range), an incredible drive. Unfortunately, the weather was foggy at the top of the mountains, so I wasn't able to get a good view. Nonetheless, driving through the narrow gorges was absolutely amazing and well worth the time.

The city of Santander was OK, with some very nice beaches. Since this was January (and cold), the beaches were empty. The San Gloria is not convenient for the beaches, although you can reach them easily via public buses.

Overall, I was very pleased with the San Gloria hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pbaudit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2006

A place for those people on a slim budget, cheap clean twin rooms with WC and shower, no breakfast.
Check out

7  Thank mostlybytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank antoni1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,326 reviews
1.9 mi away
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
Le Petit Boutique Hotel
#1 of 32 in Santander
450 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#5 of 32 in Santander
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#9 of 32 in Santander
691 reviews
2 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
716 reviews
2 mi away
Silken Rio Hotel
Silken Rio Hotel
#17 of 32 in Santander
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Glorio Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Glorio Hostal

Address: Calle Ruiz Zorrilla 18, 39009 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Santander
Hotel Class:2 star — San Glorio Hostal 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your San Glorio Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing