We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Economy - excellent value”

Hospedaje Magallanes
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hospedaje Magallanes
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
Dartington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Economy - excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The location is central, but if you've got a car, parking is a pain (see below). The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly, and the price is excellent. What more can one say? Except that on the last morning our car wasn't where it should be (we parked where we shouldn't) and the hotel man within 5 minutes had located it at the police pound, and in 15 minutes had driven us, with our luggage, to the place where it was, and we had it back in no time (but the bill was hefty!) Now that's what I call service!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianMCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    115
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
19
115
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
112 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here for the second time this year.
This time our room was at the back of the hostal on the second floor.There was both a doble and a single bed in the room which limited room for movement.We compared it to the room in which we had previously stayed.
The staff are very obliging and everything is spotlessly clean.
We did not experience any noise whatsoever and got a good nights sleep.The bed was comfortable and there was abundant hot water.
No doubt we shall return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANACARLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Found the staff very pleasant and very helpful, rooms were small but all that we needed. They were spotless as was the bathroom. Would have scored a 10 if not for the noise - not from outside but from other guests, thought they were showering and chatting in our cupboard. No fault of the Hospedaje.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amigademaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had booked the Hospedaje Magallanes because of the good reviews and it did not disappoint us at all. Our room (#3) was of average size for Europe and absolutely spotless, the beds were again perfectly clean and comfortable, our bathroom was again spotless and perfectly functional. Both of us were very pleased with what we found. The Hospedaje Magallanes is more like a small family hotel. We had originally booked 2 nights but had to cancel the second night because of a family emergency, despite giving this news to our hosts as we wheeled out our case in the morning they insisted on giving us a full refund for the second night. I simply do not have enough good things to say about our experience.

Room Tip: #3 is 2 single beds facing the street. We slept with the window open and didn't find it noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calgarycouple976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

The Hospedaje Magallanes is in an excellent central location in the centre of Santander, five minutes walk from the bus and train stations and ten minutes to the centre of the city with attractions like the cathedral. It is very good value. It is located half way up a hill in a narrow side street so anyone with mobility issues or who would need to find parking near the hotel may find it tricky. The Hospedaje Magallanes is located in a converted apartment on the first floor of a block of flats. You access it by a set of stairs from the street level, so if you struggle to walk you need to take a stair lift (which looked out of order when I stayed) then a lift and out onto a narrow landing to get to the Hospedaje Magallanes. The door onto the street has a very sticky lock so you may need to practice opening it or have a few panics about being locked out at night as there is staff on only during the day. The local neighbourhood offers a range of bars, shops (including a supermarket) and restaurants. The room and property as a whole is spotlessly clean, with comfortable beds and in the room I stayed in had a large bathroom. There was a TV but only had Spanish channels. The staff prefer to speak Spanish from the communication I had with them, but were friendly and efficient. There is free Wifi which is useful. The Hospedaje Magallanes is a nice cool temperature in a city known for its humidity as it is tiled throughout, but that can make it noisy at night as people come in and go into their rooms so their footsteps echo a lot, not so handy if you fancy an early night. Overall though if you want a very affordable stay in the city centre of Santander I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TokyoJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Very good value hotel in Santander, nicely located. Rooms have basic furniture, recent bathrooms , everything is spotless and the staff very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a budget, decent and well situated hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucioline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Excellent place to stay just west of Santander downtown. Great value, clean, nice simple fit to the rooms - ensuite bathroom included. Helpful checkin staff get you oriented. If you are driving in to Santander, print a map, the street layout isn't simple and it's congested!

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank JustinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santander hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#14 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Silken Coliseum Hotel
#10 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Estudios Aranzazu
Estudios Aranzazu
#29 of 32 in Santander
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bedoya
Hotel Bedoya
#23 of 32 in Santander
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#5 of 32 in Santander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Magallanes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Magallanes

Property: Hospedaje Magallanes
Address: Calle Magallanes 22, 39007 Santander, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hospedaje Magallanes 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hospedaje Magallanes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing