We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh fish and seafood to enjoy!”

Restaurante Los Penucas
Ranked #28 of 635 Restaurants in Santander
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ideal for enjoying the best seafood cuisine, where quality, value and great service, coupled with the originality of our dishes, will delight the most discerning palate and surprise the most curious Restaurant. Cuisine full of flavor and sensations, which include dishes such as seafood paella, meats, fresh fish and seafood.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fresh fish and seafood to enjoy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Let advised by waiters and enjoy the seafood and fish. Clams, tunna with  onions, sardines, ... And for dessert ice cream or "leche frita" (milk puddin). It is not a refined place, but find good fish and friendly service. Ideal to go with the family, during the summer it's noisy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cova O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    230
    110
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic all the way around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We visited this restaurant after reading the reviews on trip advisor, and were not disappointed! The seafood was fresh and grilled to perfection. The service was also excellent, with the waiter even melting a bowl of butter to cater to our american tastes. :) We also had one non-seafood lover in our party - he had steak and fries, and claimed the steak was the best he had in Spain so far. That's unusual in a seafood restaurant! He also says that the fries were some of the best he's ever had anywhere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

Simple great seafood and charming staff. One of the highlights of our time in Spain.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kitamiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great simple seafood, an unusual place, but friendly and full of locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Turning down the slightly dingy one way street in the dark at 9pm, only following the sat nav's instructions, we wondered if we'd got the address wrong, but hey hoy, along came a few local style seafood restaurants. Barbeques out front, fish grilling on them, we easily found Los Penucas, it was if they'd been waiting for lost spare tourists using trip advisor.
Although the inside seating area was virtually empty when we arrived (a Sunday night) soon it was packed and buzzing with locals.
Our friendly waiter accepted we didn't know the language and helped along our way, although he didn't speak much English.
The fish soup was amazing, great depth of flavour. Mussels and a huge tuna steak too proved excellent. My kids decided, however, fish was not for them and they had the pork and veal steaks. Wow! the bbq treatment for them was great too, nice and succulent, not overcooked and tough. So don't be afraid to come here if someone in your party isn't a big seafood fan.
Deserts were good too, we tried the local fried milk and rice pudding, cheesecake of the casa too!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank izziwhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great seafood in an authentic Spanish restaurant...right on the port”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

This is what the Spanish do really well - simple restaurants with great food. A real seafood restaurant sitting right on the port alongside several other seafood restaurants, Las Peñucas is the best of them. Don't be put off by the fairly rustic look of all the restaurants, they are great food locations, most of which cook their paella or signature dish outside. Las Peñucas is reasonably priced but the food is top notch. Highly recommended are - the fish soup (sopa de pescado y marisco), seafood pate (puding de cabracho), crayfish (bogavante), monkfish (rape a la plancha) seafood platter (mariscada) and of course any good wine :). Queue in the bar at the back if you have to wait.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JMcI61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Los Penucas also viewed

 
Santander, Cantabria
Santander, Cantabria
 

Been to Restaurante Los Penucas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing