We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel”
Review of Gran Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Hotel
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Albacete
Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect hotel”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

As a frequent guest I have been spending 4 months each year at this hotel during the last 4 years. Couldn't think of a more perfect place to feel at home - except: my home. The hotel and its staff have become a second family. Perfectly located in the center of Albacete. Very competent and friendly staff - and very good-looking, too ;-).... Clean hotel. An oasis of silence in the midst of a city. Languages spoken are Spanish, English, French and German. Very flexible in adjusting to customers' needs (breakfast hours, for example). Parking garage in the hotel, but typical small size Spanish garage that will easily fit an Audi A3, but gives you a headache parking an SUV.
Did I forget anything? Thanks for being there, Gran Hotel, I love you!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the inside patio are VERY quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    65
    22
    4
    6
See reviews for
9
37
6
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel was lovely and the staff were very helpful, A perfect location within walking distance to cafe-lined streets, the charming town square, and the brisk very business district. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Albacete. The people were warm and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieWernert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartagena, Spain
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We were just passing through albacete on our road trip and just needed a comfortable overnight place to sleep without any nasty surprises, which is what we got.
A nice building in a central location, near enough to pop out and have supper or breakfast.
We found on street parking nearby as noted by another TA review.
We were well attended by reception on checkin and check out.
The room was more than adequate, it was comfortable, had AC, a pillow menu, a good TV, a complimentary minibar (that's a first) and had lots of the usual bathroom provisions.
For 50€ there was everything to smile about, and nothing to complain about.

(For light sleepers, maybe ask for a room not on the main road, as we did hear the road sweepers in the morning.)

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank janestopforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here recently and found this hotel is in a great location within Albacete. The reception staff is very friendly and rooms are of good size and clean. We were however disappointed by the breakfast offering, and have had much better in similar hotels during our holiday in Spain. Fried eggs and bacon sat cold on plates, so we asked for fresh scrambled eggs. The waitress took the plates away and came back shortly with the fried eggs heated up and scrambled up.. We were not impressed. We would stay here again but probably go out for a better breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms 215 and 216 were fine for us, but I doubt there are bad rooms at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathrin_78_Summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We arrived a day late due to a mechanical problem with our car. We had phoned the previous day to advise and the receptionist was only too happy to change our booking with no additional fee - unusual in this day and age!
We received a warm welcome and Jose was happy to make a recommendation for us to find a repair garage for the next day, Monday. We parked in a nearby garage as we have a large car for a fee of E7.50per day and the attendants there were very helpful too.
The reception is spacious and bright and comfortable
Our room was very spacious as was the bathroom. The room was lovely and clean and the bed and pillows most comfortable. We had 2 small balconies overlooking the beautifully landscaped Plaza del Altozano. As the weather was very cold for the time of year we were happy that the room was warm and comfortable.
Breakfast was served in the 1st floor salon. The buffet was excellent with fresh fruits, yogurt, cereals, pastries, eggs and tortilla, with bacon and cold cuts, all washed down with fruit juice and cafe Nero coffee! What a great start to the day.
This hotel is located in the centre of Albacete and close to everything, and for me, being close to Calle Concepcion and the Gintonerias was a bonus - especially Barocci with oh so many gins and tonics that I did not know existed - G&Ts here are an art form.
This hotel is highly recommended for its location, its friendliness and its quality.
There is only one issue - from the rooms on the front overlooking the square, you can hear the clock tower, which strikes every 15 minutes ALL through the night, so ask for a room at the back if this will disturb you!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front - 08, 09 etc overlook the gardens Rooms at the back nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariannehoyymanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airman74
Level Contributor
158 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

On a business trip for three days.
Staff were pretty friendly plus the hotel had some sweet promotions for the week. Free parking, free wifi and free "mini bar"... Sweet!
Its location is perfect as long as you can use hotel's parking.
Its price is kind of high but I guess you get what you are paying for :)
Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Great place to stay. Nice room and wonderful customer service. The staff was very friendly, good foods and the hotel is located right in the city center. No need to take Cab or transportation to get around. The Nightlife and the best restaurants are right in the corner.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albacete hotels
0.4 mi away
Los Llanos Sercotel
Los Llanos Sercotel
#4 of 15 in Albacete
137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beatriz Albacete & Spa
Beatriz Albacete & Spa
#3 of 15 in Albacete
266 reviews
1.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Albacete
B&B Hotel Albacete
#1 of 15 in Albacete
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Parador de Albacete
Parador de Albacete
#2 of 15 in Albacete
364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#12 of 15 in Albacete
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castilla
Hotel Castilla
#7 of 15 in Albacete
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel

Property: Gran Hotel
Address: Calle Marques de Molins 1, 02001 Albacete, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Albacete > Albacete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Albacete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Hotel is a historic building built in 1909. It is located in the city centre, a few meters from Plaza del Altozano, surrounded by shopping and leisure areas and business zones. The Gran Hotel de Albacete shines because of its bedrooms. It has been one of the first 4 stars hotels in Albacete. Each bedroom has top design, functionality, comfort and elegancy in Gran Hotel de Albacete. Smart deluxe.This hotel in Albacete has all the assets to make your stay unforgetable. Great views to Plaza del Altozano, green zones and gardens to have a walk, relax and forget about stress.Free Minibar, free high speed wireless internet. Room service 24hrs. Enjoy the reopening of our restaurant on the first floor. Our kitchen with Chef Emilio Ramírez includes a vaste selection of dishes from the regional tastes of La Mancha, based on popular recipes and local products, with a perfect equilibrium between classicism and innovation. Banquets, lunches, private dinners or family events will be an unforgetable experience at the Gran Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing