We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Silken Alfonso X
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ciudad Real
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Positives:
Big bed
Lots of goodies in the room and bathroom
Great Location one minute from main square
Huge balcony
Very clean
Either very new or newly rebuilt,
Very buzzy town even in October, we went from here to Toledo and found it dead by comparison.
60 Euros good value

Negatives:
PARKING! You enter a lift that is very narrow into a car park that is very difficult to maneuver in. We have Toyota Rav and struggled. I saw this mentioned in a review and laughed, thinking the reviewer couldn't drive. They were right!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lassalinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

It is a really nice hotel and the staff is very, very friendly.
You are right next to the market and everything is nearby. The downside to that is, that it often got noisy in the morning.
There is wifi that you can use in your room with your own laptop.
All the rooms are non-smoking, but they used to have rooms that were smoking rooms. We first got a room where you could still smell the cold smoke, but when I asked we got a "real" non-smoking room.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ecolastate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Despite its location, right in the centre of town, next to the City Hall, Hotel Silken Alfonso X is well below average from what one would expect. Very poor facilities, worn-out carpets, very poor breakfast service.
The only good thing was the friendly lady at Reception.

Unfortunately the hotel scene in CIudad Real is quite limited and this is "the" hotel to stay. A real shame.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rafaelstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We booked this hotel in our stop in Ciudad Real on a family trip. The location of the hotel is right next to Plaza Mayor but there is no free parking available. The hotel has underground parking for which they charge around 17 Euros which is way to expensive. You have to use a very small car elevator to access it and parking there is the worst nightmare since there are pillars everywhere.
The hotel wasn't well looked after. The elevator had broken tiles and the carpet of the corridors were disgusting. They were very dirty and full of stains. We wanted to eat at the hotel but the hotel restaurant closes during the summer. We tried to connect to the free-wifi of the hotel which didn't work, even after going to reception a couple of times. Our rooms where very dark since they were interior rooms and even though the hotel was nearly empty they didn't want to give us a front room.
In short, this is not a four-star hotel it should be a two-star.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Hotel Silken provided a quiet double room and comfortable bed with a decent bathroom which was in very good condition. The hotel itself is in a central location. Was slightly put off by small reception area and trendy and slightly aloof male staff - esp. George Michael double who checked me in. Otherwise all was in order and had a decent breakfast with lots of vegetarian options.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank Archieblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We spent two nights at the Silken Alfonso V, at the start of a three week tour of southern and eastern Spain. Though we did not arrive with high expectations, the hotel was a pleasant surprise. It is perhaps a ten minute walk from the town’s bus station, where the airport bus terminates, and right in the centre, a stone’s throw from the Plaza Mayor.

Reception greeting was warm, and remained friendly throughout our stay. The hotel entrance has an unusual, rustic stone floor which extends into the elevator (!). Our room was at the front of the hotel on an upper floor. A free local newspaper, and a wide range of toiletries, was provided. The room was clean (perhaps the carpet had seen better days), tidy and very quiet. We felt there could have been more wardrobe hangers provided, and the lack of drawer space may be a problem for some. The mattresses were very firm, and we slept well on both nights.

We ate breakfast in the hotel’s restaurant, which cost ten euro for each of us. We felt the breakfast buffet was generous and offered good value, though undoubtedly cheaper options are available in the vicinity. A criticism was that it was difficult to obtain additional hot and cold water. Evening service in the cafeteria was similarly slow, and we were left with the impression that both facilities were understaffed.

There’s relatively little to do in Ciudad Real (both the main museums were closed for refurbishment during our visit) but for a large town it’s pleasant and peaceful. Given the recent withdrawal of the Ryanair route, it’s likely that it will have fewer British visitors.

In summary, the Silken Alfonso V appeared to be a well-run, good value hotel, catering for the business traveller more than the tourist.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmcateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Great central location. No street noise in room 505 other than faint early morning church bell chiming the time.
Room details starting to show use like a stained lampshade, cigarette burn in carpet of non-smoking room but didn't negatively effect my stay. Room was immaculately clean, especially the bathroom. Loved the long pillows that stretched the width of the bed.
Bathroom freebies stylishly designed.
Receptionists were friendly.
Walk to the airport bus stop is 10 minutes or less. Walk to the train station is 15 to 20 minutes.
Had some problems with water on the final day, it went from cold to very hot multiple times. Then no hot water and it was brown like weak iced tea. But it was an incredibly hot day and it was just as siesta was ending so I suspect everyone was showering in town.
Whilst they had the usual bathroom signage about helping conserve the environment, they changed the bed linen and towels after the second night without any need.
Immediately next door to Zara. Across the street from H&M, Cortefiel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meagen_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ciudad Real hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Cecilia
Hotel Santa Cecilia
#5 of 12 in Ciudad Real
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Guadiana
Hotel Guadiana
#2 of 12 in Ciudad Real
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Ciudad Real
NH Ciudad Real
#4 of 12 in Ciudad Real
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dona Carlota
Dona Carlota
#1 of 12 in Ciudad Real
266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Parque Real
Hotel Parque Real
#3 of 12 in Ciudad Real
62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cumbria Spa & Hotel
Cumbria Spa & Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ciudad Real
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silken Alfonso X? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silken Alfonso X

Address: C/ Carlos Vazquez 8, 13001 Ciudad Real, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Ciudad Real > Ciudad Real
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ciudad Real
Price Range: £34 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Silken Alfonso X 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful 19th century building that houses the Alfonso X Hotel has kept its unique facade, in keeping with the historical centre where it is located, next to the Plaza Mayor and the Town Hall. Behind this facade in keeping with tradition is a fully refurbished interior, where the contemporary materials and lines provide an interesting contrast to offer a new level of comfort in its 66 modern rooms. The Hotel has a private garage for guests, a smokers' level, disabled-access rooms, superior rooms and an exclusive junior suite with a terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Silken Alfonso X reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silken Alfonso x Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing