We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent from start to finish”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hinderwell, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
phil h
felixstowe
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nearly.....but not quite...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Just stayed at st.hilda cottage....on arrival we were a little bit disappointed,as small points let this holiday stay down,nothing major wrong with the place,and the owners are very nice,Dave and Linda .but a few things need adding or taking away for this to be a five star accomadation .....flowers around the front and in the rear to give a nice view from the hot tub....blinds on the skylights in the bedrooms,tables next to beds on both sides,don't get me wrong,the place is decorated and equipped to a high standard,the farm has more animals than any farm I've ever seen,and great local walks,the town has a great pub called the badger hounds,a chippy,butchers,and a shop....staithes,runswick bay and Whitby all worth a visit.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and hot tub
Liked least: Outside decor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann F
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Friendly genuine welcome feels like you are visiting a friend or family member relaxed environment. Excellent breakfast well presented in a lovely dinning room no disappointments with this accommodation can't wait to return .

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Friendly
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013

4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
desborough
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steve4sar...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent accommodation and welcoming hospitality from owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Accurate directions to the property, friendly warm welcome on arrival. The cottage was clean and beautifully decorated with open plan living/ kitchen area which encouraged the family experience. Bedrooms were spacious and simply decorated with defined taste and the bathroom was large and spotless.
The working farm was wonderful to explore and our daughter loved collecting hens eggs, she was also given an ostrich egg which we brought home. The owner Dave chatted every day and ensured we had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. Hot tub was lovely, went in it every day.
The cottage location was close to the larger resorts of Whitby and Scarborough, and Dave recommended a child friendly beach which we visited twice. The North Yorks railway was close as was Flamingoland.
All in all a wonderful cottage and would visit again. Thoroughly recommended.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Egg hunting
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013

4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Phillippa...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Just back from a fabulous week at St Hilda's cottage with my husband and our staffie Snoop. Everything was great from start to finish - the owner Dave was extremely friendly and helpful and the beer from his conservatory very nice :) The cottage was warm and welcoming and very clean, hot tub perfect way to end the day after long walks. The farmyard is lovely to walk round and picking your own fresh eggs every morning a real treat!
If you get chance do have a look round the themed B&B being done next to the cottage it looks brilliant so far and will be fab once finished.
All in all a really lovely week and one we hope to repeat in the not too distant future!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$81
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing