We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing environment, very good food, but best the view of Toledo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Palacete Restaurante - CLOSED

El Palacete Restaurante
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing environment, very good food, but best the view of Toledo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This old palace shows the historical plurality of Toledo, being first a moor palaced, then owned by christian nobility. But in the top floor we found the breathtaking view of Toledo and its Alcázar, even better in the night. Food was very good too and service very nice. If I go back to Toledo I will repeat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    12
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Not just a restaurant - an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My friends and I just chanced upon El Palacete after walking for hours up & down steep hills in the narrow Toledo streets. We were tired and hungry and El Palacete was just there when we needed it. The food was delicious and the host was charming and entertaining. The building has its origins in Roman times, the ambience is great - food and wine to die for! Our best meal in Spain.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonava, Lithuania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Romantic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We were walking around Toledo and came in the restaurant by chance - the owner invited us to evaluate the architecture of the building. We appreciated - and stayed for lunch. First the building. It overlaps and mixes some eras and styles. Elements and fragments from the Romanesque to the Arab carefully integrated into the interior. The central part of the room is a bright atrium, the impression is that you are in ancient Rome.
The owner has created for us a homely atmosphere and we did not want to leave. The service was beyond praise. Quality of food and dessert was great. Price was quite reasonable.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VladimirBoldyrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Memorable dinner in Toledo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were traveling on an extended family vacation - 20 of us including 7 children. The manager of this restaurant offered to open the restaurant especially for us. He offered a set menu with 3 choices for main course, wines deserts, everything. The food was excellent - from great starters to the main courses - I had steak like no other. The local wines, secreted for us. were also a great with the food. Service was impeccable and the owner made us feel at home - as if we were in our own dining room. The children, given their own table, were also treated perfectly. The evening ended with a toast of champagne! All in all a truly memorable evening - the best the family had in a a two week trip in Spain and something we will cherish for a long time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy3139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The single worst dining experience in Spain so far”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Well, the place looks stunning. This is a well preserved old mansion with a view to die for. Regretfully, the food and service were rather abysmal. Despite just three tables being occupied, the service was painfully slow. We have started with quite good aged cheese served with bread, garlic and honey. It all went downhill from there. The salmorejo soup, usually a fragrant, thick and velvety cream of tomato, was watery and lacked any flavor. The "Pulpo", grilled bits of octopus with scalloped potato, were very greasy and once again flavorless. The "Cecina", thin slices of smoked aged veal, were stale and sligtly off; I believe they were pre-cut and kept without vacuum. The waiter has declined to accept a credit card payment "because it's so expensive for the restaurant, you know", despite a VISA logo displayed at the door.

All in all, 72 Euros and almost ninety minutes that could have been spent much, much better. I recommend to steer clear.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Varlajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Palacete Restaurante also viewed

Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing