We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't ruin your vacation”
Review of Hotel Alfonso VI

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alfonso VI
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Kansas City
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Won't ruin your vacation”
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Alfonso VI is just fine. Fantastic location almost touching the Alcazar. The hotel also has good food. That being said, it's a little like getting stuck at the Elks Lodge during a weekend long Shriner's convention. You'll be the only one there who didn't arrive by tour bus and the downstairs is dominated by what can best be described as a medieval Denny's. But as I say, this hotel will neither make or break your time in Toledo. It's just fine and the location is worth all the rest.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BB in KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    181
    132
    55
    38
See reviews for
134
208
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We're just home from a visit to Toledo - the most fabulous city with layer upon layer of history and culture. Alfonso VI is located on the highest point of the city, right next to the Alcazar with shops, restaurants, public transport all on the doorstep. It was spotlessly clean and the food was really good (breakfasts were ok, and the one dinner we ate there was very good). The room decor was typically Castillian - rather heavy and dark in appearance, which suited the ambience. The decor of the lounge, breakfast room and dining room all appeared rather tired and dated to the extent that they were almost endearingly kitsch! We had a very quiet room at the back of the hotel and slept really well, though fellow travellers found rooms at the front extremely noisy at the weekend. The desk staff were charming and couldn't have been more helpful; other staff were pleasant and courteous. Having said all this, I don't really think it justified four stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minycwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

My wife and myself were given two nights at the Alfonso as a Christmas present and having read some of the previous reviews, we wondered what to expect! The staff were friendly enough when we arrived and a room was ready for us although one thing which was lacking at check-in was the provision of useful information such as when and where breakfast was served, at what time the room had to be vacated, etc..! The room itself was clean, the beds comfortable, the view from the patio great; only complaint was the dreadful smell coming from the drains in the bathroom and again, a lack of information. Toledo definitely seems to be geared up for the tourist trade; it seemed that every other person on the street had a map in their hand! There are plenty of things to see and the Alfonso provides an adequate base in a central location. As we were not paying the bill, I am unable to comment on its value for money but more than three stars??? Don´t think so!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_Incensed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Large hotel in excellent location - particularly for a quick stay. The bus from the train station is a block away as well as the main square with the information center.
Great buffet breakfast, very nice staff and comfortable bed.
Only drawback was the 12 euro fee per day for wifi access and perhaps not in the center of the action - if you are looking for that. But probably quieter as a result.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2008

We had 2 rooms adjoining across a lovely patio with a view of the beautiful roofs of Toledo. We, the parents, had a room with a bathroom that had a smell coming from a floor drain that was almost nauseating. Had it not been for the view, we would have moved hotels. The patio was so lovely we got a picnic lunch one day and ate up there. We had to pay for internet service which was the first and only time in Spain we did not find it for free. The guests in the next room came in late one night and it sounded like their TV was right in our room. Very unsettling. In other cities I had booked hotels thru Inns of Spain and found the hotels to be absolutely lovely, quiet, minibars in every room, big towels, free internet service, very helpful staff. Also, at Alfonso, they required us to eat the hotel breakfast which we had not been doing at other hotels nor did we want to have such a big breakfast for quite an expense. We found the experience not up to what our other experiences had been in Spain and the price was about the same at the other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chucktowntraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Toledo hotels

eastbourne, england
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2007

what can I say, staff were clearly tired, as was the hotel, however the room was very nice, with a great view over the town, we slept well, but arrriving at breakfast at 9o/c it looked like a plague of locusts had beaten us to it. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ardy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland or
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2007

By the time we arrived in Toledo we had been robbed twice(once in the Barcelona train station, and again on the Madrid metro-lambs to the slaughter!). Then, the second day in Toledo I twisted my ankle. The Alfonso VI was the perfect place to lick our wounds. We were determined not to allow our trip to be spoiled, and were very glad to have such a comfortable room to rest and regroup in. We had a wonderful view from our balcony and were able to gather strength and energy to enjoy the rest of our vacation. It is true that the staff was kind of grumpy, but they were also elegant and sort of old fashoned. It was like a hotel from another time-very relaxing and easy to be in. I am only sorry that the room was painted a sort of toothpaste green-who knows why these things happen.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnePortlandOr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.4 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
0.1 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 44 in Toledo
941 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#3 of 44 in Toledo
1,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Domus Plaza Zocodover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alfonso VI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfonso VI

Property: Hotel Alfonso VI
Address: Cuesta Capuchinos 2, 45001 Toledo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alfonso VI 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alfonso VI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfonso Vi Hotel
Alfonso Vi Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing