We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2011

This nice hotel is located in the quiet part of the old city just perfect for your stay. It is a walking distance from all places. If you travel by car it easy to arrive and there is a parking lot adjacent to hotel. Just call ahead and reserve a place. The rooms are nice. We got a new room with a nice view to the back a quiet street. Breakfast is included and is rich and great and the breakfast area is nice. The hotel staff are nice and very helpful. I would go back there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iris2265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    363
    101
    40
    30
See reviews for
184
508
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

This hotel could be excellent if the people at the front desk had even the barest of training or courtesy.

My husband and I have traveled all over the world, and stayed in places like China, Uzbekistan, Bolivia etc, but never have we had such horrible, uncaring service. When we were given our rooms, there was no water. Soon the air conditioner stopped working. The bath tub had hair in the tub. The water was yellow from unuse.

Of all of these, the air was the worst - we asked repeatedly if it could be switched on, and each time the staff said they world look for this, and did not. They left no messages for each other, so when we inquired later, we had to explain this basic thing each time. In most cases, the person would be either entirely unwilling to check, or refuse to acknowledge that there was a problem. Eventually we slept with all the windows opened, but were awakened multiple times from the noise. The staff was cold, uncaring and generally pretty awful and untrained. they should never be in hospitality.

This could have been a good hotel - a nice location in Toledo in a nice neighborhood. But I would not send my worst enemy here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 95minna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

The room was stuffy and airless and the aircon woefully inadequate (even for April); opening the windows not an option because of noise. The free WiFi was pointless as it does not work with apple mac's or most smartphones (only systems using microsoft internet explorer apparantly). The satalitte TV had no international channels, thereby making that also pointless unless you speak Spanish. With the exception of the breakfast team, the staff were indifferent. The location is about the only thing going for it. Over-rated and over-priced. You can do a lot better in Toledo!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gar1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Incredible value for an outstanding yet small hotel. From the moment we arrived and welcomed by the charming, friendly and extremely helpful receptionist Natalia - El Greco continued to impress. Parking is immediately opposite the hotel and at €14 a day not expensive for a city centre. The WOW factor continued as we were taken to our room (109) through the beautifully & creatively renovated halls, dining room and galleried landings. The room was spacious and more of a junior suite. We couldn't believe our luck. As we would be doing a lot of site seeing we decided that breakfast at €10 was worth it, and again we were not disappointed. The range and quantity of hot & cold food was much more than we expected and certainly better than more expensive hotels we've used in the past. This really is a little gem of an hotel and so close to everything you want to see in Toledo. Don't worry about no lunch or dinner service, the staff will tell you where to get the best quality/price meals in the best restaurants and tapas bars in Toledo - so why would you eat in the hotel even if you could?

Room Tip: Room 109
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luc-Philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Stayed here for four days in February, it was an excellent visit.
The staffs were efficient and courteous at all times and although we had booked a standard room this had been upgraded to superior on our arrival so we had spacious accommodation but other guest we spoke to were very pleased with their stay.
The hotel is kept very clean and is nicely designed and decorated, fitting in well with the old town.

The location, on the edge of the old town is excellent, as the old city of Toledo is small and we could easily walk to all the main sites of interest e.g. the cathedral and main square are only 10-15 minutes stroll away, although the streets are steep and might perhaps be a problem for people who are not so mobile.

We did have the buffet breakfast a couple of times which is ok at 10 Euros if you want a full fry up + toast + several cups of juice and coffee, but we found we could get excellent continental breakfast with coffee and juice for four Euros a few streets away.

If we go back to Toledo we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manchestertrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, Ca, USA
Level Contributor
454 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

PROS: nice location inside old city walls - easy to drive to using gps. - historic building converted rather nicely into a modern hotel, retaining many of the original bulding's charms - secure underground parking (at an additional fee) - staff was courteous and helpful to us

OK: breakfast buffet reasonable, one free computer for use - often busy,

CONS: even our "superior/deluxe" room was not that spacious - don't know how confined the regular rooms are - air conditioning was turned off for the season and it was a nice day, so the room got very hot and stuffy - needed to open the window, but quite a lot of foot (and some car) traffic, especially later in the night - needed ear plugs for the noise.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Right from the start the hotel staff gave off an indifferent - if not downright bothered - vibe. The fact that the internet was non-functioning did not merit any sort of apology but simply a rather brusque (eventual) fix (and was exactly the same in the morning when the same problem cropped up; incidentally, the internet was also inadequate for our basic purposes of searching for hotels in another city the following night).

While rooms in pictures on the website appeared to be full of charm and character, rooms in the hotel were somewhat generic and cold, both in character and natural temperature. They were ok, nice even, but certainly nothing special or remarkable in any way.

The real problem occurred in the morning. We had a disagreement with staff and were treated abysmally. Far from needing to be told we were right, we were simply looking to discuss the problem and ensure that the misunderstanding would not happen to anyone in the future. Instead, we were alternately ignored and smugly dismissed. While we were speaking to desk staff, one attendant went so far as to make a point of turning to her computer and proceeding to carry on with what appeared to be her personal affairs, indicating that she was finished discussing the matter with us. The lack of basic tact and customer service skill was insulting and ludicrous for a hotel that has pretensions to being a four-star (yeah, right (service aside)).

Don't stay here and reward this kind of attitude. I am sure there are nicer hotels (and incidentally, they may come with a better location). Revisit when they take some lessons in basic customer (and human) courtesy. This hotel couldn't care less.

Finally, the breakfast buffet was a bit of a sorry excuse. While Spain is very 'pork heavy' there were almost no non-continental options without the meat (making things difficult for vegetarians and anyone who doesn't eat or like pork), and scrambled eggs had a grim-at-best look to them. With so many excellent bakeries surrounding the hotel, it was a wonder that the baked goods were so mediocre.

The biggest disappointment of our trip, and one of my first big letdowns with listening to TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
1.7 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
0.4 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parador de Toledo
Parador de Toledo
#2 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#3 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Toledo
NH Toledo
#6 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco

Property: Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
Address: Calle Alamillos del Transito 13, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Toledo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
#8 Family Hotel in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pintor El Greco Sercotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing