We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel. Great View from top floor”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carlos V Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carlos V Hotel
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel. Great View from top floor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Toledo is a must for any visitor to Spain, and this hotel would be a good choice for those staying a few days. In addition to an excellent location in the center of town, where everything is within walking distance, the hotel staff was exceptional in their service. They were very pleasant and efficient and gladly kept our luggage for several hours after checking out. The room was very comfortable, and had a great view of the Cathedral. Everything was in working order, and the mattress was very comfortable, and those who have traveled Spain know that this can be a problem. The hotel also has a top floor outdoor lounge that has reasonably priced refreshments, and the view is spectacular. There is also an option to include a breakfast buffet in your room rate.

Gary

Room Tip: Get the superior rooms, and also include the breakfast, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmoney1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    412
    165
    30
    11
See reviews for
201
460
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
222 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Hotel Carlos V was a great option for us. The room (interior looking into an air shaft) was pretty good, spacious enough for two. The bathroom was a little dated, but clean and in perfect working order.

We found the staff very helpful. Check-in/out and all inquiries in-between were handled in a friendly, professional manner. The included breakfast was okay; offering the usual hotel breakfast buffet fare. Free WIFI worked well.

The location is couldn’t be more convenient. Located next to Alcázar Fortress and Toledo’s Cathedral. Zocodover Plaza is also nearby and has many dining options.

Parking is a bit of a hike; hotel guests are given a discount at a lot about 200 meters away.

Contact Hotel Carlos V prior to arrival and get instructions for access through the barrier so you can drop your bags at the front door.

Room Tip: Get a view room if you typically spend a lot of time there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

There are so many nice hotels in Toledo and the choice is hard... but I chose well! The hotel has a central location right next to the Alcazar and we were lucky enough to find free parking (it's not a myth...there is free parking in Toledo) not too far from the hotel ( you can punch in these coordinates in google maps to see where that is: 39.858797,-4.01893) ... because parking isn't cheap in Toledo, well nothing is cheap in Toledo come to think of it... So, let's get back to the hotel review. Our room was very nice and clean but it was a bit outdated... (the toilet & bidet were pink) and we unfortunately had a window with a view on three other windows and the inner garden (concrete with a plant). The beds were very comfortable and there is even a safe in the room. The included breakfast was great and the rooftop terrace has amazing views of the city!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oana-and-Vince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Carlos V to see Toledo. The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of the old town and ideal for visiting Toledo as you walk straight out into everything and can easily go back to the hotel for a rest before setting out again in the evening. One of the best features was the rootfop terrace bar (which is actually run independently of the hotel) but was a wonderful place to sit with a drink and watch the sunset over Toledo.
We had a corner room, which meant there was no noise from other guests passing to go to their rooms, and a small balcony with a cathedral view. The room was small but comfortable and clean.
The aircon was actually a fan blowing air around, but we had a good night's sleep and the view was great.
Breakfast was adequate but not great. The choice was limited and coffee was from a machine rather than freshly brewed and served at your table. It would have been nice to have some fresh fruit cut up in bowls, rather than tinned, although whole apples, oranges etc were available. No cooked or hot food was available.
Breakfast aside, this hotel's strengths are its great location and views from the rooftop and rooms.
On arrival at the station, we walked to the hotel with our suitcases but I definitely wouldn't recommend this as the approach to the town is up many steps and steep slopes! Treat yourself and take a taxi.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenKent10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

I was there with my wife on 2012 April. The hotel position (just near the Alcazar, not far from Cathedral and other attractive places) is excellent. From my opinion, the room (looking to the west, as I remember, on the 2-nd floor, may be 3-rd) contained all I need to stay, and with the excellent view. I'm a smoking person, and the position of the smoking place on the roof with the attractive view to the middle age town, see photos, north and south directions are attractive as well.

Room Tip: View from the rooms, looking to the West, particularly on the top floors, is excellent. Avoid rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank logevgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We had a superb experience at Carlos V Hotel. Looking over other reviews of this hotel, it apparently made a big difference that we booked a "premium" room on the third floor, which we found to be very reasonably priced. We had a corner room that was spacious by European standards, beautifully decorated and with double glass doors off both the bedroom and bath that opened up to wonderful views. The dining room where the breakfast included with our room rate was served was impressively decorated.
Most impressive of all, however, was the service. We must have enountered 4 or 5 different staff members at the front desk in the two days we were in Toledo and everyone of them was exceptionally friendly, helpful and accomodating. We decided to stop by the lovely rooftop bar area close to the 1:00am closing time and found we were the only ones there other than three staff members - two young women behind the bar and a man in the lounge area. When we asked them if it would be acceptable for us to take our drink glasses to our room, they told us that would be fine, but intently assured us that there was no rush and that we were welcome to remain on the rooftop as long as we cared to and that they would be happy to remain there with us as long as we liked. In brief, we found a level of attentiveness and cordiality of the service provided by every staff member to be at a level that is seldom found even at the finest 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Premium rooms on the third or fourth floor are well worth the slightly higher price; if possible, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripperToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire. UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed 2 nights after reading Tripadvisor reviews. We found this hotel to be excellent. If you want to see Toledo you have to stay within the walls. The approach to the hotel is an interesting walk from the nearby public underground car park. Cost is reduced by 25% when staying at the hotel, to about 13€ a night. It seemed to be a safe place to leave the car for a couple of days.
The reception was good and the room outstanding. Since the hotel is in the densely packed historic City, views are at a premium and its worth asking for one. You get a view over the roof tops to Cathedral Spires, from the upper floors.
Breakfast was good and served in a lovely Moorish style area, with lots of atmosphere.
The room decor is modern and based on white, grey and black drapes and furnishings. We liked it a lot for its modern simple well designed looks.
Only quibble is the lack of a bar or Tapas house next door or nearby. You have to walk into the centre, although its not far at all.
Reception gave us the names of local tapas bars that were outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandMandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.4 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
1.7 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#4 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Domus Plaza Zocodover
0.6 mi away
Parador de Toledo
Parador de Toledo
#2 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlos V Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlos V Hotel

Property: Carlos V Hotel
Address: Plaza Magdalena No 4, 45001 Toledo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Toledo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
#9 Family Hotel in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlos V Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlos V Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlos v Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing