We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Carlos V Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Eurico Hotel(Toledo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Sol(Toledo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    View Hotel
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (1,057)
    Filter reviews
    1,057 results
    Traveller rating
    357
    472
    181
    33
    14
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    357
    472
    181
    33
    14
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsrooftop bargreat locationmoorish stylebreakfast room isnice hotelold towncentrally located hotelgreat breakfast buffethistorical sitesthe air conditioningfourth floorzocodover plazarecommend this hotel to anyonecorner roomvisiting toledoleave the carwonderful city
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    197 - 202 of 1,057 reviews
    Reviewed 12 July 2013

    My 17 year old son and I were here in mid June on our 6th two week European summer vacation. I booked this place over the internet based on reviews here. I was not disappointed. The hotel is not on any main street. It is tucked away on a side street about 100-150 meters from the Zocodover. Therefore, it is generally quiet and convenient (5 minute walk to the Zocodover, 10 minutes to the cathedral). We did get some noise from partying Spaniards but that is not the responsibility of the hotel.
    Walking into the hotel you are met with a marble lobby and a friendly face at reception. Check in was very efficient. The young lady behind the counter was very pleasant and eager to help. She practiced her english and tolerated my butchering of the spanish language. The rest of the staff we encountered during our stay were the same with restaurant, tapas bar and marazipan shop recommendations. BTW, stay away from the restaurant directly across the street from Santo Tome marzipan store in the Zocodover. Their paella (I had the seafood one) is NOTHING like the picture in the menu. This place was NOT one recommended by the hotel staff. We did it to ourselves.
    The room was a little larger than average european size. It was well appointed with a free safe that could handle a lap top. The tv and air conditioning functioned well and without a hitch. The bathroom was modern and large with a tub/shower combination. The cleaning staff did a good job. When we left the "Do not disturb" sign on the door in order for my son to get some extra sleep, they slid a note under the door saying that we should contact the desk if we had any needs.
    The breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, dry cereals, breads and pastry, meat and cheeses, coffee. tea and juices.
    I was very pleased with our stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone who asked without reservation.

    • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank curious066
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 July 2013

    This hotel is not ritzy in any way, but nevertheless it has a lot going for it. It is well located, staff are helpful and the rooms have been thoughtfully presented, albeit a bit on the small side. I was especially impressed by the cleanliness. The bathroom is really quite good for a three star with a great shower

    • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank orgia
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 July 2013

    Toledo is a popular tourist destination especially at the Festival of Corpus Christi. So driving into the centre of the City--at the best of times--is a challenge; driving into the centre during a festival required the good graces of a local police officer who eventually led the way.
    Carlos V hotel is very conveniently located although remember that in Toledo most of the time you are either walking up hill or down hill. The hotel is tucked away off a small square near the Alcazar and, indeed, close to the main city square (Plaza Mejor). We had a good rate for the room which probbly explains why we were in a room at the back or along one side of the hotel--we were able to look directly into the windows of another hotel acoss a narrow passageway like street. Room was small but adequate and air conditioning worked--more or less!, Staff is helpful and friendly--always with a smile. Parking, discounted rate, about 2 blocks away in a private parking garage. Breakfast is abundant and diverse and in a downstairs room decorated in old Moorish style--quite attractive. We would recommend the hotel for its convenience--walking distance to most of central Toledo; fine staff; and hearty breakfast. Rooms may be small but who stays long in them anyway in a City like Toledo?

    Room Tip: Perhaps Paying a bit more might find you a room that overlooks the City.
    • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank NamutKwu
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 June 2013

    Just returned from a 2 day stay here with friends. First of all, the rooftop terrace. What can I say other than WOW. It was just a shame the weather was not a little warmer although we did visit in June. The views from here are amazing and i will never forget them, ever.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast included in the price was wonderful. the dining room decor looked like it had been set out for a wedding. Simply stunning.

    The location was perfect for us, just 5 mins from Plaza Zocodover and on the doorstep of the magnificent Alcázar.

    The only slight disappointment was on the size of the single room. Don't get me wrong, it was big enough and bigger than others i have stayed in and it had a 3/4 sinze bed. I asked for city views though and although did have a window, there was not much of a view and no balcony. having said that though, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone for the terrace alone.

    • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank HappyTrav1967
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 17 June 2013

    Stayed at the hotel for 7 nights with Travel Dept,in a group.The hotel is said to be the oldest in Toledo and is full of character,nicely refurbished and with a good location near the highest and oldest part of town.
    The staff are excellent and the hotel spotless,we had two niggles,as did the rest of the group .We had an evening meal each night and although of reasonable quality we had no choices on any course which was difficult for some.Having said that the hotel has multiple eating places within 2minutes walk and as a group we probably got what the company paid for,I should add we got free wine with the meal which was excellent .Breakfast was a buffet and fine
    Many had sleeping problems,because of the bar on the top floor and the bar and a restaurant next door and the Explorers Club opposite.
    This is not a problem if you party till the early hours and its a good place for this.
    Overall very enjoyable stay.

    Room Tip: The 4th floor can be noisey because of the bar above
    • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Davdor_13
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews