We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be Aware of the A/C Interlock!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlos V Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carlos V Hotel
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Be Aware of the A/C Interlock!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed two nights in room 314 starting Sat. 17 May.
The good: nice size room facing the cathedral and Alcazar (see photos), nice sunsets, adequate storage space with room safe, two night stands and a small desk, nice bathroom with Jacuzzi, roll down window shutters block light and any noise, A/C and secure WiFi worked fine, extra large towels, receptionist staff were helpful. Terrific breakfast buffet in large attractive dinning room with Moorish decor: various cereals, pears, peaches, fruit cocktail, lemon, chocolate and plum cakes, hard boiled eggs, various breads, croissants, butter & jam, jamon, 2 salamis, yoghurt, flan, churros & chocolate, coffee/cappuccino/latte machine, OJ & pineapple juice – our best breakfast in Spain! We paid €99 for Sat. and €68 for our Sunday night stays.
The bad: no one mentioned that the A/C will not turn on if the balcony door is open. We spent a difficult humid night because we were not aware of this interlock feature. On the 3rd floor views are slightly obstructed.
Tips: From the train station we took the bus into town. As you exit the station building, head to the right of the parking lot and onto the main street where you will find the bus stop. Take the frequent #5 or #6 bus, about €1, and get off at Plaza de Zocodover. The bus stop is on Cuesta Carlos V. The simplest way to the hotel is to walk up the hill on the right side of Cuesta Carlos V for about 270 feet until you see a blue taxi sign on the left. At that point, turn into the alleyway on your right and go about 90 feet through the small parking lot area until you see the hotel entrance on your left.
Ask for a room with a view of the cathedral and Alcazar. The 4th floor might have better views but may be noisy, see other reviews. Take time to visit the 5th floor terrace bar for views of Toledo. Be sure to close the balcony door so the A/C functions!

Room Tip: Be sure to close the balcony door so the A/C functions! Ask for a room with a view of the cathedral...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnAnnColumbia_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    406
    165
    30
    10
See reviews for
198
455
31
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Friendly desk staff, clean though typical european small rooms and not great a/c, and an ok breakfast - and while yes, the location is GREAT, the best part was the Terrace with a fantastic view of the city and a friendly bar set up to watch the sunset every night, It was worth staying there for the view.
Taxi ride from downtown Madrid was 50 euros, and with four of us sharing the ride, it was definitely a much better way and better deal than to try and lug all your luggage up to the top of the hill that the Carlos sits on.

Room Tip: 4th floor or higher room with view of the Cathedral are worth it if you can get a decent price, othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRQ-BOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
385 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We rate this property Good - not Very Good and not Average. This hotel property is in a great location, easy walking everywhere - very close to the the Zocodover Plaza and under the Alcazar. Carlos V is not a very big property, but has a spacious sitting area around the reception as well as a big dining area on the bottom floor where breakfast is served.

We found our room #416 to be adequate in size for two, clean, white and bright. The bed and bedding was comfortable as was the air conditioner. The view out of the room was very pleasant - it was fun to watch and hear the birds swirl by. The bathroom facilities were good - the shower has a tight glass that closes, so there were no spills. Toiletries were DISMAL - no shampoo and such - just two bottles of some cologne, tiny soap and tissues - so, be sure to bring all of your own things. The room had a safe and good enough closet and drawers plus a mini bar just with water and a couple of bottles of juice. Bottom line, room was minimal for the price paid - definitely overpriced.

There is an upstairs outside terrace bar on the 5th floor. This bar is SEPARATE BUSINESS from the hotel and popular for non guests to visit because of the great view and comfort of sitting areas atop. It is also used for private functions, such as one while we stayed here. Access to the bar is THROUGH GUEST AREAS and a staircase (no elevator). The noise and movement of furniture and such was constant and very uncomfortable into late hours. We stayed 3 nights and each night was noisy. The hotel needs to consider another option for access and cushioning. Therefore, we really recommend that no one stay on the 4th floor and certainly on the side where rooms 410 - 420 are located. Be aware that the hotel is located very close to the Cathedral as well, so you do hear the bells on the hour, quarter, half and thirds. This is subjectively charming, but not heard so much while the air conditioner is on.

Breakfast was adequate - nothing special - no hot items, but in a pretty mudejar setting. The access to food items is narrow and got quite crowded, so it would be nice to have the food placed in a wider area.

Reception was quick and efficient. Staff was cordial. We paid in advance to get a better rate and do not feel this made a difference in service, but for the noise on the 5th floor terrace, the hotel should consider lowering their rates on that floor. Rates should be lower anyway for what is offered in the room.

There are several YouTube videos on the hotel - check this one out:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LoGhpWfT1yU

Room Tip: Do not reserve a room on the 4th floor and be sure to request that you not be placed in front on any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank habaneros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
189 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile


Follow the you tube video if driving by car and you will not get lost. Hotel located about 50yds from the alkhasar. Ideally located for walking around the city. Pleasant welcome by reception. Room 401 pleasant size. Other than the odd slamming of room doors we were not disturbed.  Missing some of the normal toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. Do try the roof bar for views of the city  at night.
Great continental breakfast served in arabesque surroundings.
Worth staying here for the convenience of its location.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel is really well located and if you're reasonably fit, the whole of Toledo is within walking distance. Room and bathroom were clean and we were fortunate to have a view from the 4th floor over the old town which was very special. (4th floor is the top floor - there is a roof top bar on the 5th floor which could be a bit noisy). Breakfast was very good with food well presented and good quality. Staff were polite and friendly. The buses from the station run to Plaza Zocodover in the centre of Toledo, and the hotel is about 150m from the bus stop (don't be tempted to drag your suitcase up from the station - the bus costs a couple of Euro's and is well worth it - the hill is long and steep). Didn't quite hit excellent because the air conditioning wasn't effective (which was probably just our room), but otherwise a very good hotel. Being conscious of other peoples comments, the hotel was busy when we were there but we were not aware of any noise from neighbouring rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Euroamer1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Location, location and once more location. If you stay ať Carlos, you are in the middle of business. To get there and parking might be slightly more complicated, but, c`mon, get navigation. The substance is of quality. Even superstars from the 50 and 60 were here seen. Building itself, service and basic accomodation is great. The devil sleeps in detail. Plastic cups in bathroom? Yes, its ***, but for rackprice 200€. Some cracks in bathroom are acceptable, but no shampoo and shower gel is not. AC was a bit noisy as well. Bed quality as expected - pretty OK. Breakfast about average, just the place, where is it served is fantastic. Marble in perfect maorian style, beautiful arches; and than you discover, one third of the marble is fiberglass. Now the good things. Plenty of fantastic tapas bars and good restaurants. Friendly and helpfull staff. And the reason for existence: THE TERRACE. It blow you away. The view, with Alcazar behind you and entire Toledo just a feet far away, glas of Rioja in your hand. If you get it at reasonable deal - go for it without thinking. Thats the point - standard prices about 150 € for double is simply too much for its standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdalbertMonticelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a nice hotel in a great convenient location. The rooms seems to have been renovated not so long ago, and so quite modern. We had a double room with 2 bathrooms, which was a good surprise that we did not have to fight to use the bathroom! The downside was that the room was in front of the elevator, so it can get pretty noisy. The hotel seems to be popular with tour groups.

The breakfast is good and plentiful, though better to go down after the tour groups have left, otherwise can get pretty crowded.

If possible, go up to the roof top for a nice view of the town.

Parking is about 200 metres from the hotel. If you do have a car and plan to offload your bag at the hotel first, look on their website as they have a video (in Spanish) of how to access the hotel past the bollard. We parked at the first parking lot after coming out of the hotel. But beware as you need to leave the car key with them. We were pretty sure we had almost half-a-tank of gas left, but when we drove out, there was only about a quarter left (we are planning to return the rental car the next day in Madrid, so we were thinking whether we would need to fill up or not). But of course, we had no proof. We left a locked bag in there, but that did not seem to be touched.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripHunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
1.7 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pintor El Greco Sercotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#3 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Domus Plaza Zocodover
0.6 mi away
Parador de Toledo
Parador de Toledo
#2 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlos V Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlos V Hotel

Property: Carlos V Hotel
Address: Plaza Magdalena No 4, 45001 Toledo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Toledo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
#9 Family Hotel in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlos V Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Carlos V Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlos v Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing