We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss Terrace View”
Review of Carlos V Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Carlos V Hotel
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Terrace View”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The view off the terrace is so romantic. Don't miss it even if you are just visiting the hotel for a drink in the terrace bar. The staff are very friendly. Rooms nicely decorated. Single rooms are a great value with double beds only I had no minibar/fridge. Bathroom has extra jets that I had not seen before. Sound was noisy though in my room off the elevator. Someone banged into it in the middle of the night. Breakfast was an expanded continental and was very good. The location is great. You need to understand that this is towards the top of the town. The hotels nearer the gate have a huge walk up the hill. I would love to return to Toledo, and I would definitely choose Carlos V as my hotel of choice here. Thank you for a lovely time, and I met some wonderful people at your hotel.

Room Tip: Great for middle-age or senior solo travellers as has a classy terrace bar frequented by quality loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhiannon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    424
    166
    31
    11
See reviews for
212
475
34
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Toledo is a charming city and this hotel is in good location its terrace a gem the view is perfect, nice music, great mojitos. The room was clean a bit small but with a nice view the air conditioning noisy, but it wasn't needed during the night.There was only shower gel in the bathroom, cologne and handkerchiefs. Staff was very friendly.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Maoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Really good breakfast with a lot of variety, including lots of fresh fruit. Good hotel price and location. It is walking distance to the cathedral. Patio has an excellent view of the city at night. Great places to eat in the surrounding neighborhood.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed two nights in room 314 starting Sat. 17 May.
The good: nice size room facing the cathedral and Alcazar (see photos), nice sunsets, adequate storage space with room safe, two night stands and a small desk, nice bathroom with Jacuzzi, roll down window shutters block light and any noise, A/C and secure WiFi worked fine, extra large towels, receptionist staff were helpful. Terrific breakfast buffet in large attractive dinning room with Moorish decor: various cereals, pears, peaches, fruit cocktail, lemon, chocolate and plum cakes, hard boiled eggs, various breads, croissants, butter & jam, jamon, 2 salamis, yoghurt, flan, churros & chocolate, coffee/cappuccino/latte machine, OJ & pineapple juice – our best breakfast in Spain! We paid €99 for Sat. and €68 for our Sunday night stays.
The bad: no one mentioned that the A/C will not turn on if the balcony door is open. We spent a difficult humid night because we were not aware of this interlock feature. On the 3rd floor views are slightly obstructed.
Tips: From the train station we took the bus into town. As you exit the station building, head to the right of the parking lot and onto the main street where you will find the bus stop. Take the frequent #5 or #6 bus, about €1, and get off at Plaza de Zocodover. The bus stop is on Cuesta Carlos V. The simplest way to the hotel is to walk up the hill on the right side of Cuesta Carlos V for about 270 feet until you see a blue taxi sign on the left. At that point, turn into the alleyway on your right and go about 90 feet through the small parking lot area until you see the hotel entrance on your left.
Ask for a room with a view of the cathedral and Alcazar. The 4th floor might have better views but may be noisy, see other reviews. Take time to visit the 5th floor terrace bar for views of Toledo. Be sure to close the balcony door so the A/C functions!

Room Tip: Be sure to close the balcony door so the A/C functions! Ask for a room with a view of the cathedral...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnAnnColumbia_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Friendly desk staff, clean though typical european small rooms and not great a/c, and an ok breakfast - and while yes, the location is GREAT, the best part was the Terrace with a fantastic view of the city and a friendly bar set up to watch the sunset every night, It was worth staying there for the view.
Taxi ride from downtown Madrid was 50 euros, and with four of us sharing the ride, it was definitely a much better way and better deal than to try and lug all your luggage up to the top of the hill that the Carlos sits on.

Room Tip: 4th floor or higher room with view of the Cathedral are worth it if you can get a decent price, othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRQ-BOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We rate this property Good - not Very Good and not Average. This hotel property is in a great location, easy walking everywhere - very close to the the Zocodover Plaza and under the Alcazar. Carlos V is not a very big property, but has a spacious sitting area around the reception as well as a big dining area on the bottom floor where breakfast is served.

We found our room #416 to be adequate in size for two, clean, white and bright. The bed and bedding was comfortable as was the air conditioner. The view out of the room was very pleasant - it was fun to watch and hear the birds swirl by. The bathroom facilities were good - the shower has a tight glass that closes, so there were no spills. Toiletries were DISMAL - no shampoo and such - just two bottles of some cologne, tiny soap and tissues - so, be sure to bring all of your own things. The room had a safe and good enough closet and drawers plus a mini bar just with water and a couple of bottles of juice. Bottom line, room was minimal for the price paid - definitely overpriced.

There is an upstairs outside terrace bar on the 5th floor. This bar is SEPARATE BUSINESS from the hotel and popular for non guests to visit because of the great view and comfort of sitting areas atop. It is also used for private functions, such as one while we stayed here. Access to the bar is THROUGH GUEST AREAS and a staircase (no elevator). The noise and movement of furniture and such was constant and very uncomfortable into late hours. We stayed 3 nights and each night was noisy. The hotel needs to consider another option for access and cushioning. Therefore, we really recommend that no one stay on the 4th floor and certainly on the side where rooms 410 - 420 are located. Be aware that the hotel is located very close to the Cathedral as well, so you do hear the bells on the hour, quarter, half and thirds. This is subjectively charming, but not heard so much while the air conditioner is on.

Breakfast was adequate - nothing special - no hot items, but in a pretty mudejar setting. The access to food items is narrow and got quite crowded, so it would be nice to have the food placed in a wider area.

Reception was quick and efficient. Staff was cordial. We paid in advance to get a better rate and do not feel this made a difference in service, but for the noise on the 5th floor terrace, the hotel should consider lowering their rates on that floor. Rates should be lower anyway for what is offered in the room.

There are several YouTube videos on the hotel - check this one out:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LoGhpWfT1yU

Room Tip: Do not reserve a room on the 4th floor and be sure to request that you not be placed in front on any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank habaneros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile


Follow the you tube video if driving by car and you will not get lost. Hotel located about 50yds from the alkhasar. Ideally located for walking around the city. Pleasant welcome by reception. Room 401 pleasant size. Other than the odd slamming of room doors we were not disturbed.  Missing some of the normal toiletries and tea and coffee making facilities. Do try the roof bar for views of the city  at night.
Great continental breakfast served in arabesque surroundings.
Worth staying here for the convenience of its location.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.4 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#3 of 44 in Toledo
1,061 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
0.6 mi away
NH Toledo
NH Toledo
#6 of 44 in Toledo
757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Domus Plaza Zocodover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlos V Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlos V Hotel

Property: Carlos V Hotel
Address: Plaza Magdalena No 4, 45001 Toledo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Toledo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
#9 Family Hotel in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlos V Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mirai, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Carlos V Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlos v Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing