We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful little hotel in an ideal quite spot.”
Review of Hotel Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sol
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2009

I adored our room which had a 'monestary' feel. The bathroom and the room were a good size. The staff were helpful and friendly and supplied us with a map and marked the sightseeing places. There was breakfast available for a small charge. If we were going to be late arriving the hotel was happy to keep the reception open.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2009

The Hotel Sol has a hostal across the street from it which costs less and which I used. The room was very clean, the bathroom was fine and there was no noise. The bed was fine. Thus, I rated it a four. It did not have a security box but the place looked save. Though there is no staff on this side of the road, your room entry card acts as a key to enter the public door. The room doors are strong with a good modern card access key system and the place is modern. They have a breakfast in their hotel which I did not try. It is a little down the hill from the main Toledo square ( a 6 minute walk ). I had a room facing away from the hill. You may hear traffic if you take a room facing uphill as there is a main road there. However, Toledo is a quiet town at night as it is mainly a day trip visit for most. If you go be sure to try the cheese cake " mazaquin" - it is sooooo good. I happened to be there two days before Toledo celebrates Corpus Christi and I highly recommend going there for at least a night over during that time......it is very festive...they open private patios and have live concerts near the church. It gets crowded the day before and the day of Corpus Christ....so book early.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

this is a great little hotel, appears to have been recently remodeled. right outside the city wall and very close to all attractions in toledo. a little climb to get to the main square but all of the town is on hills so it's just preparation for the day. it is very affordable, clean, and simple. the staff were very helpful and all that i dealt with spoke english. the only downside is that internet is quite expensive if you need it - although i found out it is free in the local library just a short walk away.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meses_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We have spent 2 nights in Hotel Sol in Toledo. The hotel is nicely located, right at the edge of the city center (around 10 minutes walking to the cathedral). Another advantage is the private parking (10 Euro per night) and the easy access by car. The staff was helpful (all of them spoke English), but the reception was closed during night hours (from 23 up to 07).

What we didn't like was that it was really noisy - one could hear all noises from the street and from the other rooms and we were unlucky to have had really noisy neighbors. As it was weekend, we have paid a higher rate so our overall impression was that the Hotel Sol was a little bit overpriced (especially because we had to pay for internet, as well).

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Pleasant hotel with good air con rooms and big bathrooms. Near the old town and with helpful staff. Very good all round.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonPeterPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

I am a frequent traveler for pleasure. I made my reservation directly with the owner of the hotel. He promised air conditioning and a convenient location. When we arrived the temperature was 34 degrees celsius and we found that the air conditioning was not functioning. His promised 5 minute stroll to the cathedral was also not the case. Since I had guaranteed the room he insisted on being paid in advance for the first night. We were forced to find a room elsewhere with functioning air conditioning and a much more convenient location. This is a 1 star hotel with small rooms with no electric outlets for any of our devices. Staying here is a disaster.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doctorj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We stayed one night in Hotel Sol and it was beautiful. A very quiet location, comfortable beds, gorgeous rooms, and the staff were very friendly. It is a quick walk into Toledo, and there is a cafe very close by for coffee and breakfast in the morning. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IHeartSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Toledo
Eurostars Toledo
#14 of 44 in Toledo
1,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Domus Plaza Zocodover
0.5 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#4 of 44 in Toledo
1,115 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Bastida
Hotel La Bastida
#18 of 44 in Toledo
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 44 in Toledo
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol

Address: Calle Azacanes 15, 45003 Toledo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range: £32 - £444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sol 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Sol is ideally located next to the Puerta del Sol in the historical centre of Toledo. It offers practical and well-priced accommodation.The rooms of the Hotel Sol are modern and charming. All of them have air conditioning and heating. All rooms have a bathroom with bath and shower. Some have balconies. Wi-Fi is available on request.Non smoking policy. Private parking available.The hotel is situated in Toledo’s beautiful old town. Most of the city’s main landmarks are within easy walking distance, including the Mosque, Cathedral, Alcázar, the Jewish quarter and Plaza ZocodoveThe bus station is just 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel. From there you can get coaches to Madrid, taking about 1 hour. The train station is about 1 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing