We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Count your steps to the Cathedral”
Review of Hotel Santa Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Isabel
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hotel is at an excellence location in Old Town Toledo. You can count your steps to the Number one attraction in Toledo "The Cathedral".(most Spaniard tourist come to see). Hotel is right next to the Santa Isabel church. Relative quiet place because its little bid away from the tourist streets. Easy walk to Zocodover plaza, main plaza in town for people watching and restaurants.
Hotel owners (husband & wife) showed high dedication to their hotel and made it home away from home for their clients. Breakfast is OK, try someplace else if you like full breakfast. Very comfortable bed and super clean!!!
Toledo is most visited town in Spain (you will think it is Barcelona), majority of its visitors came in daytime and don't sleep in, so do your walk in the later afternoon.
If you're driving make sure you got the direction correct before you heading to the hotel. I was driving the smallest Fiat with my trusted GPS, but I turn a street too early and did not paid attention to the road signs (Spain's road signs are not wordy, so study your road signs). I end up drove into a street alley not suppose to enter and I was "one inch" away from both stone walls with both mirrors already folded. After 20 minutes of sweating bullets with friendly locals helping I backed the tinniest Fiat out of the Alley.
Old town Toledo's streets are mostly one way alley (super narrow), if you miss a turn you might have to get out of town first before you can find another street to come back at your direction, I am not exaggerated here.
Hotel Santa Isabel parking is much cheaper($10) than the public parking($14.5) in town, the closest public parking still quite a walk to the hotel. So try to use the hotel parking if you can. If you are on motorcycles you are in luck they only charged $5 EU for each bike.
Don't forget to get up to the third floor roof top terrace, best view of the town and very relaxing!
Old town Toledo is not big you can walk anywhere once you figure out all the little alleys.
Ask for room with window away from the front of the hotel for quiet afternoon nap.
I stayed two nights in this hotel and enjoy this place very much.

Room Tip: Room with window facing away from the streets.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsantaisabel90, Propietario at Hotel Santa Isabel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Dear Sirs,

Thanks for your opinion regarding your stay at the hotel. I am glad I have had a good stay with us and also appreciate the work of the owners of the hotel when they started in 1954 and dedicating his life to the catering. Thank you very much for your attention in terms of future customers, hope to see you soon again in this wonderful city of Toledo.
Best regards.
Maria Lourdes Menchero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,093)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santa Isabel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

Good location..all in sights are in walking distance from the Hostal
Parking under hostal for Eur10 a day
Very clean room and spacious.
Good attention, friendly helpful staff. Easy to find,
Breakfast simple but sufficient.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was a poor choice for us , but that was our fault for not doing our homework, but a Spanish Hotel without a bar ????? Unthinkable !! There was no restaurant either, but the cafe offered breakfast (just breakfast, no snacks) which was very poor. You expect lovely fresh bread in Spain, not an apology for bread which resembled nothing more then a thick slice of Supermarket cheapest own brand. This was accompanied by one portion of butter and a small amount of pre-packed jam. The beds were very comfortable but the walls were thin and you could hear everything (YES EVERYTHING) from next door.There were no facilities for making a drink, and as there was no bar in the hotel, nor mini bar in the bedroom, there was no way of having a drink in the establishment, unless, like us, you took your own kettle, T-bags etc, or your chosen beverage.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpatAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsantaisabel90, Propietario at Hotel Santa Isabel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013
Google Translation

Estimados Sres,

En primer lugar gracias por ponerse en contacto con nosotros en escribir su opunión soble el hotel y por valorar nuestro trabajo en cuanto al servicio y amabilidad del personal. Realmente no entiendo lo que ustedes querian conocer de Toledo, estamos en pleno centro del casco antiguo de la ciudad justo al lado de la Plaza del Ayuntamiento y de la Catedral desde el hotel usted pueden visitar todo el centro de la ciudad a pie sin necesidad de mover su coche del garaje y con una terraza panorámica con una vista increible de la Catedral, Alcázar, cigarrales...
Efectivamente no tenemos bar, ni minibar en las habitaciones somos un hotel de dos estrellas que no tenemos gran lujo, solamente cafetería de 8:00 a 11:30 de la mañana los clientes tienen a su disposición una máquina de café, otra de bebidas y en recepción cuentan con vinos, cavas, sidra, cervezas dónde usted se lo puede tomar tranquilamente en su habitación, en la terraza del hotel contemplando las vistas de la ciudad ó en el salón al lado de recepción. También disponemos de copas, hielo, cubiteras, vasos a disposición de los clientes.Siento mucho que no les gustara el pan pero les indico que es un pan artesano hecho en un pueblo de Toledo que nos lo traen diariamente al hotel y de buena calidad. También tenemos distintas variedades de tostadas como son con tomate y aceite, ó tomate y jamón, ó jamón y queso. No entiendo a que se refiere a que la mantequilla y mermelada va envasada ya que hasta en los hoteles de cuatro y cinco estrelllas lo sirven envasado.
Les pido disculpas si no han descansado bien por el ruido pero muchas veces al ruido de otros personas de la habitación de al lado no podemos controlarlo. Aprecio y valoro mucho el que nos digan que los colchones son cómodos y de buena calidad.
Gracias por su atención.
Un ordial saludo.

María Lourdes Menchero Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great small hotel in a wonderful historic building in the heart of old Toledo. The building is magnificent and has been converted and updated to a very high standard. Lots of character. Efficient and friendly reception (think it was the owner who checked us in). Room was small but very comfortable and clean. Good shower in bathroom. Easy to find parking near the hotel although navigating the car through the very narrow streets was interesting! View from roof terrace is spectacular. Breakfast is simple and very good - cost 5 Euros each. Overall stay was terrific value for money. Highly recommended. Goodness knows why this is only a 2 star hotel. Toledo was much more interesting than we expected. We'll be back.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms will be more than acceptable.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englishmanonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Hotel was an excellent choice; very clean, roomy (compared to other places throughout Spain), very reasonably priced, and the location was exceptional. There were four of us and we needed two rooms- staff was very accomodating. The hotel was well decorated and we experienced true Spanish culture. I would highly recommend this facility to any traveler.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reidstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Laura Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 March 2013

weve stayed for 2 nights, rooms were comfortable although very small (one suitcase was too big and thus blocked the way when opening the door), staff was helpful, nice & cheap breakfast, gr8 location near the main cathedral. no view - windows turn to an inner yard. price was good (we did the booking through here). curious thing was that they placed each bed on another side of the room and the dressers in between them.. i guess they could be asked to relocate them ..

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irenakopel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.2 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
0.2 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 44 in Toledo
973 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
0.8 mi away
NH Toledo
NH Toledo
#6 of 44 in Toledo
799 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eurostars Toledo
Eurostars Toledo
#14 of 44 in Toledo
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Isabel

Address: Calle Santa Isabel 24, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Toledo
#2 Family Hotel in Toledo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
Price Range: £36 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Isabel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Santa Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Isabel Hotel
Santa Isabel Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing