We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Find in a Beautiful Old City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Santa Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Santa Isabel
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find in a Beautiful Old City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

Hotel Santa Isabel is two old buildings (Nos. 22 and 24), each set around an interior patio (courtyard), that have been combined into one beautiful budget hotel. Although the buildings are old, they have been tastefully modernized such that the room we stayed in (102) was just great. See attached photo of our room.

The rooftop patio is great for a quiet evening drink among the rooftops of Toledo and the floodlit buildings just add to the atmosphere. Its even great up there in the daytime too! See the attached photos. If you can't find the way up to the roof patio, ask at the front desk. Use the lift / elevator at the back of the interior courtyard of No. 22 to its highest floor and then climb the spiral staircase to the patio.

We travelled around central and southern Spain by bus and train for the full month of April 2013. Hotel Santa Isabel was the best value hotel that we stayed in. As we did not have a car, inner city transportation was easy - we walked, as did most Spaniards, pulling our roll-along suitcases behind us! Hotel Santa Isabel is about a 10 minute easy walk along predominantly traffic-free narrow street from Plaza Zocodover which is a far as the city buses can get into the centre of Toledo. If you are travelling by train from Madrid to Toledo, walk outside the railway station, turn right and take a blue No. 5, 61 or 62 city bus to Plaza Zocodover at the bus stop on the main road. The walk is about 50m. Don't take the red tour bus that stops right outside the station in the station fourcourt. It costs twice as much as the blue city bus to get you to Plaza Zocodover. Same kind of thing from the bus station that the buses pass just outside the city walls. If you do want to walk up into the city, its a good stiff uphill climb from the city walls to Plaza Zocodover!

Room Tip: For an amazing view, go to the rooftop patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenMarkCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    402
    100
    21
    9
See reviews for
131
616
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

In spite of the many positive reviews, we had modest expectations of this older two-star hotel, but to our surprise and delight it had everything one might want: a large well-decorated immaculate room, excellent sound-proofing, pleasant and helpful staff, tasty and varied breakfast offerings, and an ideal location in the very heart of the old town. Of the more than two dozen hotels we've used in Spain over the years, the Hotel Santa Isabel is perhaps the favorite.

Room Tip: Room 214 with views of the cathedral can't be beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahSpencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

What a gem this hotel proved to be! I loved it - perfect location, views of the cathedral tower from our comfortable and spacious room, clean bathrooms and nice bath amenities. However, driving to the hotel and parking in the underground garage is not for the feint of heart! Our Tom Tom navigated us directly to the door of the hotel, and we trusted it as we wound through streets that became narrower with each sharp bend, until we felt we were holding our breath in stressful anticipation of what might lay around the next sharp bend! We breathed a collective sigh of relief when we ended exactly at the door to the Santa Isabel, then took in another sharp breath as we followed the hotel staff instructions to park in the tight, low ceilinged underground garage. But we did it!

I am a travel writer (Extraordinary Travels of an Ordinary Couple) and was visiting Spain for new stories. This hotel was definitely a favorite for me, and Toledo itself was my favorite city in Spain. The cathedral is gorgeous! Toledo was charming and quiet by night, and I almost felt that i could sense the spirits of those that had walked these narrow streets hundreds of years ago as I wound my way through the beautiful city at night. During the day, the same streets were flooded with tourists but still charming and I would highly recommend the visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLMcMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

well priced and excellent location not far from the cathedral and then the rest of the toledeo experiences. roof terrace has great views of the town, and a great place for a glass of wine or two. staff helpful, garage is good as parking is of a premium. however if your car is 165cm or higher you wont get in as this is the max height. parking nearby is not too bad 15 euro a night. visit the jewish quarter, it is brilliant and a very good add on to the cathedral and other shops. Rooms are clean, tidy and aircon works. breakfast is good and typical spanish, toast, tomato, and jamon with fruit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paganpeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsantaisabel90, Propietario at Hotel Santa Isabel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thank you very much for your kindness regarding the opinion of your stay at the hotel. We are pleased that customers have a pleasant stay and value we enter our work. I'd love to see you back again soon. Yours sincerely.

Maria Lourdes Menchero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hotel is at an excellence location in Old Town Toledo. You can count your steps to the Number one attraction in Toledo "The Cathedral".(most Spaniard tourist come to see). Hotel is right next to the Santa Isabel church. Relative quiet place because its little bid away from the tourist streets. Easy walk to Zocodover plaza, main plaza in town for people watching and restaurants.
Hotel owners (husband & wife) showed high dedication to their hotel and made it home away from home for their clients. Breakfast is OK, try someplace else if you like full breakfast. Very comfortable bed and super clean!!!
Toledo is most visited town in Spain (you will think it is Barcelona), majority of its visitors came in daytime and don't sleep in, so do your walk in the later afternoon.
If you're driving make sure you got the direction correct before you heading to the hotel. I was driving the smallest Fiat with my trusted GPS, but I turn a street too early and did not paid attention to the road signs (Spain's road signs are not wordy, so study your road signs). I end up drove into a street alley not suppose to enter and I was "one inch" away from both stone walls with both mirrors already folded. After 20 minutes of sweating bullets with friendly locals helping I backed the tinniest Fiat out of the Alley.
Old town Toledo's streets are mostly one way alley (super narrow), if you miss a turn you might have to get out of town first before you can find another street to come back at your direction, I am not exaggerated here.
Hotel Santa Isabel parking is much cheaper($10) than the public parking($14.5) in town, the closest public parking still quite a walk to the hotel. So try to use the hotel parking if you can. If you are on motorcycles you are in luck they only charged $5 EU for each bike.
Don't forget to get up to the third floor roof top terrace, best view of the town and very relaxing!
Old town Toledo is not big you can walk anywhere once you figure out all the little alleys.
Ask for room with window away from the front of the hotel for quiet afternoon nap.
I stayed two nights in this hotel and enjoy this place very much.

Room Tip: Room with window facing away from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsantaisabel90, Propietario at Hotel Santa Isabel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Dear Sirs,

Thanks for your opinion regarding your stay at the hotel. I am glad I have had a good stay with us and also appreciate the work of the owners of the hotel when they started in 1954 and dedicating his life to the catering. Thank you very much for your attention in terms of future customers, hope to see you soon again in this wonderful city of Toledo.
Best regards.
Maria Lourdes Menchero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Good location..all in sights are in walking distance from the Hostal
Parking under hostal for Eur10 a day
Very clean room and spacious.
Good attention, friendly helpful staff. Easy to find,
Breakfast simple but sufficient.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was a poor choice for us , but that was our fault for not doing our homework, but a Spanish Hotel without a bar ????? Unthinkable !! There was no restaurant either, but the cafe offered breakfast (just breakfast, no snacks) which was very poor. You expect lovely fresh bread in Spain, not an apology for bread which resembled nothing more then a thick slice of Supermarket cheapest own brand. This was accompanied by one portion of butter and a small amount of pre-packed jam. The beds were very comfortable but the walls were thin and you could hear everything (YES EVERYTHING) from next door.There were no facilities for making a drink, and as there was no bar in the hotel, nor mini bar in the bedroom, there was no way of having a drink in the establishment, unless, like us, you took your own kettle, T-bags etc, or your chosen beverage.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpatAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsantaisabel90, Propietario at Hotel Santa Isabel, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Google Translation
Estimados Sres,

En primer lugar gracias por ponerse en contacto con nosotros en escribir su opunión soble el hotel y por valorar nuestro trabajo en cuanto al servicio y amabilidad del personal. Realmente no entiendo lo que ustedes querian conocer de Toledo, estamos en pleno centro del casco antiguo de la ciudad justo al lado de la Plaza del Ayuntamiento y de la Catedral desde el hotel usted pueden visitar todo el centro de la ciudad a pie sin necesidad de mover su coche del garaje y con una terraza panorámica con una vista increible de la Catedral, Alcázar, cigarrales...
Efectivamente no tenemos bar, ni minibar en las habitaciones somos un hotel de dos estrellas que no tenemos gran lujo, solamente cafetería de 8:00 a 11:30 de la mañana los clientes tienen a su disposición una máquina de café, otra de bebidas y en recepción cuentan con vinos, cavas, sidra, cervezas dónde usted se lo puede tomar tranquilamente en su habitación, en la terraza del hotel contemplando las vistas de la ciudad ó en el salón al lado de recepción. También disponemos de copas, hielo, cubiteras, vasos a disposición de los clientes.Siento mucho que no les gustara el pan pero les indico que es un pan artesano hecho en un pueblo de Toledo que nos lo traen diariamente al hotel y de buena calidad. También tenemos distintas variedades de tostadas como son con tomate y aceite, ó tomate y jamón, ó jamón y queso. No entiendo a que se refiere a que la mantequilla y mermelada va envasada ya que hasta en los hoteles de cuatro y cinco estrelllas lo sirven envasado.
Les pido disculpas si no han descansado bien por el ruido pero muchas veces al ruido de otros personas de la habitación de al lado no podemos controlarlo. Aprecio y valoro mucho el que nos digan que los colchones son cómodos y de buena calidad.
Gracias por su atención.
Un ordial saludo.

María Lourdes Menchero Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
1.8 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pintor El Greco Sercotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#8 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador de Toledo
Parador de Toledo
#2 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Domus Plaza Zocodover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Isabel

Property: Hotel Santa Isabel
Address: Calle Santa Isabel 24, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Toledo
#2 Family Hotel in Toledo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Isabel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Santa Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Isabel Hotel
Santa Isabel Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing