We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and so cheap”
Review of Hotel Santa Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Santa Isabel
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Perfect location and so cheap”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Budget hotel in the heart of the old city. Very, very close to the Cathedral which is a must-see for any visit. Within a few minutes of restaurants and shops. Great to lose yourself in the maze of small streets around.

Hotel is a decent size with free wifi. Very clean. Hotel is in a historic building and inside was beautifully decorated in tiles and feels very traditional. I came in the middle of the week and only paid EUR 35! Catch a cab to and from train station, very cheap at around 5 EUR. Around 5-10 minutes.

Toledo is a beautiful city and it is worth staying overnight to experience it after the hordes of day trippers have departed for the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    440
    105
    21
    11
See reviews for
146
668
57
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel has great views of the cathedral and is very clean. The roof-top deck is the perfect place to enjoy some rioja with great views of toledo. One of the better hotels I have been to anywhere. The hotel has a very authentic feel to it, as everything looks very old/traditional spanish style.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GOIGGLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The hotel is within a few minutes of restaurants and shopping. The Alcazar, the cathedral are very close and in another direction is the Jewish quarter, museums and more restaurants.

The hotel is nicely decorated but our room was a bit small. We were there for two nights so it didn't bother us. Furniture and fixtures are modern and the room was well maintained. We had a window to the street but were not bothered by noise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorro805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
533 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Hotel Santa Isabel's a great place to stay: comfortable rooms, many nicely converted in the original old part of the hotel and with all mod cons as well as the old beams high up in the ceilings, good beds, views out towards the cathedral or down the narrow streets of the old town, only 200m from the cathedral itself, with some parking in the basement. Staff are helpful, breakfasts are good, the hotel's clearly really popular with Spanish visitors as well as foreigners (always a good sign), and there's a small roof terrace with great views over the old town. We booked a room with a small balcony, which was a plus - right over the front door - but no street noise. Another plus - the hotel's only 200m too from the top-rated restaurant in Toledo - Alqahira - which is a Middle Eastern treat in itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, a balcony if possible, and if you like a bit of character ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amdgriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

After a taxi ride that was less than 8 euros from the train station we arrived to a perfectly clean room that exceeded our expectations. We stayed here for 3 days, the first 2 nights we enjoyed the Toledo skyline on the roof or terrace where there are 2 tables for picnicking or whatever. The interior of the hotel has a nice character, decorated with unusual care for a 2 star hotel.
I would have given 5 stars but we had a problem with our breakfast charges--we were overcharged for the last 2 days. You can get a small breakfast or a more comprehensive breakfast and the waitress just asks for your room #. I believe that she mixed our order with another room#. I would like to think that it was an honest mistake, but we had no reasonable recourse but to pay and later we rationalized it by thinking that if the hotel had charge an extra 6 euros originally we would have stayed here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gil014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, OR.
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was perhaps the most visually appealing hotel of our trip to Spain. Being a finish carpenter, I loved all of the details that were incorporated into the restoration of this building. Our room had some of the original hand hewn beams in the exposed ceiling with small crests painted on them. It was appointed with beautiful hardwood floors which I am not used to seeing in rooms at this price point. The hotel features in enclosed interior courtyard that was once open to the elements, but now is a gorgeous interior space. It makes quite an impression when first arriving. Our room was small and rather dark with only one small window in the living area, but the price was right at less that 50 euros. Some of the darkness was undoubtedly due to the fact that it rained most of the 3 days we were there and was overcast the entire time. Being from the Willamette Valley of Oregon where it rains close to 50 inches (127 cm) we were undetered by the rain and found it a blessing of sorts as it kept away most of the day trippers that flood the city each day. The down side was that we never really had a chance to enjoy the splendid rooftop terrace which was the main reason for booking this hotel. As others have said, it is a short 3-4 minute walk to the cathedral and most of the upper, old part of the city is within easy walking distance with mutiple sites to see and places to eat. There is an elevator which makes life with luggage much easier, too. I can see revisiting Toledo in the future and gladly staying at Hostal Santa Isabel again. To future visitors: if you are on one of the upper floors, please do not spend hours walking around in your room with hard heeled shoes. It makes life quite noisy for those in the rooms on the floor down from you. I think the floors must be thin or have no insulation in them. The person above us took exactly 7 steps to get to and from wherever he or she was going in the room. It sounded like someone was hitting the floor with a hammer! Thanks for your consideration.

Room Tip: It would have been nice to know how to turn the lights on when we opened the door. It took a while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is hotel is centrally positioned, more than basic, very clean and exceptionally reasonably priced. As other reviews, visit the solarium for good city panoramas, especially dawn and dusk. Just a stones throw from the Cathedral and within walking distance of everything, plenty of bars and restaurants nearbye. It's well worth booking the car park, 10 euro / night, but beware Spanish cities have extremely narrow roads, I only just managed with a Focus, the ramps to the underground parking are pretty severe, however I would have dreaded parking in the new areas of Toledo and trying to find the hotel in the maze of streets. My sat nav failed to find the hotel by postcode or Calle Santa Isabel but just Santa Isabel took me straight there. Breakfast at the hotel was 5 euro, can't comment didn't try it, there's no bar or restaurant except for breakfast.Do the city tour, well worth it especially the views of the city from across the river. On the back to the coast I visited Congruesa about 30 km, what a brilliant place, just put name in sat nav.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.2 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
1.8 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.2 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 44 in Toledo
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
0.8 mi away
NH Toledo
NH Toledo
#6 of 44 in Toledo
777 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eurostars Toledo
Eurostars Toledo
#14 of 44 in Toledo
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Isabel

Property: Hotel Santa Isabel
Address: Calle Santa Isabel 24, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Toledo
#2 Family Hotel in Toledo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Isabel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Isabel Hotel
Santa Isabel Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing