We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful camping experience”
Review of Camping El Greco

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Toledo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping El Greco
Ranked #12 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Toledo
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have to say that this is one of the nicest campsites i have visited in Spain.
Its a small campsite situated on the outskirts of Toledo (which is must visit city) and boasts a beautiful pool / bar / restaurant area, great camping plots, lovely toilet/shower facilities, and a small shop selling the basics, but sufficient nonetheless.
The staff were helpful and attentive, the site itself clean and tidy, nothing to complain about.

The highlight is the pool / bar / restaurant area. Swimming pool is large, wonderful views of Toledo, and there is a smaller baby pool next to it. All surrounded by lush grass, and shaded areas to sit and relax. The pool is free to use when you camp, but you can purchase a day ticket (8 euro) if you just fancy getting away from Toledo city for a relaxing day by the pool!
The bar is next to this and serves great cold beer etc, and the restaurant serves wonderful a la carte food. In fact for evening meals it is recommended to book a table as it gets very busy with outside visitors, its certainly a popular eating venue, but not surprised with the views and a rural feel away from the tourists of Toledo!

Prices may seem high on first glance to stay or eat here, but i think it is value for money, as the old saying goes you get what you pay for!

So in summary i highly recommend the campsite, it is a wonderful setting for camping,and if camping is not on the list, then just visit the pool / restaurant for a relaxing day / evening out!

Looking forward to my next stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildsurfdude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here in May 2013 en route from Seville to Madrid. We stayed 5 nights.

Upon arrival we parked up on the car park for the restaurant. Welcome was good and the receptionist spoke good English.

Being the low season we had our pick of the pitches. More than half the pitches are hardstanding on pea gravel and are level separated by low level hedges.

Others are on clay and can accommodate tents or vans.

Whilst we were there a Dutch rally arrived but apart from those 4 days the site was very quiet.

The sanitary facilities are extensive, very modern and well maintained.

The pool area has a breathtaking view of Toledo as does the restaurant and bar area.

The restaurant is very good and is heavily used by locals especially at the weekend.

You could walk into the centre of town in about half an hour and there is a regular bus service that stops at the site entrance.

There is also a tourist train which circumnavigates the town.

Toledo is a very interesting town with many historic buildings. Be sure to look at the 'Toledo' ware, marzipan and knives.

Very happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Nice flat plots, separated by trees and hedges. Speaking of trees, they drop berries in June, which can be a nuisance - bring a brush with you, if you don't want a mess of your shows and your floor. Cost is a bit above average in Spain, but still quite acceptable. Clean, comfortable shower and toilet facilities. Considering that the main point of camping in Toledo is visiting the city, it's a good camping and very suitable for the purpose: it's connected to the old town by bus and within walking distance if you don't feel like waiting. In fact, walking takes you to puente de San Martin, which is a scenic way to approach the city.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mainvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

For a start it is a nicely laid out site with a mature feeling about it. Cool and shady and attractive. The pool seemed lovely and appears to have nice views over the spectacular city skyline. However the pool does not open until mid June, a week after our visit. We should have known this, not their fault but still a pity. On Tuesdays the bar and restaurant were closed so we were denied the view, the swim and a hot meal. I understand that it seems normal in spain for pools to open some time in mid june but it seems unreasonable to advertise a bar and restaurant and then close it for one day a week.
We found the staff efficient to the point of abruptness
The cabin we rented was a little tired but adequate and the location, beside the river and just a stones throw away from the city, is excellent. I would stay here again but not on a Tuesday and not before the pool was open.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GranfalloonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

yes it was a clean site but upon closer inspection the toilet and shower facilitys were not that good, First time i have ever been asked to pay for a swim, so they can stick that, and was not made to feel welcome at all. The price is way to high and a rip off, stay away..I would not recomend this site to anyone

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Beautiful site near the city but..... The expense is not worthy. Yes, good facilities but easily matched by all the other campsites we used who were not only cheaper but none charged for use of the pool - a real con. We couldn't even get a cup of coffee in the morning let alone breakfast as the facilities don't open till noon and not at all on Tuesdays! The all-night rave down the street was not welcome after a hard day's riding either. Oh and ps - the lady on reception is more than a bit scary. pps - don't forget to take 9" nails because tent pegs won't go in - we had to lash the guy ropes to the bike and hedges.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Just returned from a two day trip to Toledo and stayed at the only campsite in the area - El Greco Camping. The campsite itself was very clean and very empty - why might you ask - the price = it is just as expensive in Mid to late October as it is in high season. The price for a motorhome and 2 adults was the best part of 30 euros per night. The campsite is very clean as are the toilets but surely the owners would be better giving some sort of reduction out of season as they are not getting people in. The visitors are in Toledo - when we went in it was very very busy with tourists so I am certain if the campsite reduced their prices a little then they would get people in. We live in Spain and the economic climate is such that people are looking for bargain breaks and especially the retired who are on a set budget. Please El Greco look at your out of season prices and consider bringing them down or I fear you will be another statistic of the economic problems over here and it would be such a shame as the campsite is very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maggst56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
1.3 mi away
Eurostars Toledo
Eurostars Toledo
#12 of 44 in Toledo
1,062 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Parador de Toledo
Parador de Toledo
#2 of 44 in Toledo
1,572 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Domus Plaza Zocodover
1.4 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 44 in Toledo
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping El Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping El Greco

Address: Cm-4000, Km 0.7, 45004 Toledo, Spain (Formerly Campground El Greco)
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Toledo
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing