We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must when visiting Toledo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda del Cardenal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda del Cardenal
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must when visiting Toledo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here from march 18-20, 2014. We felt like medieval royalty in this very historical and magical place. We stayed in Room 212 which was very nicely decorated and has a sitting room and a big balcony. The convenience of the location, on the perimeter of the old city built into the fortified wall, was the best decision we made. This kept us from dragging our luggage up the escalators and through the narrow street. The gardens are enchanting and the convenience to the escalator is perfect. We didn't have any difficulty with a bellman. What we did was enter the large wooden doors into the garden, then my husband climbed the stairs to the lobby and sent a bellman to help us. Cardenal is the only place to consider stay to visit Toledo.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankieb31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    172
    62
    16
    11
See reviews for
86
249
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

This was a great hotel. It's absolutely gorgeous and the rooms are very nice. It's true--the hotel staff aren't very helpful and it felt like we were an annoyance when we asked directions or assistance with reservations. However, the bus boys were quick to help when we arrived and it was appreciated. People whine about the stairs but it's really not that bad at all. In fact--I'd be curious what those people whining about the stairs at the hotel thought of Toledo--wrong city to visit if you're lazy or infirm.

The restaurant was fantastic. I actually really enjoyed the architecture, layout, and ambience. Having a glass of wine or cocktail in the terrace or bar is a great start. The menu is great but vegetarians will struggle. I ordered the cochicordi, which is a combination of lamb and suckling pig. Both were fantastic. This was likely the best meal I had in Spain. It was cooked that perfectly. Really simple but done perfectly. Better than Botin although they're the owner.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Good Spanish old world feel to the hotel with lots of dark wood and other touches but becoming a little tacky in places. Room and bathroom were comfortable but wifi didn't work there so we had to go to the little courtyard/alcove along the corridor or outside the front. Many stairs to climb up and reception was not keen to help carry our bags up. The bar and restaurant area in the large courtyard bounded by the old city walls was very pleasant and the staff helpful - pity this wasn't reflected in the main part of the hotel which felt a bit desolate and unloved in comparison. Very handy to get up into the Toledo old city by using the multi-tiered escalator around the corner. For our one night stay we were able to leave the car in the small open parking area in front of the hotel but you have to remember to put money in the meters.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AgingSlowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is great place if you're looking for old world charm. The grounds were peaceful and away from the city hubbub. Our room was nicely decorated. The bathroom was updated and had all the amenities. The bed was quite comfortable. It was clean and quiet. Staff were very nice and helpful. It was just the kind of hotel we wanted for a one-night stop on our 3-week road trip. If you're driving, it's perfect. It's easy to find, easy to get to. You don't have to navigate through the town. There is a car park nearby and plenty of room to unload your bags in front (although there are a LOT of stairs between this point and the front of the hotel..so if your suitcase is heavy...yikes). Then it's an easy walk into the old town. Or if you prefer the escalator, it's also nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank squeakybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka KS
Level Contributor
173 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

My friends and I spent just one night here, sharing a triple room. The location was ideal: right next to Toledo's Bisagra Gate, and very near the escalators and a parking garage. In fact, the hotel is actually part of the city wall, so given its age and construction, the hotel and grounds make for a lovely setting, full of character.

Our room, while not extraordinary, was more than adequate. The beds were decent, and the third bed made use of a single sleeper chair, but with a "real" mattress added on top. Windows opened onto a lovely courtyard. Wifi worked fine, and while the bathroom had one of those lame wall hair dryers, there was a real one available on request. The breakfast buffet was adequate, but nothing to write home about, and the coffee machine was one of those annoying gizmos that produces plastic trash with every cup of coffee. As others have said, there is no avoidance of stairs in this hotel.

The woman who checked us in was delightfully welcoming and friendly. Just be aware when you arrive that the parking lot immediately in front of the hotel is public, paid, 2-hour lot -- you can stay there long enough to off-load, but that's all. If you look just beyond the round-about (to the right as you face the front facade of the hotel), you'll see a long-term parking garage. That's the lot to which the hotel will direct you, so if you plan ahead, you can park there before checking in -- it's an easy walk with just a wheeled bag.

For one day and night in this ancient city, the Hotel Del Cardenal is an excellent choice in terms of comfort, atmosphere, and convenience. I also thought it was a good value. I made my reservation through their website, and all was in order when we arrived. This hotel won't rock your world, but it ticks most of the required boxes, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reefwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel charming in the Old World Style--it fit the town of Toledo. Our friends didn't--it was "too old" for them. Moorish influences are all over the hotel and it can seem dark but that was the charm for us. Room was clean and very quiet which was a blessing given we'd just spent 2 nights listening to every siren on the Gran Via in Madrid. There is a beautiful garden outside the hotel (did I mention it's built directly into the town wall?) that I would love to enjoy in the summer. There are stairs into the hotel and this was a drawback; only the desk clerk was available to help schlep luggage. There also didn't appear to be an elevator to upper floor. Breakfast was typical European continental: bread, pastries, fresh fruit and juice, cheese and meats, cereal and yogurt. Was very surprised when staff objected to our group of four taking a table for six when there were no tables for 4 at all. They wanted us to sit as 2 and 2. We insisted however and they finally agreed to let us put two tables for two together. Staff throughout hotel was "all business"; polite but focused on being efficient rather than friendly. This may be because we were there on a holiday weekend and they were fully booked.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank hammama59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Sadly we were only able to spend one night in this wonderful hotel. It was full of atmosphere-
having been a former archbishop's summer home. It is in a most convenient situation very
close to the Old City's main gate and also to the escalator that takes one up into the old
town. The hotel has a lovely inner courtyard, many antiques and a wide stairway up to the
bedrooms. Our bedroom was spacious , well appointed and quiet. We had a good breakfast
and in the evening we were part of a group of 32 and we enjoyed an excellent dinner in the
hotel in a special room. I would love to return some day and spend longer enjoying the
amenities of the hotel. A perfect hotel -but beware of the many stairs to all the different
areas.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
1.4 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pintor El Greco Sercotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parador de Toledo
Parador de Toledo
#2 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#3 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Cardenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Cardenal

Property: Hacienda del Cardenal
Address: Paseo Recaredo 24, 45004 Toledo, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda del Cardenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda del Cardenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Del Cardenal Toledo
Hostal Del Cardenal Hotel Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing