We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel”
Review of NH Toledo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Toledo
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel”
Reviewed 11 July 2007

The Hesperia was one of my favorite hotels during our trip to nine locations in Spain. We were fortunate to get a parking space right by the front door and the rental car did not move until we left. The entire hotel is floored in gorgeous marble. The public areas and WC's are beautiful. The large, modern rooms have been added to the rear of wonderful historic building with beautiful stained glass ceilings. The rooms are spacious, clean, quiet and well-equipped. The AC chilled the rooms more than adequately. The breakfast was very generous and varied. It is about a 15 minute walk slightly up hill to the old city, or a brief cab ride. My only complaint is that there was a fee for internet/computer usage. After several unsuccessful attempts at using that service, I asked for my euros back.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank beekay458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    372
    107
    13
    13
See reviews for
166
388
15
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2007

We just got back from a 2 week trip to Spain and had a rental car much of that time. We were looking for a place in Toledo where we could park the car and walk to everything. The Hesperia fit the bill. I don't think there was an extra charge for the parking either. There are not alot of spaces out front, but if we had not been able to find one, they told us at the front desk they have alternate spots elsewhere. About the walk-- it is about a 7 minute walk to the wall of the old city, then a climb up sometimes steep serpentine streets to the cathedral and other sites. so if you don't have a good fitness level, this would not be for you. We liked the Hesperia. The room was large by European standards and clean too. The staff was pleasant and responsive and they give you a decent map of the old city which you definately need. . A bar/cafe adjacent to the hotel serves lunch and dinner and the hotel offers breakfast. We hiked up the hill into Toledo for an outside cafe breakfast instead. One note if you are driving, it is across from the Plaza de Toros, so look for signs for the Plaza de Toros. There has been some construction on the roads right near the hotel and the directions on the hotel website from the south no longer make sense. Still, knowing it was near the bullring we were able to find it with no problem.

  • Liked — clean and comfortable, free parking , walk to tourist sites
  • Disliked — our room was on the parking lot, but even that was ok.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PattyPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
421 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 493 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Hesperia Toledo for two nights in July 2006 during a horrific heat wave. I am sure we would have enjoyed our stay a great deal more if it wasn't for the constant 100 degree days. On booking, I thought the short walk uphill into the old city would be a "piece of cake" for two work out fanatics like my wife and I, and I thought we would avoid the hordes of tourists this way. Hah! It turned out to be a hot and sweaty uphill climb into the old city and Toledo itself was quite quiet towards late afternoon and into the evening. On further thought, I should have booked a hotel in the old city. Yet, I felt solace in the 56 euros per night I was paying. The hotel itself is rather beautiful, in what seems to be a renovated, stylish edifice in the Iberian style. The floors are all tiled which caused some consternation as the maids in the morning wheeled their carts along the floor. The staff is young, but helpful in an unsophisticated manner. The room itself was quite lovely with a seperate sitting area. Unfortunately, the sitting area contained the T.V., and thus you could not watch television in bed. The floors in the room were also tiled and the bed was reasonably comfortable. There was a safe and good storage for erverything. The bathroom was large and well lit, but the towels could have been thicker and we could have used more of them. The soap posed another problem. It might have been great glycerin soap, but after one person used it, the soap was gone, and we found ourselves constantly asking for additional "pieces" of soap. In addition, the air-conditioning system had a difficult time combating the accelerating temperatures. There is a great grocery store directly behind the hotel where we bought our water, cheeses, and wine at a very reasonable price. The Hesperia Toledo Hotel is a very nice hotel particularly at 56 euros a night. Yet, with the heat wave in July, and the uphill climb into the old city which we did at least twice a day, my wife and I would have probably opted for a hotel in the old city.

  • Liked — The building itself was lovely.
  • Disliked — It is far from the old city in the heat of summer.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2006

This hotel is a good blend of an historic building, which houses the reception and dining areas, and attractive and comfortable modern rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Quiet rooms but the floors are tile, and the maid's cart rumbles down the corridor. Great breakfast buffet. Also a separate restaurant for other meals. Bar/library area. Computer available for paid use. Supermarket behind building.
Outside city walls but short walk. I took frequent bus going into town since it is up hill -- then walked back, downhill. Hotel on main road which would be more convenient for drivers,than driving inside walls. Even in early March, big traffic delays inside wall on narrow streets clogged with walking tourist as well as vechicles. Train to Toledo from Madrid is a new AVE line only 30 minutes. Wonderful old (but renewed) train station. Most people make Toledo a day trip from Madrid, but I was happy to spend more time. Walking around town is very enjoyable.
Persons with difficulty walking should note that half dozen stairs at hotel entrance with no hand rail.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aDCtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 January 2006

We stayed at this hotel three nights. The rooms are on the big side and the staff was accomodating. We left our passports in the room and they sent them to Madrid for us. I would stay at this hotel again although I might investigate the hotels within the historic part of the city. Still, the walk was easy.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 21 July 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Hyperion Toledo for 6 days at the end of June 2005. It is an excellent hotel, small (only 35 bedrooms) quiet, beautifully decorated throughout, very modern yet very spanish. Our room was clean and comfortable, the bedsheets were turned down every day(with a chocolate left on the edge of the bed!). The breakfast menu had more than enough choices to suit everyone and was delicious. Every one of the staff were polite and helpful although, apart from reception, had very little english. (But, why go to Spain if you're not going to practice the language!) The hotel is situated opposite the bull ring, so don't be there on a Sunday if you don't approve! It's just a 5 minute walk to the park where they have a Tuesday Market and another couple of minutes to the old city walls.
It's quite a steep walk up into the old city or you can catch a bus from outside the hotel. There are lots of restaurants and bars doing tourist menus which include bread and wine, or there is a supermarket 5 minutes away behind the hotel if you want to do-it-yourself.
Overall I would say this is easily the best hotel I have visited overseas.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 9 January 2005

beautiful hotel. Quiet, clean, very nice. Short walk to the "walled" city gates.

Only complaint. Took quite a while (4 or 5 minutes) of running the shower for hot water to start flowing.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionHHToledo, Gerente at NH Toledo, responded to this review, 2 June 2016
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel, comments like yours represent for us an extra motivation that encourages us to keep improving and with little details to make our guests feel at home.
We are pleased to have contributed turn your visit to Toledo in a fantastic experience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
1.3 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.8 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Toledo
Eurostars Toledo
#14 of 44 in Toledo
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
0.5 mi away
Hotel Domus Plaza Zocodover
0.6 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 44 in Toledo
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Toledo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Toledo

Property: NH Toledo
Address: Travesia Marques de Mendigorria 8-12 | Covachuelas, 45003 Toledo, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Toledo
#4 Family Hotel in Toledo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toledo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Toledo 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 500 meters from the walled city center, the hotel partially refurbished in 2006 boasts an atrium crowned with an impressive glass dome. Most cultural sites, including the El Greco House Museum are located within 1.5 Km while the bullring lies just opposite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Toledo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Hotel Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing