We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a Weekend”
Review of Hotel Abad Toledo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Abad Toledo
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2008

We spent three nights at Hotel Abad this month (April) and found it to be a good choice for a long weekend. The location is excellent, less than ten minutes walk from the cathedral and the Plaza Zocodover and within walking distance of all parts of the Old Town. It's about 20 minutes walk from the train station as well. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and the room was clean and tidy. The hotel has lots of character, and our room had a very high ceiling with wood beams and lovely floors. It was a bit small but perfectly fine for a couple on a shorter break. The one negative, and it was a biggish problem, was the temperature of the room. Although there are temperature controls in each room, the hotel controls them centrally, and they don't turn the air on often/at all. The weather in Toledo in April was a lovely 70, but our small room was stifling even at night and it made sleeping difficult. Having the window open helped, but in the summer this would be an issue, and if you were on the front side of the hotel you'd have to contend with traffic noise. Also, the breakfast is way overpriced at 7 euros per person. Walk two minutes to a cafe and you'll pay less than half that. Overall, we'd recommend this hotel for convenience, amiable staff, cute rooms, and cleanliness, but only during cool weather!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2007

We stayed for 1 night on top floor roof room in July 2007.
The room was nice, cozy room.
The staff are nice, we parked a car for free just near by.
(just up the hill on your lefthand side)


However it was horrible experience to stay.
Because the room airconditioning was not strong enough to keep cool down us even though we put a plastic card to put in the electric slot to cool down the room for hours.
All heat came therough the roof all night.
We both wake up in the midnight. In the end,I slept on the floor.

Be careful,the summer in Toledo is very hot.
Top floor roof room is not good...(maybe other room too ?)

Specially airconditioning is not working properly.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TomHattty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2007

Sadly this is the first bad review we have ever done. The position of the hotel is quite good but is situated on the main thoroughfare which is noisy throughout the night. The hill to the town is daunting but as the all the buses go up the hill, walk down the street for 100 yards to the bus stop. They are very regular, not expensive and is easy to walk downhill back to the hotel. The rooms are small and very claustrophobic. The bathrooms are tiny with a basin two inches deep which may look chic but is useless for washing. The only way to keep the air conditioning on whilst you're out, which is essential, is to leave a plastic card in the electric slot. The hotel may seem cheap but it charges extras for everything e.g 3 euros a day for the room safe key. We booked the parking garage ( but believe there is only one). Although close to the hotel access to it is by a long circuitous route around very steep and narrow streets. However if you don't get the garage there is nowhere nearby to park and the staff were most unhelpful to other guests in suggesting where they could place their cars. We chose not to take their breakfast option and this was a wise decision as it was a pretty dismal and dreary affair. Get the bus to the Zocodover and have a decent breakfast. Toedo is lovely and we wanted to like this hotel but can only say it was the worse hotel we have ever stayed in and does not warrant its 3 stars

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2007

Unbelievable location next to the old city walls. Walking distance from the train station (if you know your way and don't mind going up. But, again, if you don't like steep streets and stairs - don't go to Toledo at all). Romantic room with exposed weathered beams, quite adequate, since you are not going to spend much time there anyway. Very helpful staff at the reception (that was a refreshing change compare to all other hotels in Spain where they all wish you’d disappear and leave them alone). We enjoyed staying there. It is unlikely that we will go to Toledo again, but if we ever do – we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calytrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2006

I really wanted to like this hotel...it looked very charming in the
photos on the web and the reviews were positive. Unfortunately, there were numerous problems: the hotel is located on a noisy street with traffic that does not let up even very late at night. The air conditioner was very weak and it did not help that the bed linens were poly-blend. A few minutes under the sheets and you already start to feel damp. I believe there must also have been some sort of plastic sheet under the bed linens judging from the sound it made; this also contributed to the moisture retention in the bedding which made it most uncomfortable. However the first thing one notices upon entering the hotel lobby (and the room) is the overpowering smell of cleaning agents. I think they douse the wood floors and furniture with the Spanish equivalent of Pinesol. The smell was so overwhelming that it induced a massive headache. Another sore point: despite the fact that the hotel is fairly new (3 years?) the furniture is starting to see some serious wear. We booked a suite so it had a couch. It was visibly soiled (unfortunate that the fabric was pale yellow) and the springs were losing their strength. The suite, which had one big bed on the main level, also had two small beds in the sleeping loft area. Forget about trying to sleep in the loft during the summer! It is like a sauna up there, even with the a.c. working full blast. Finally a comment on the price. I think 150 euros for this room was much too high.
A suite at another 3 star in Toledo was available for 125 during the same dates.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tranquila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2006

We stayed here as a bit of a treat after a fairly exhausting bike trip and the hotel was a pleasure from start to finish. It's well located next to a big ancient gate, so relatively easy to find (in a city which is built like a maze). It's BEAUTIFULLY decorated - our room was a fabulous mix of old beams and new design, with a lovely bathroom. The staff were very pleasant and very kind and the breakfast was excellent. I can only heartily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ramsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2006

Good location. Easy to walk to from train station. Easy to explore entire town. Staff very helpful, made arrangements for private guide who is waiting when we checked in. Breakfast is a good value. Would stay there again. Price was reasonable.

5  Thank Alaskan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.4 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
0.2 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 44 in Toledo
988 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Toledo
Eurostars Toledo
#13 of 44 in Toledo
1,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Toledo
NH Toledo
#6 of 44 in Toledo
807 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abad Toledo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abad Toledo

Address: Calle Real del Arrabal 1, 45003 Toledo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range: £54 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abad Toledo 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of the walled city of Toledo sits this unique hotel, whose principal structure is a rustic home and an antique blacksmith shop dating back to 1815. The enclave's easy access to all points of Toledo is privileged. Near Zocodover, the city's principal plaza, the Hotel Abad Toledo is surrounded by some of Toledo's most emblematic monuments: the Puerta del Sol, the Mosque of Cristo de la Luz (999 B.C.), the Puerta de Bisagra in addition to amazing views of the lower section of the Tagus River. This charming three-star hotel houses 22 rooms, each one unique. During the restoration of the building, efforts were made to maintain all of its original element, such as hand-hewn wooden ceiling and wall beams and exposed brickwork, while adding a modern concept of design and decoration. The results are both functional and innovative, but always very cozy and inviting. Paying special attention to the guest, this family endeavour has thought of every detail to ensure a comfortable stay: air conditioning, heat, Radio, satellite dish, personal safes and hair dryers. Also a buffet-style breakfast composed of traditional Spanish and more continental fare is offered every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Abad Toledo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing