We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

I stayed at San Juan De Los Reyes for two nights in June. The reception staff were friendly, and the service was very good.

The room was rather bigger than average. It had a large safe and free wi-fi. The wi-fi was a bit fiddly to get working, though. One unusual feature of the room was that whenever I entered it, the tv would turn on automatically after a little while. I never watch tv, so this was extremely annoying, not to mention startling.

The bathroom was also big. There was no shower stall, only a bathtub with a narrow glass screen in front, so water tends to spray out over the floor when taking a shower. The bathtub had a jacuzzi function, which is a bit unusual.

In the evening of the first day I stayed there, the air conditioning stopped working, which is not so much fun when it's well over 30 degrees Celsius outside. So I went down to the reception and talked to the guy there. He was very nice and told me he was going to fix it right away. He did manage to get it started again, but it soon became clear to me that the air conditioning didn't cool the air, it only moved warm air around the room. I then went to the reception again, and when I talked to the guy he had just found out that the air conditioning had in fact blown out on the entire second floor! The hotel only has three floors, so this must have been a bit of a crisis. However, he immediately let me move to a room on the first floor, where the air conditioning was working as it should, so I was happy again.

Breakfast was rather average fare, nothing special.

Since the hotel is located in the old town of Toledo, it's very central. The old town of Toledo is so small that any place within it could be considered central, but this place had a nicer and more open feel to it than many other places in the old town. A walk to the cathedral in the middle of the old town takes about ten minutes.

I was very satisfied with my stay at the San Juan De Los Reyes, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbanRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    304
    69
    12
    5
See reviews for
104
420
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

An excellent, central location and surprisingly easy to drive to with parking available under the hotel. Our room was small, under eaves, but the facilities were fine and we had a view. The breakfast is an excellent buffet. All the sights are within easy walking distance. Free computer access in the lobby. A helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark-CynthiaColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights earlier this month and really enjoyed it. You can't always judge a place at first glance. At first, when we entered our room, we looked at each other and shrugged our shoulders. It looked a little drab for our taste. We walked into the bathroom and we were really impressed - very modern and excellent fixtures. Our surprise was yet to come. We unpacked and took a walk around the old city. Although it was overcast, and a bit rainy, we enjoyed the cobblestone sidewalks among historic buildings. We then came back to our room and decided to take a siesta. We opened the large window by the bed and we were greeted by the most wonderful birds singing the the trees across the street. The serenade was hypnotic and it put right to sleep on the very comfortable bed. From that moment on, we loved our room. Every morning and every evening we were sung to sleep and awakened by these incredible birds. We couldn't have been more happy with our room. The free breakfast was quite delicious, with a large selection of fruits, breads, cheeses and hot items. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielsonkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Toledo is the most beautiful city in Spain and this hotel is in the best location to benefit seeing it. It is located in the heart of the old city and within walking distance of the cathedral and museums. Parking is available at a cost of 15 euro for the night. The bedroom was quite large with a jacuzzi and shower. There was even a complimentary bottle of local wine which was a nice touch. The breakfast was included and included a selection of cold meats, cheeses, breads, pastries as well as cooked eggs if desired. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay here and would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again when we return to Toledo.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishGuinness1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

It had been five or six years since I last stayed at this hotel. While there are still several good things to say about my experience this time, I must admit to being just a little disappointed after this last visit.

The plusses - great location in the Juderia just around the corner from the Sinagoga del Transito and up the road from the Monasterio San Juan de los Reyes, attractive old building facade, wonderful and very helpful front desk staff and breakfast room staff, ample choices at breakfast buffet.

The minuses - lobby feels a bit tacky now with large, glass-enclosed gift shop, room furniture seems in need of updating (a bit banged-up in places), carpet somewhat worn, bathroom tiles/grout/caulking in need of freshening up.

I'd reserved and was given a single room which seemed so much smaller and darker than the larger, brighter front-facing double room I had last time. No fault of the hotel, but it did leave me feeling a bit let-down.

It was a perfectly fine stay, but the hotel seems to miss its four-star rating. It just didn't feel as smart and snappy as I remember.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MAWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Very good location to walk around the city and discover the great sights. Staff (at reception) is particularly nice and helpful. Complimentary wifi. Decent rooms but the beds are hard.
However we were expecting to find an old historical building.It was not the case.
Behind what is left of the walls of an old mill the architects have messed up the renovation.
Everything looks kitsch, without any charm.They even put a kind of huge souvenir shop, behind glassed walls, right in the lobby. It looks more like Disneyland than Toledo.
Breakfast is also disappointing.It is served in a modern and noisy (loud musical background) room, and is quite average. Don't try the scambbled eggs (made to order), they drown in oil. Fortunately coffee is good...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nano96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Good location, high service, perfect breakfast and above all, quite affordable. We paid 75euro incl breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmielNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.1 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
1.6 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.5 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Parador de Toledo
Parador de Toledo
#2 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#4 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hesperia Toledo
Hesperia Toledo
#6 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Juan de los Reyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Juan de los Reyes

Property: Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Address: Calle Reyes Catolicos 5, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Juan de los Reyes 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This building of the hotel dates from 1889. At first, it was used as a cold steel Factory. "The San Jose Flour Factory" was created in 1918 and continued its production until July 1996. The Factory was used for the production of flour, marzipan, chocolates and sweets. Its products were among the most valued and known, not only for the use of raw material with an unbeatable quality, but also for the technical methods that guaranteed the supply and production of the different products.This building, considered a point of cultural interest, preserves its Neomudejar facade and is a magnificent representation of the 19th Century industrial architecture. Opened in May 2003, The San Juan de los Reyes Hotel is located in the emblematic Jewish quarter of Toledo, in the historic city centre next to the main monuments: San Juan de los Reyes Monastery, Santa Maria la Blanca Synagogue, Vitorio Macho Museum, El Greco Museum, Santo Tome Church, El Transito Synagogue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Juan de los Reyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing